HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Android TV Box

Like Tree475Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2019, 03:13 PM   #1816

Anyone has both a TV box and a chromecast? which is better?

If TV box, what are the "must have" apps? Apart from Netflix and YouTube and Spotify I guess.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI 4X using GAGT
I have both Chromecast (old 1st generation) and quite a few generic TV boxes. Both are useful.

You can buy Mi Box S which has built-in Chromecast 4k function. That is the best value box you can get for under S$100.

As for the must have apps, it all depends on your needs. For example I do not need Netflix and I do not need Spotify. I use YouTube, Youku (paid the VIP) and QQ Music (paid the VIP), because I am more into Chinese Entertainment.

Last edited by xiaofan; 10-05-2019 at 06:51 PM..
xiaofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2019, 04:56 PM   #1817
Arch-Supremacy Member

Guys - I’m a newbie in Android TV boxes. I was thinking of getting the Mi Box S since it’s got Chromecast built in & it’s 4k. Can I check if I am able to install APKs that can’t be found on Google Playstore on the Mi Box? TIA.
gkhchay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2019, 05:38 PM   #1818

Guys - I’m a newbie in Android TV boxes. I was thinking of getting the Mi Box S since it’s got Chromecast built in & it’s 4k. Can I check if I am able to install APKs that can’t be found on Google Playstore on the Mi Box? TIA.
Yes you can with some exception. Please refer to the answer to the same question in the Mi Box thread.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/h...537957-45.html
Old 11-05-2019, 06:38 PM   #1819

hey guys

can point me in the right direction for my case?

- HDMI output (dont need 4k)
- not interested in streaming apps or gaming
- only for movie or tv episode files (1080p or 2160p)
- either onboard or external storage (USB hdd?)
- some form of remote controller option (usb wireless remote?)