Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zenzoda

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Installation went well yesterday with Cold Engine however, woke up this morning and realized the compressor is dripping. Called them up immediately and their Boss told me that is normal coz of condensation. I have requested them to check again this afternoon and will update here again soon.
Dripping could be due to poor insulation at the compressor.
Better to get them fix, else over a period of time the compressor may rust.
 

wwh5210

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,492
Reaction score
25
Dripping could be due to poor insulation at the compressor.
Better to get them fix, else over a period of time the compressor may rust.

I did some researches online and called up Daikin SG yesterday and both provide me with the same feedback. It's normal for compressor to drip a bit due to condensation on those pipes.
 

carlover76

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
7,425
Reaction score
6
I did some researches online and called up Daikin SG yesterday and both provide me with the same feedback. It's normal for compressor to drip a bit due to condensation on those pipes.

Can I check what you mean by compressor dripping? Dripping of water from the piping outside of the house near the compressor or the internal piping?
 

Neogary

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2016
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Ya, like run a new pipe from another place . Like in front of the wardrobe on the floor. I do not mind the pipe bracket sticking out a bit. Wonder if it is possible.
 

wwh5210

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,492
Reaction score
25
Can I check what you mean by compressor dripping? Dripping of water from the piping outside of the house near the compressor or the internal piping?

My compressor is in laundry room and I can see the condensation is from the copper piping which connected to the compressor. It then flows downwards to a hole at the bottom of the compressor. It should be normal right?
 

carlover76

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
7,425
Reaction score
6
My compressor is in laundry room and I can see the condensation is from the copper piping which connected to the compressor. It then flows downwards to a hole at the bottom of the compressor. It should be normal right?

Yes. That is normal. For my Condenser, it is located outside my bedroom window so I dun see the water dripping but due to the environment heat, piping is cold when the aircon gas pass thru from Condenser to your fancoil, there will be condensation so it is normal.

I thought you are referring to the water dripping from the concealed pipe trunking.
 

wwh5210

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,492
Reaction score
25
Yes. That is normal. For my Condenser, it is located outside my bedroom window so I dun see the water dripping but due to the environment heat, piping is cold when the aircon gas pass thru from Condenser to your fancoil, there will be condensation so it is normal.

I thought you are referring to the water dripping from the concealed pipe trunking.

Daikin SG told me the same thing but I'm just wondering should Cold Engine connect a pipe/a tray/or some other thing underneath the compressor so that the water don't anyhow leak?
 

carlover76

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
7,425
Reaction score
6
Daikin SG told me the same thing but I'm just wondering should Cold Engine connect a pipe/a tray/or some other thing underneath the compressor so that the water don't anyhow leak?

My old Condenser do have a tray and water drainage pipe to toilet and it was done by previous owner's installer. It was a old type of setup and nowadays, nobody fit another tray below the Condenser for the water.
 

cooldownguy86

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
I realise that multi-split system i.e. system 2/3/4 is almost non-existent in Malaysia - Malaysians usually have 1 compressor for 1 indoor unit. I wonder why there is a difference in practice, although I know that cost of each system 1 in Malaysia is quite low, about RM1200 for a branded 9k btu non-inverter compressor + indoor unit
 
Last edited:

lushiris

Master Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
2,861
Reaction score
2
is there a recommended insulation thickness for drainage pipe?

default is 3/8"?
 

Boeing101

Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
482
Reaction score
0
I realise that multi-split system i.e. system 2/3/4 is almost non-existent in Malaysia - Malaysians usually have 1 compressor for 1 indoor unit. I wonder why there is a difference in practice, although I know that cost of each system 1 in Malaysia is quite low, about RM1200 for a branded 9k btu non-inverter compressor + indoor unit

So cheap! Really good life over there. Imagine fix 4 in our hdb, SGD1500 at most.
Single split aircon very hard to gg and dont need servicing one.
 

yang_nastyman

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
2,109
Reaction score
113
looking for a set of 4 aircon units, one for each room.

previously panasonic was a HUGE disappointment, plagued with problems.

considering mitsubishi, seems quite alright. any comments guys??
 

endlssorrow

Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
7,750
Reaction score
44
i using Mitsubishi for 5 years. every night on since move in.
so far so good

just done 1 time chemical wash.
 

carlover76

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
7,425
Reaction score
6
looking for a set of 4 aircon units, one for each room.

previously panasonic was a HUGE disappointment, plagued with problems.

considering mitsubishi, seems quite alright. any comments guys??

I have been using Panasonic for many years, using older National then change to Panasonic with the Ioniser function, no major problem but only wear and tear parts need to change.
 

zhenyuan_2000

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2007
Messages
768
Reaction score
0
Yes, agree. I also requested to use 1/2 inch insulation as well.

Dear all,

I was given this as part of my material insulation during the initial quotation send via email and i got this as offered
- half inch Armaflex class "O" insulation
- G22 copper pipe
- 16mm drainage pvc pipe

however , On the contract (not yet signed)

a) upgrade to half inch thickness class O Armaflex for insulation. { for the copper pipe}

b) upgrade to G22 copper pipe.

c) upgrade to 16mm pvc for drain pipe c/w armaflex class 1 insulation. [1/4 inch]

I am wondering if all these times the 1/2 inch one is talking about is just for copper pipes only OR for both copper and pvc pipes? (i assume the latter)

Hopefully someone can enlighten me
 

lushiris

Master Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
2,861
Reaction score
2
same here. i think drainage pipe default is 1/4" (not 3/8" which i typo error)... izit necessary to upgrade to 1/2"?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top