'Almost like battleship Galactica': Chan Chun Sing on Singapore navy's new Victory-class Multi-Role Combat Vessels

mastermember

Before you launch a carrier, you jolly well have the support fleet ready. A lone carrier is a big phat target.

Also…

RSN still uses a CODAD powerplant strategy for its surface combatants. That limits the total MW capacity for large vessels.

If anything that is the one area our new MRCVs fall behind since they are limited to ~30MW of output. A single LM2500 gas turbine can put out more power than 2 huge diesels put together can.

Perhaps a modular CODAG strategy is in place for the MRCVs since the final drive is electric. A modular gas turbine might be on the charts, taking up two mission modules. One for the turbine, the other for the generator.

RSN has no gas turbine operational experience, and perhaps this is one place to start. IMO any combatant larger than the MRCV needs turbines to meet operational performance requirements.
Sibei chim leh

orwell76

8000 tons, without 96 VLS, without AEGIS, only 22 knots, sibei weak

Ironside

The irony is, Galatica was an old ship due to be decomissioned. But the cylon's surprise attack erased the rest of the fleet; Galatica was one of the few surviving warships, so survivors have no choice but to use it...

So this comparison to Galatica is very stewpig...
Need 大和号?

Ironside

ST Engineering’s Endurance 170 LHD design is supposedly capable of that and SG buying F35B appears to be catering to it. Then the purchase of F35A and this new MCRV, I suppose RSN dropped the idea.

150m with displacement of 8000t puts it around the the size of a Arleigh Burke-class destroyer. No way a Galactica unless 300m.

Teyemittisi

for a small country , everything looks big. Just like the feeling when we drive up north south Malaysian highway .. just like the moment we step foot in any other Asian countries

enigmastar

Thailand got aircraft carrier wor. We cannot lose to our fellow asean buddy
Think many many years ago i read, that aircraft carrier is always struck at port. It was stated it cost 1 million dollar a day to operate at sea. Now i don't know whether its operational anot.

_eMuu_

Cotton sheep look so happy. Like he is in his natural habitat.

Previously in education, he look like a sad lemon.

enigmastar

Think he give hint that its a mother ship. This ship may not travel alone, its extended miles make it ideal to travel further up north. May be its a precursor training for carrier group operation.

_eMuu_

This thing running on what fuel?

Fossil fuel? Nuclear?

Orphan

So these new ships were inspired by the Cylon Basestar?

Iirc Captain Adama removed all digital systems from Galactica to pre-empt the Cylons hacking into the ship which saved the whole ship and entire crew in the first episode.
I expect them to have Starbucks on the Galactica, if not, no count :D

DragonFire

Think many many years ago i read, that aircraft carrier is always struck at port. It was stated it cost 1 million dollar a day to operate at sea. Now i don't know whether its operational anot.
There is a reason why it is called the Royal Yacht of the Thai Navy.
It is still operational, but has no attached air wing. Mainly used for ceremonial duties and is open to the public for tours when docked.

DragonFire

This thing running on what fuel?

Fossil fuel? Nuclear?
These use military diesel powerplants which limit them to a high grade of marine diesel oil meant for military ships. I forgot the specification - you can go google.

They will run on commercial fuel oil, but there will be a need for increased maintenance, and there will be tangible reduction in efficiency/output capacity. Commercial fuel oil is literally the dregs of the petrochemical industry.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.