[AMA] Thanks to the ND Rally 2024, my interview is going to be screened at Channel 8's Frontline at 8.30pm tonight!

Calis_Yoda

TS, is there anything you would like gov to do for you and your industry?

Ah...Tourist stuff is also buay pai leh....

Where do I start? From manpower to rental lah.....
@charleslee1989
Does ITE have mechanics course, 2/3 months attachment and intern programs or not? If have, you can tap on them to train and observe them during the 2 to 3 months attachments. If they are up to your standards or you feel they have potential, you can recruit them after they graduate. Good source of manpower.

the_dog

Manpower and rental are both fixed cost

Hopefully these don't keep increasing
These 2 are the traditional business killers in SG.
I talked to my old mechanic, he said he is lucky he bought his unit outright long ago instead of renting it. Now can semi retire, just do a few cars for fun every week and go for holiday whenever he wants

charleslee1989

@charleslee1989
Does ITE have mechanics course, 2/3 months attachment and intern programs or not? If have, you can tap on them to train and observe them during the 2 to 3 months attachments. If they are up to your standards or you feel they have potential, you can recruit them after they graduate. Good source of manpower.
Actually,I did managed to get an intern for my uncle's side before he goes to NS. He is damn talented, had both the passion and the smarts.

However, I can see he is destined for better things!

Thank chiu very much Bro charleslee1989! :(
life is hard for everyone except for those who made our lives hard... :(

so you know what you need to do in the next few months...

Manpower and rental are both fixed cost

Hopefully these don't keep increasing
Sure increase one.....

These 2 are the traditional business killers in SG.
I talked to my old mechanic, he said he is lucky he bought his unit outright long ago instead of renting it. Now can semi retire, just do a few cars for fun every week and go for holiday whenever he wants
my side not so lucky...only can rent....

an aspiration of what we bbfa here aim to be. :frown:

:o

Calis_Yoda

TS bro, you got partner up with the vehicle towing service to bring in EV vehicles for your to repair and service already?

Since competent/good EV mechanics aren't that many in SG yet (as mentioned in 前线追踪), hence not much competition. Excellent time to increase market share and bring in biz in this specialty.

TS you seem like an earnest and sincere guy from the interview, support you (y)
Earnest or sincere I don't know. But gotta salute him

1) follow his dream and don't mind ground work . I rem he from local uni if I am.not wrong.

2) doesn't hide behind screen, he is real and nothing to hide and dare to announce to the public.

Smarty22

You can be a role model for blue-collar workers - positive attitude and taking pride in your chosen vocation

charleslee1989

Vote PAP Bro charleslee1989? :(

I don't think opposition party have the power to raise GST twice in 2 years lah, just saying...

eh bro glad you are still doing well sia. hows business?
Now, a bit quiet..Retrenchment everywhere.....

TS bro, you got partner up with the vehicle towing service to bring in EV vehicles for your to repair and service already?

Since competent/good EV mechanics aren't that many in SG yet (as mentioned in 前线追踪), hence so not much competition. Excellent time to increase market share and bring in biz in this specialty.
Eh, EV market share in sg still small and are largely under warranty leh.....The most I can do is the consumables nia....

Until the warranty over liao, then yes, I can fully use my abilities liao.....

Earnest or sincere I don't know. But gotta salute him

1) follow his dream and don't mind ground work . I rem he from local uni if I am.not wrong.

2) doesn't hide behind screen, he is real and nothing to hide and dare to announce to the public.

Yeah, I was from NTU's MAE......Actually, me coming in front of the computer screen was actually triggered by one EDMWer who said some nasty stuff about how I look :(.....

charleslee1989

You can be a role model for blue-collar workers - positive attitude and taking pride in your chosen vocation
Currently, I am more of a hybrid collar.

My main jobscope is to do diagnosis of vehicles whenever some weird light comes on the dashboard and all the diagnosis of HEV and EV vehicles....

Secondary jobscope is to do BD, CS, Feedback and QC....

Calis_Yoda

Eh, EV market share in sg still small and are largely under warranty leh.....The most I can do is the consumables nia....

Until the warranty over liao, then yes, I can fully use my abilities liao.....
How many years is the EV car warranty? And how long does it take to train and develop a competent HEV and EV vehicle mechanic from scratch + how many does your workshop need once the warranties of the earliest/1st batch of EV cars are over?

You need to calculate backwards, do strategic planning & implementation for recruitment, manpower, logistics & inventories and marketing.

Another important point is... is HEV and EV a hype or a short trend given the pollution of the batteries and high fire ignitions of modified PMAs & PMDs or is it here to stay?

Which brings up a question: Does the warranty include regular battery checks? If don't have, are you able to offer regular EV battery check service?

kimsix

Currently, I am more of a hybrid collar.

My main jobscope is to do diagnosis of vehicles whenever some weird light comes on the dashboard and all the diagnosis of HEV and EV vehicles....

Secondary jobscope is to do BD, CS, Feedback and QC....

yucks i think i saw you got tatoo, another broken edmwer!

charleslee1989

How many years is the EV car warranty? And how long does it take to train and develop a competent HEV and EV vehicle mechanic from scratch + how many does your workshop need once the warranties of the 1st year EV cars are over?

You need to calculate backwards, do strategic planning & implementation for recruitment, manpower, logistics & inventories and marketing.

Another important point is... is HEV and EV a hype or a short trend given the pollution of the batteries and high fire ignitions of modified PMAs & PMDs or is it here to stay?

Which brings up a question: Does the warranty include regular battery checks? If don't have, are you able to offer regular EV battery check service?
EV battery for passenger vehicle is around 8 years...As for the rest of the parts is around 5 years.

For me, I already calculated the time it takes for a classically trained mechanic to convert. As for the number of workers, I also constrained by work permit quotas if locals dun wanna take up the job.....

HEV and EVs seems to be staying given how the government haven't make any u-turns on policies yet.

I need to stress again that the risk in modified PMAs and PMDs is high is because the people making such modification do not know what they are doing.

As for my knowledge of EVs, those vehicle will go back periodically for checks on the scanner tool. See if any values look weird or not.

For me personally, I am good with HEVs and EVs lah because of my training and field experience in South East Asia....

yucks i think i saw you got tatoo, another broken edmwer!

Where got tattoo? I don't even know that I have tattoo myself too!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.