first half of prudential’s name is prudent hor…Ditching AIA for Prudential now....
LIA 's fault. Since all CI terms are updated by LIA then all policy should be updated to latest term ( if benefitting) to the client. How can you have different terms just because you signed earlier. Since these terms are standard.
Unless contract definition are not governed by LIA
I also got confused as I have old Life Policies with CI (not ECI) Rider bought 30 years ago.
I remember my then FA told me old CI policies actually have some 'better' (more lenient) definitions as compared to the updated CI definitions, and said I 'lucky' to have the older definitions.
*older CI policies can't be updated to have the same definitions as per the latest - one reason could be the underwriting risks and premiums charged were based on the definitions then. Premiums always correspond to risks assessment as per actuarial science.
Those agents sibei jialat one like cursing people meet accident. That time tell me if I don't buy her accident insurance later meet traffic accident, lost limbs lost arms how.that time my insurance agent want to sell me early stage critical illness insurance..he said my current one cover late stage, like stage 4 cannot cure type. then I ask why in the first place he pitch that policy to me, he said coz stinkies usually don't go for health screening until it's too late, that's why he sold me the late stage critical illness insurance.
then I ask back then why now u want me buy early stage. he said just in case diagnosed early still can cure.
simi sai..
Those agents sibei jialat one like cursing people meet accident. That time tell me if I don't buy her accident insurance later meet traffic accident, lost limbs lost arms how.
They ownself also never buy. Like every year say review policy with you will intro you new policies to buy. Like we are their atmWah. Can ask them today I accidentally cut off your limbs. Would they get paid. If they say yes, you proceed to help them cut. Ask them steak knife or kitchen machet
I do understand the the "underwriting" risks. But we are not talking about buying a new policy. It was a policy with the same broad stroke definition. And LIA knows that there's better terms to benefit more people.
It's the same that all MediShield definitions are updated and everyone (including) company is subjected to it. So why are CI plans any difference ? Thats a question that LIA need to answer. unless the policy was signed before the standardisation. If I were insurance firm I will also not pay using the old clause.
They are an actuarial firm and "should" have priced in accordingly.