50s and unwanted. How?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

SkyNinja

At the 50s, once you lose job, the only jobs available are PHV, food delivery, cleaners, security guards. Need to absorb their pride and take on low paying jobs. If they have some savings and have guts for risk, they can play stocks and hope to make some money without physical labour work.

Why the job choices so jialat after 50 years old? Don't have managers or directors roles?

Dopod007

Why the job choices so jialat after 50 years old? Don't have managers or directors roles?
When I took grabs in Sinkapore, I find the drivers are mostly late 40-50s. Those managerial and director roles are few and far between...

SBC

Retirement age cannot be enforced by gov.
what’s the point of setting this?
Think think think. Think b4 any election, not post election.
Not trying to be judgemental.
But has been hearing of higher retirement age due to lower mortality.
The man had spoken recently on CPF PLAN now launch.
what’s the solution when out of job? We kept hearing is skillfuture.
What’s then their solution?

MoeLanYong

With his level years for sure he hv contacts. If I had studied harder and became an engineer, I'll be setting up my own business catering to the same field now, if I was like your friend.
I notice once a technician becomes a supervisor and later manager of sorts, their competency level to their trade becomes weak. Because from working in the field then in office or boardroom affects their skill.

My engineer classmates are in defence, oil rigs and lifts. How to open an oil rig or tank manufacturing company?

Zze121

work until the day ask to leave or no more recontract on offer
unwanted, yes, how? save as much along the way

SkyNinja

work until the day ask to leave or no more recontract on offer
unwanted, yes, how? save as much along the way

Cannot be asked to leave at mid 40s then jobless until 80 year old? Savings so much?

Foetid

Cannot be asked to leave at mid 40s then jobless until 80 year old? Savings so much?
u think the govt will step in to help you out? It will not, gst will still go up, cpf early withdrwal wont be allowed, COL will continue up. mouthpiece will state to you that nobody will be left behind, mycareerfutures will be there to help you.

anchoraz

My engineer classmates are in defence, oil rigs and lifts. How to open an oil rig or tank manufacturing company?
Mus hav a team of welders, hydraulics, get certified by the us o&g org/dnv. Need a heavy industrial venue with overhead crane to do tis. V hot and risky due to heavy metal sheets/hollow sections welding.

Haven include external load/pressure test agency. Not easy 1.

laksa2003

I am the TS. That classmate of mine is an engineer. Grad from NTU 30 years ago with a degree. Is this what you are saying?

He stayed in the same field for 30 years, upgrading and upskilling in his chosen field. His portfolio kept getting bigger. Till one day he had 100 men - engineers and technicians - reporting to him and was responsible for 8,000 projects in Sg. A director. I met him 6 months ago for a gathering. He looked daze, lifeless and unable to concentrate. He was totally burnt out. He was not "itchy quit". He could not take it.

He wanted to find another job that has less stress, with a pay cut but unfortunately our system does not cater to such things.
aiyo, then in the first place why he chiong so much?
he not expecting this when he go so high?
in this many years of high salary no save and invest?
if have, now can FiRE liao... relax one corner

white_prince

I met a group of old classmates recently. They are in their mid 50s

1 say jod too stress. He thought can take a break find another jod. Quit already now cannot find jod. 6 months ady.

1 say he find very long. A few years liao. Steel no jod.

Both got begree. Both got kids to feed. Now struggling to make ends meet. I am discovering more of such friends in EVERY social circle.

Last time work till 55 can retire. Garment say we are living longer and thus need to work longer.

Ok we listen to garment. Now 55, want to continue to work. BUT employers dun want us. Hiam our age. Want FT. No jods for older sinkies.

Seriously, something is very wrong with our system.

Is this a new emerging crisis?

(Dun laugh at me. You will reach 50s one day and this will be your fate too)
65% agreed..

tigerwoods

If that person in his 50s has lost his job, he's not in a "senior position" making 5 digits a month. He's a jobless person with 0 income.

$2.5k is still better than 0. especially when he needs to feed his wife and his kids.

Face the fact that once a person over the age of 40 has been retrenched, he/she needs to take a deep pay cut to get a job.

A year ago, I told my ex-colleague from IT very bluntly. He's in his late 50s, been out of job for a year, and still hope to get IT job.

I told him bluntly to face the fact that nobody wants him anymore. IT belongs to the young, talented and energetic. We don't have the energy to work till 3 am, burn all the weekends working and wio during weekdays.

It's stupid to have a full year of 0 income when he could earn at least 30k a year (2.5k monthly salary).

In the end, he took my advice to use skillsfuture credits to take security courses. He's working part time as relief security now.

Ironically people who are financially free do not mind taking up low salary jobs to kill time.

An ex-Sales Manager from Mainboard listed company retired, travelled with his wife to see the world for 2 years, then got sick of travelling. He got a part time job in coffeeshop as part time dishwasher.

An ex-civil servant in his late 70s travelled from Lakeside to Changi Airport to work as full time wheelchair pusher. Working hours from 2 pm to 11 pm. His monthly pension is at least twice his salary.

An ex-Regional Director, Greater China is working as part time security. He got a fully paid condo in Bugis, and he travels whenever he can get a good holiday deal. On average, he spent half the year outside Singapore.

An ex-Director, HR in a big company retired, and she returns to the same company to work as temp receptionist whenever the receptionist took leaves.
didnt know got this job - full time wheelchair pusher.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.