Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

batniss

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2015
Messages
15,706
Reaction score
259
You should first re-look at your aircon confguration, it's way underpowered...
How can a MKM85VVMG compressor (25K BTU) support 4 indoor units ie 24k+12K+9K+9K = 54k BTU in total.
that's assuming you turn it all on at the same time.
not everyone stays in a shopping mall.

Ultimately, it depends on the use case with the person having the units.
 

Elloell

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
1,647
Reaction score
0
You should first re-look at your aircon confguration, it's way underpowered...
How can a MKM85VVMG compressor (25K BTU) support 4 indoor units ie 24k+12K+9K+9K = 54k BTU in total.
Thanks for pointing that out . The 24k will be in the living room , only on it when there’s guest over . We are only using one of the 9k for sleeping at night , 12k is in our walk-in wardrobe and the other 9k is an empty bedroom which is not in use .

any idea if I should go for Mitsubishi or daikin R32 series ?
 

kenapa siol

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
2,286
Reaction score
13
Waiting for 24k BTU indoor unit. Was told that have to wait until November, because of supply issues in Thailand.

Anyone facing the same issue?
Can check do you mean those private air con company that inform you currently got supplies issue for all 24k BTU? Or big company itself like GC, Courts, HN, BD....also having supply issue?
 

aErOpLaNe911

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
583
Reaction score
25
Can check do you mean those private air con company that inform you currently got supplies issue for all 24k BTU? Or big company itself like GC, Courts, HN, BD....also having supply issue?
i checked only for Daikin units. GC and Daikin Proshop
 

orpisia

Honorary Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
109,243
Reaction score
3,317
i want to try cleaning the compressor's fins, whatever that's called

what tools do i need?
 

Jana999

Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
120
Reaction score
0
Hi gurus


I'm looking to get a system 3 for my bedrooms (as highlighted on floor plan).
Like to get some advice on the configuration and brand to go for.
I see most recommending either Mitsubishi Electric for the serviceability or Daikin iSmile for ease of use.


photo-1634196394132.jpg


Thanks
 
Last edited:

kenapa siol

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
2,286
Reaction score
13
Anyone knows if there is any ex stock for Mitsubishi starmex 24k btu MUYGN24VA-MSYGN24VA anywhere?

Gain city just told me it is currently OOS world wide. Their website shows stock is available, but on the floor there isnt.
 

herzog21

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
1,232
Reaction score
0
Looking to replace my existing ME Sys 3.

Considering a similar setup with sufficiently powered compressor but most of the quotes have only MXY3g28va2 which only has 20,470 BTU. Not enough to cool 3 rooms at the same time for 8 hours straight.

Advice please?
 

agent_719

Master Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2011
Messages
3,390
Reaction score
355
Hi boss @Ark Law

would need your kind advice again.

ME Starmax 4G38VA2 compressor with 3x 13k BTU and 1x 10k BTU
1) is the compressor sufficient?
2) sales quoted 5.3k including installation. Got tio chop carrot?

thanks thanks ..
 

class

Senior Member
Joined
May 15, 2000
Messages
760
Reaction score
0
For cassette air cons, is it possible to change the casing ? Any idea?
 

light84

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2001
Messages
1,328
Reaction score
75
Is it common to get 2 compressors outside for 4 room HDB?

It’s uncommon cos the total area quite small. One compressor can support usually.

If you want some redundancy, you can add 2 compressors. Pair MBR and 1 BR to 1 compressor and LR and 1 BR to the other compressor
 

light84

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2001
Messages
1,328
Reaction score
75
Looking to replace my existing ME Sys 3.

Considering a similar setup with sufficiently powered compressor but most of the quotes have only MXY3g28va2 which only has 20,470 BTU. Not enough to cool 3 rooms at the same time for 8 hours straight.

Advice please?

Get the 4G38 compressor. Capacity is 7.4 kW.

Your room if all get FN10 need 2.8 kW x 3 equal 8.4 kW.

So it’s quite close but not too bad.

You only need the maximum capacity during start when cooling the room to desired temperature. Once hit desired temperature, very little capacity is required.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
204
Reaction score
4
It’s uncommon cos the total area quite small. One compressor can support usually.

If you want some redundancy, you can add 2 compressors. Pair MBR and 1 BR to 1 compressor and LR and 1 BR to the other compressor
Planning to get 1 compressor for 1 MBR and 2 BR and another for 1 LR
 

herzog21

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
1,232
Reaction score
0
Get the 4G38 compressor. Capacity is 7.4 kW.

Your room if all get FN10 need 2.8 kW x 3 equal 8.4 kW.

So it’s quite close but not too bad.

You only need the maximum capacity during start when cooling the room to desired temperature. Once hit desired temperature, very little capacity is required.
Am I right to say MXY3g28va2 only have a total BTU of 20,470? Cos a contractor is claiming it have 28,000 BTU
 

Ark Law

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
11,201
Reaction score
255
Hi boss @Ark Law

would need your kind advice again.

ME Starmax 4G38VA2 compressor with 3x 13k BTU and 1x 10k BTU
1) is the compressor sufficient?
2) sales quoted 5.3k including installation. Got tio chop carrot?

thanks thanks ..

Condenser, not compressor. Compressor is just a single part within the condenser unit.

4G38VA2 performance with 1x FN13, 3x FN10 - bold indicates fulfilled FCU performance
1x FN10 - 9.5K
1x FN13 - 11.9K
1x FN10 + 1x FN10 - 9.5K + 9.5K
1x FN10 + 1x FN13 - 9.5K + 11.9K
2x FN10 + 1x FN13 - 7.3K + 7.3K + 9.1K
3x FN10 - 7.9K + 7.9K + 7.9K
All units on: 5.6K + 5.6K + 5.6K + 7.0K

GC price is $5390, so $5.3k is okay provided the installer is good. Remember that aircon spec & brand is one thing, installation quality is also key. If $4.0k but installation like sai, I also don't want because down the line will give more problems.
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top