Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

shadow84

wah jia lat... got nothing covering it, means I need even a bigger aircon for living room
Consider doing up a sliding glass door for the kitchen instead? Walkway area dun look so big, try calculate the total floor area of walkway + living room then convert to BTU and see if still within limits of the FCU.

Probably will consider that but my kitchen is a square shape and the entrance is right from the corner of the square. So need to think about how to put a door with that layout.

Normally which formula do you guys use to calculate BTU needed? The Singapore website I used likely overestimate by quite a bit.

shadow84

Probably will consider that but my kitchen is a square shape and the entrance is right from the corner of the square. So need to think about how to put a door with that layout.

Normally which formula do you guys use to calculate BTU needed? The Singapore website I used likely overestimate by quite a bit.
Typical calculation is area in m^2 / 5 x 3412 to get to BTU?

GBC

petetherock

Both give very different value.

Area = 27 sqm
HDB Height = 2.6m
No. of people = 3

Shadow84: 18k BTU/hr
GBC: 10k BTU/hr

Which one should I use?
Get the bigger one and you'll never have to wonder if you should have..
The difference in cost isn't going to be that great.

pandemonium147

Hi gurus,

I just came across this and would like to seek advise from all the experts here.

I am looking a Daikin ismile eco series for my new 5 room BTO (haven't received the key yet).
Below are the room dimensions, calculated BTU using the calculator (poor / very sunny / hot settings) & quoted aircon

1) Compressor -> MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU)
Note: MKM100VVGM (29.4K BTU) is not considered as it might not fit through HDB window. Is this true?
2) MB (5000 x 3100 = 15.5 sqm) at 8,188 cal. BTU -> CTKM35VVMG (12K BTU)
3) Room #1 (3900 x 2900 = 11.31 sqm) at 7,045 cal. BTU -> CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU)
4) Room #2 (3900 x 2900 = 11.31 sqm) at 7,045 cal. BTU -> CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU)
5) Living & Dinning Room (5775 x 5625 + 3900 x 2825 = 43.5 sqm) at 16,825 cal. BTU -> CTKM71VVMG (24K BTU)

At night, if aircons in all three rooms are turned on, indoor BTU is 30K BTU which is higher than MKM85VVGM and MKM100VVGM can support. So the rooms will take longer time to cool and it will be not good for compressor in long run (true?).

At day, I guess aircons in the living room and 2 bedrooms at max will be turned on.
This will mean indoor BTU ranges from 42K to 45K BTU, which is significant higher than the outdoor BTU.

Based on the Daikin eco series brochure and the jexaircon link provided on the last post in pg. 332 earlier (unable to post link, sorry), MKM85VVGM is designed to support up to 4 rooms at 36.2K BTU (when running at max capacity).

I understand the concept of sum of indoor BTU must be equal or higher than outdoor BTU and compressor being under-capacity isn't good in the long run, based on what I read in this thread.

Can you advise me if the proposed aircon system is good enough, just need to manage when and which aircons to turn on?
Or should I look at alternative combinations, example like below?
Will installing 2 systems be overkill?
  • 1 system: 1x MKM100VVGM (29.4K BTU) + 2x CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU) + 1x CTKM35VVMG (12K BTU), if compressor can fit through HDB window
  • 2 systems: 1x MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU) + 1x CTKM71VVMG (24K BTU) & 1x MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU) + 2x CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU) + 1x CTKM35VVMG (12K BTU)
  • 2 systems: 1x MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU) + 1x CTKM71VVMG (24K BTU) & 1x MKM75VVGM (20.5K BTU) + 3x CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU)
Thanks in advance!

Han

Jacqueline.

spilt to 3 unit , not 1 unit.

If turn on all 3 together... than underpower liao

what do you think of this 3+1 aircon system? still underpowered?
  1. 24K for living room (38 square meter)
  2. 10K x3 for all bedrooms (12 square meter for CBR, 16 square meter for MBR)

Mitsubishi Starmex inverter sys.3 + sys.1
Model: MXY3GH28VA2/10/10/10VG (5 ticks)
Model: MUYGP/MSYGP24VF (3 ticks)
Total: $4968.

GBC

Hi gurus,

I just came across this and would like to seek advise from all the experts here.

I am looking a Daikin ismile eco series for my new 5 room BTO (haven't received the key yet).
Below are the room dimensions, calculated BTU using the calculator (poor / very sunny / hot settings) & quoted aircon

1) Compressor -> MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU)
Note: MKM100VVGM (29.4K BTU) is not considered as it might not fit through HDB window. Is this true?
2) MB (5000 x 3100 = 15.5 sqm) at 8,188 cal. BTU -> CTKM35VVMG (12K BTU)
3) Room #1 (3900 x 2900 = 11.31 sqm) at 7,045 cal. BTU -> CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU)
4) Room #2 (3900 x 2900 = 11.31 sqm) at 7,045 cal. BTU -> CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU)
5) Living & Dinning Room (5775 x 5625 + 3900 x 2825 = 43.5 sqm) at 16,825 cal. BTU -> CTKM71VVMG (24K BTU)

At night, if aircons in all three rooms are turned on, indoor BTU is 30K BTU which is higher than MKM85VVGM and MKM100VVGM can support. So the rooms will take longer time to cool and it will be not good for compressor in long run (true?).

At day, I guess aircons in the living room and 2 bedrooms at max will be turned on.
This will mean indoor BTU ranges from 42K to 45K BTU, which is significant higher than the outdoor BTU.

Based on the Daikin eco series brochure and the jexaircon link provided on the last post in pg. 332 earlier (unable to post link, sorry), MKM85VVGM is designed to support up to 4 rooms at 36.2K BTU (when running at max capacity).

I understand the concept of sum of indoor BTU must be equal or higher than outdoor BTU and compressor being under-capacity isn't good in the long run, based on what I read in this thread.

Can you advise me if the proposed aircon system is good enough, just need to manage when and which aircons to turn on?
Or should I look at alternative combinations, example like below?
Will installing 2 systems be overkill?
  • 1 system: 1x MKM100VVGM (29.4K BTU) + 2x MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU) + 1x CTKM35VVMG (12K BTU), if compressor can fit through HDB window
  • 2 systems: 1x MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU) + 1x CTKM71VVMG (24K BTU) & 1x MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU) + 2x CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU) + 1x MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU) (12K BTU)
  • 2 systems: 1x MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU) + 1x CTKM71VVMG (24K BTU) & 1x MKM75VVGM (20.5K BTU) + 3x CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU)
Thanks in advance!

Han
If your BTU computations are correct, I think the best combination would be 2 separate systems :-

1 x MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU) for your 3 bedrooms ie 1 x CTKM35VVMG (12K BTU) + 2 x CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU). Reason being that with the MKM85VVGM, your CTKM35VVMG will be limited to 9,826 BTU and your 2 x CTKM25VVMG will be running at 7,029 BTU each which fit in nicely with your BTU requirement for each bedroom.
1 x RKS71LVMG / FTKS71LVMG (24,200 btu) single split system for living & dinning room.

pandemonium147

If your BTU computations are correct, I think the best combination would be 2 separate systems :-

1 x MKM85VVGM (25.2K BTU) for your 3 bedrooms ie 1 x CTKM35VVMG (12K BTU) + 2 x CTKM25VVMG (9K BTU). Reason being that with the MKM85VVGM, your CTKM35VVMG will be limited to 9,826 BTU and your 2 x CTKM25VVMG will be running at 7,029 BTU each which fit in nicely with your BTU requirement for each bedroom.
1 x RKS71LVMG / FTKS71LVMG (24,200 btu) single split system for living & dinning room.

The BTU computations are based on the BTU calculator given here.
How do you calculate the limiting BTU? is it by percentage?

harky

what do you think of this 3+1 aircon system? still underpowered?
  1. 24K for living room (38 square meter)
  2. 10K x3 for all bedrooms (12 square meter for CBR, 16 square meter for MBR)

Mitsubishi Starmex inverter sys.3 + sys.1
Model: MXY3GH28VA2/10/10/10VG (5 ticks)
Model: MUYGP/MSYGP24VF (3 ticks)
Total: $4968.

living room (38 square meter) = 15,925 BTU
1 bed room = 12sq metre so is 7,233 BTU /rm
2 bed room = 16sq metre so is 8,924 BTU /rm

Let say u get:

Room X 3
MXY-3G28VA2 (Outdoor unit) is 6kw = 20472.852 BTU <-- this cannot support 3 room turn on aircon together le.
MSXY-FN10VE (indoor unit) is (2.8kw = BTU 9553.9976) X 3 = 28,661.9928 BTU

Living Rom (if u want cold living room better up ur outdoor unit, but i dont think living rm will be cold lo. use ceiling fan le)
MXY-2G20VA2 (Outdoor unit) is 4.5kw = 15354.639
MSXY-FN18VE (indoor unit) is (5.0kw = BTU 17060.71)

or get
MXY-4G38VA2 (Outdoor unit) is 7.4kw = 25249.8508 BTU <-- turn on 3 room AC will spit into 8,416.61 BTU /rm
MSXY-FN10VE (indoor unit) X 3
MSXY-FN18VE (indoor unit) X 1

or
MXY-5G48VA2 (Outdoor unit) is 9.2kw = 31391.7064 (can max use MSXY-FN10VE indoor unit for room)

no issue to support 3 room or living rm as long u dont turn all 4 air con together.. either 3 or 1 turn on :)

google but cant find MUYGP/MSYGP24VF..............

use this AC BTU Calculator for room, setting all set to the lowest one
https://www.calculator.net/btu-calculator.html
use this to convert kw = btu
https://www.rapidtables.com/convert/power/kW_to_BTU.html

Jacqueline.

living room (38 square meter) = 15,925 BTU
1 bed room = 12sq metre so is 7,233 BTU /rm
2 bed room = 16sq metre so is 8,924 BTU /rm

or get
MXY-4G38VA2 (Outdoor unit) is 7.4kw = 25249.8508 BTU <-- turn on 3 room AC will spit into 8,416.61 BTU /rm
MSXY-FN10VE (indoor unit) X 3
MSXY-FN18VE (indoor unit) X 1
thanks for the recommendation, my budget only $5K, so i guess this would be the best

Mitsubishi Starmex inverter sys.4 (5 ticks)
FP series (R32)
Model: MXY4H38VG/10/10/10/18VG @ $4658.

harky

thanks for the recommendation, my budget only $5K, so i guess this would be the best

Mitsubishi Starmex inverter sys.4 (5 ticks)
FP series (R32)
Model: MXY4H38VG/10/10/10/18VG @ $4658.
cant find MXY4H38VG sia....

pandemonium147

The weight of MKM85VVGM (25.2k BTU) - Daikin ismile eco series is 52 kg and RKS71LVMG (24.2k BTU) - single split series is 71 kg. That will be a total of 123 kg.

Even with RKM71PVMG (24.2k BTU) - Smart envi series which is 60 kg, the total weight will be 112 kg with the ismile eco series, stil exceeding 110 kg.

I just read that no HDB approved permit is required to install 2 or less condensing units if their combined weight is less than, or equal to 110 kg.

Is this true for installation of 2 aircon systems?
If yes, is it easily obtainable with the new HDB concrete aircon ledge design?

Having 2 compressor systems also means that another aircon power plug will be needed, which also require HDB permit to install in the flat only has one.

I shouldn't need to worry about this since my hdb is new (under construction), right? hahaha 😅😅😅😅

batniss

The weight of MKM85VVGM (25.2k BTU) - Daikin ismile eco series is 52 kg and RKS71LVMG (24.2k BTU) - single split series is 71 kg. That will be a total of 123 kg.

Even with RKM71PVMG (24.2k BTU) - Smart envi series which is 60 kg, the total weight will be 112 kg with the ismile eco series, stil exceeding 110 kg.

I just read that no HDB approved permit is required to install 2 or less condensing units if their combined weight is less than, or equal to 110 kg.

Having 2 compressor systems also means that another aircon power plug will be needed, which also require HDB permit to install in the flat only has one.

I shouldn't need to worry about this since my hdb is new (under construction), right? hahaha 😅😅😅😅
yes to all.

GBC

Living & Dinning Room (5775 x 5625 + 3900 x 2825 = 43.5 sqm) at 16,825 cal. BTU
Your living and dinning room only require 16,825 BTU, so a RKS60LVMG (20,500 BTU) at 46 kg weight should be sufficient. So if you add 52 kg for MKM85VVGM (25.2k BTU) + 46 kg, its only 98 kg in total.

aErOpLaNe911

Waiting for 24k BTU indoor unit. Was told that have to wait until November, because of supply issues in Thailand.

Anyone facing the same issue?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.