Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joevyis^^

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
To Terumo

So Starmex is the most value for money ? In your opinion is extended warranty needed for aircon. ? One year is abt slightly less than 60 dollars for 5 years is it worth getting ?.

Thanks

Should check T&C first.
 

mrairc

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
318
Reaction score
0
Hi its my first time installing aircon. I am going to install a Sys 3 inverter in my house. Went to gain city ask for quotation already. The salesman told me the pricing for all 4 brands that I am looking at. LG - $3008 Mit Starmex - $3288 Mit Heavy Industries - $3198 and Toshiba - $3478. With extended warranty and upgrade to Armaflex 1/2 inch including metal brackets. Can someone advise me which model is the best value for money ?

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Do not go for LG :( .....if u got a good Budget go for Toshiba or Daikin , or Mit Starmex :)
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
To spidie,

Extended warranty, pls look at the T & Cs first.
Cause u may need to engage them for regular service in order for the warranty to be valid.

Just go for the fuss free stsndard 1 year parts & 5 years compressor warranty offered by the agent will do. (IMO)
 

daveteoh

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
request for aircon quote

Hi,

I'll be collecting my house key in 1-2 months time. looking for a system 4 Aircon unit and shortlisted Daikin brand. any aircon dealer here, can quote me for the following:-

Daikin System 4 (34k)
4MKS80ESG / 2 X FTKS25 / FTKS35 / FTKS50
- includes 1/2" armaflex, G23 copper, 16mm water pipe, metal bracket, keystone/tai sin cabling, HDB installation.


I need to know what is the Warranty covered and any free servicing after installation?

Can PM me or send to my email - dave.teoh@yahoo.com . please indicate your company name too.

Thanks.
 
Last edited:

noelnoel

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
24,033
Reaction score
76
Hi guys, can you share with me your contact for a reliable private supplier for AC? Thanks!
 

aceone10

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
331
Reaction score
36
Hi

My house`s sys 3 Sanyo has a problem..whenever my parents room turn on their AC, the unit in my room will have no cold air at all. as soon as they off their`s, the cold air will start generating in my room`s ac unit.

it does not affect my brother,s unit

Any idea what may cause this..?



Hi, I am having the same problem with yours and mine a Daikin. It has been a disaster for the MBR just after 6 months...
 

aceone10

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
331
Reaction score
36
Saw an advertisement in ST Calssified on this brand "KIMURA"Air Con (Sorry I cannot post link). Called Aircon Design and they said is Japanese with NEA 4 ticks and the fan coil comes with build in Air cleaner targeting on Singapore Haze and that they are receiving very positive enquiry on this... Tempted but had not gone down to check on it and hope to get more info...... anyone??
 

noelnoel

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
24,033
Reaction score
76
Hi guys, can I confirm the maxicool and newway only provide servicing if AC units and not selling the system? Thx!
 

maxicoolservices

Suspended
Joined
Apr 11, 2013
Messages
359
Reaction score
0
Hello TJP,

There limited brands with system 5 in the market.

2 brands that comes with System 5 models are Daikin (5MKS100LSG) and Toshiba (RAS5M41UACV).

However, the outdoor condensing unit is usually very big in dimension hence it would be the best to do some measurement before you proceed with purchase so as to ensure that it can fit into your window opening and ensure that the height of the condenser will not cause a blockage when you open your windows.

Another thing to consider will be to check the running amp for these models to ensure that it can be supported by the power limitation for your unit.
Usually system 5 is not used for HDB. Check with the stores or your appointed installers and they will be in a better position to advise.

You might want to consider 1 x System 3 + 1 x System 2 instead or 1 x system 4 + 1 x system 1

If you are getting your place renovated, you might want to approach your ID to quote together with the reno so that it would be easier for you to coordinate. This however would be up to your individual discretion.

Good Luck on your sourcing.


Best Regards,

Jason Tham

Is system 5 still available in the market ?
 

Dahawk

Master Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2004
Messages
4,395
Reaction score
0
Need to replace my current house system 6. Currently on 2 compressors. Not sure if anyone has any good agents to recommend as the aircons are no longer cold.
 

tjp

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2000
Messages
146
Reaction score
0
Thx maxicoolservices for the info.

Sadly new BTO cannot fit 2 x OU. I also heard sys-5 maintenance is a headache.
 

Veron4

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2003
Messages
10,325
Reaction score
3
Anyone using KIMURA Japanese brand aircon?

Care to share? Any review?
 

linoleum33

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
hey guys im staying in a corridor facing hdb room

any suggestion for aircon i can go for right now?

The weather is crazy!
 

tigerwoods

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
7,699
Reaction score
171
My Toshiba ras- m10skpx aircon compressor is giving very loud humming sound when it's on air on mode, any good service contractor to recommend ?
 

petetherock

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
8,298
Reaction score
147
A question:
If there are 5 head units, and two compressors, what's the best way to divide them up?

3 bed rooms to one compressor and 3 head units, living room 2 head units and a compressor

OR

Master bedroom + living room one unit, then the two bedrooms and second living room unit another?

Thanks
 

chunlianghere

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Messages
6,089
Reaction score
0
A question:
If there are 5 head units, and two compressors, what's the best way to divide them up?

3 bed rooms to one compressor and 3 head units, living room 2 head units and a compressor

OR

Master bedroom + living room one unit, then the two bedrooms and second living room unit another?

Thanks

3 bedroom to 1 compressor

2 living to 1 compressor
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top