50% video / 50% audio for HDB living room

nncnfrmst

Reaction score
Hi all, I’ll be renovating my HDB resale flat before moving in and have a fairly blank slate regarding AV setup. I’m a noob and despite many hours of research I’m quite overwhelmed at the number of decisions to make. I know you guys are very practical and don't advise people to get things which are unsuitable for HDB settings so I would appreciate your guidance.

Floorplan:

Although I’m buying equipment for the whole house, I’ll focus first on the living room speakers, because this post is already super long!

Living room use case:
  • 50% Netflix which may be watched from dining table or couch. No Blu-Ray. Not really into action/adventure movies. Good dialogue much more important. Auditioned some setups in Adelphi with surround + subwoofer and felt we can live without them.
  • 50% streamed music (rock, hip-hop, folk) on Spotify (Premium) + a lot of podcasts. Good sound at couch more important. Realized while auditioning that good bass is more important for us here than for home theatre. Would like to have living room system as part of multiroom Chromecast audio setup without having to switch on TV.
  • Users: me + spouse, no kids or interest in kids

Other points to note:
  • No particular budget constraints but cautious about splurging on things we are not knowledgeable about and quality we may not be able to fully appreciate.
  • Reno not started yet but hopefully soon
  • Pre-existing false ceiling
  • No existing equipment, need to buy everything
  • May get 65 inch TV wall-mounted with full motion mount
  • The console we like is 1.6m width but extendable to full width of TV wall. H 45 cm, D 40 cm.
Frontal view of TV area:

Due to our 50/50 use case it’s quite hard to figure out which options are best. Have auditioned some and will continue but would still appreciate guidance. As an indication of budget, here are the speaker setups I’ve been looking into: