Raffles Medical Group *Official* (SGX: BSL)

wahkao3

I get what you are saying but
try telling others to go XYZ clinic and pay a huge premium for it.
Brands in the medical field is harder to build up than say drinks, which people don't mind trying as it's cheap.
no loh. drinks' brand are hard to build up too

u need to pump tons of marketing money over many years

Perisher

no loh. drinks' brand are hard to build up too

u need to pump tons of marketing money over many years

no lor. medical field brand is harder to build up, don't believe go ask people on the streets, have they try Qoo drinks before, then go ask have they go raffles medical before?
Medical brands need trust and is build by word of mouth, not just marketing. Drinks market liao, people don't mind trying, if it's good, people will try again. Even if someone say it's not good, still got people willing to try because it's cheap.
Medical brands, if suay suay got a few times accident, 10 years later also got people will say that clinic not good don't go, and really not many people wanna go liao. But that said, if the brand is build up le, a few accidents over a long long time won't matter much.

Anyway, up2u what u wanna believe.

wahkao3

we must understand how the brand came to be.
did it come from marketing or something else

if it came from marketing, then marketing is the MOAT
if it came from something else, then that something is the moat.

Just simply saying the brand is the MOAT is really too surface of an analysis

wahkao3

another example, google is known for its creativity and innovation. Its organization is structured as such. Hence its organizational structure is a moat. Although its not a very strong one because other companies can copy. Its patents are stronger MOATs.

Take this organizational structure away and it loses its creativity. Expect its brand name to go down the drain in years to come

Perisher

we must understand how the brand came to be.
did it come from marketing or something else

if it came from marketing, then marketing is the MOAT
if it came from something else, then that something is the moat.

Just simply saying the brand is the MOAT is really too surface of an analysis

It comes from History, having a lao zi hao is not easy.
It comes from word of mouth.
It comes from marketing.
It comes from the service, the doctors, the nurse.
It comes from many factors.
Many things working together to build a brand.
Simply deeming it as a single factor is very surface...:s22:

felixleong

medical business is very wide moat

even if u very rich open hospital, doesn't mean will huat
u got a lot of $$ doesn't mean can hire enough doctors...
doctors themselves also quite rich or even richer than u, its all about networking

usually private hospitals, the boss.. the directors etc.. all is doctor family line one... all know each other de

u outsider... wanna go in this market is very hard one... even peter lim so rich also never ownself set up hospital, he spend so much $$ to buy out Thompson medical.. he paid like 30+ times earnings

Keverus

no lor. medical field brand is harder to build up, don't believe go ask people on the streets, have they try Qoo drinks before, then go ask have they go raffles medical before?
Medical brands need trust and is build by word of mouth, not just marketing. Drinks market liao, people don't mind trying, if it's good, people will try again. Even if someone say it's not good, still got people willing to try because it's cheap.
Medical brands, if suay suay got a few times accident, 10 years later also got people will say that clinic not good don't go, and really not many people wanna go liao. But that said, if the brand is build up le, a few accidents over a long long time won't matter much.

Anyway, up2u what u wanna believe.

CGH=cannot go home...

SGH=sure go heaven

NUH=never use heart

Perisher

Just sit back and watch.

Anyway, I look back during the GFC, RMG was at $1.51 before it crashed down to about $0.6. A 60% decline. Using today's $3.91, if it drops 60%, it will be $1.56. From 09-14, that 5 years, it has risen by $.06-$3.5, which is 580% or 110%+ per year. I believe if another crisis hits, RMG may go down by 60% to $1.56, but it's recovery will be even more powerful as it has the cash to expand during crisis.

Of course, it's just my 2¢, don't take it too literally.

martin

Looks like market is not reacting very favourably to this news? Price has come down since then.

Tornesoul

Looks like market is not reacting very favourably to this news? Price has come down since then.

I might be wrong, but i doubt the news had much impact. It was only 4.59 million yen ($52,282) for a company with approx 2.2 billion market cap

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.