AMD Ryzen NB Discussion| Lenovo Thinkpad E495/E595/T495/X395 Well-rounder performance CPU + GPU - Part 2

SpecialKeyboardService

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2020
Messages
13,105
Reaction score
3,002
To all amd users, I noticed a slight lag when browsing hardwarezone with Google chrome. No lag for Microsoft edge?

Is Google chrome not optimised for Ryzen?

Anybody experiencing the same issue?
 

Vegitto

Great Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
64,013
Reaction score
1,554
How will MS forces u?? :D U have till 2025 to think about it further if u think MS is exploiting u then there are MacOS, Linux, Chrome... by 2025 there is definitely new ryzen cpu or maybe another vendor cpu in the market. As for upgrade message, I dun think it is more irritating than advertisements all around browser.

Browser ads I can use adblock extensions, OS upgrade message no way to block.

Anyway I won't be changing os as at work I need windows for the applications, at home for games also windows.
Don't want to do dual boot as I will spend >90% of the time on windows, so no point also.
 

Vegitto

Great Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
64,013
Reaction score
1,554
To all amd users, I noticed a slight lag when browsing hardwarezone with Google chrome. No lag for Microsoft edge?

Is Google chrome not optimised for Ryzen?

Anybody experiencing the same issue?

Are you using adblock?
Hardwarezone got some scripts will lag when you use adblock

 

firesong

Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2001
Messages
6,177
Reaction score
2,414
This is in my uBlock filters list

Code:
! https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##SPAN[class="welcome"]
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##div:style(max-width:100% !important)
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##body:style(overflow: auto !important)
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg###hwzForumRelated
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##.ob-smartfeed-wrapper
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##.gpt-ad-skyscraper-container
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##.content-margin-bottom.content-wrapper
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##.widget_highlight_forum
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##.widget_highlight_forum_main
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##.widget_highlight_forum.dark
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg###widget_highlight_forum_small > .focus-grid
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##.p-body-inner > .p-body-inner
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##.p-body-inner > .block-header
forums.hardwarezone.com.sg##.js-notices.notices--block.notices
www.hardwarezone.com.sg/js/sphmoverlay.js
adtag.sphdigital.com/*
www.hardwarezone.com.sg/ads/*
 

darkmatt

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
8,515
Reaction score
190
How will MS forces u?? :D U have till 2025 to think about it further if u think MS is exploiting u then there are MacOS, Linux, Chrome... by 2025 there is definitely new ryzen cpu or maybe another vendor cpu in the market. As for upgrade message, I dun think it is more irritating than advertisements all around browser.
u press the wrong button it will update you. so double check LOL
 

dice020

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Hi I ordered an L5 that is supposed to come with Intel WiFi 6 ax200, but end up with mediatek mt7921.

Is mediatek inferior?
 

firesong

Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2001
Messages
6,177
Reaction score
2,414
So it's better to get a refund?
Did it specifically state Intel AX200 in your order sheet, or just "Wifi6"? If it states AX200, you have a case. Else, you probably don't - Lenovo doesn't really have a return policy unless it's DOA.

For most cases, it shouldn't matter which wifi chipset you have. However, Intel's wifi has a couple of advantages in a business environment, and is generally the gold standard.

As for Mediatek, they don't yet have a very good reputation. Yet they're happy to announce that they've made it into the Asus ROG.

Still, this thread suggests that keeping the drivers updated should be okay for most users.
 

dice020

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
My order specifically states Intel WiFi 6 ax200 for WiFi.

Was surprised it was not Intel when I check the specs.

Anyone has experience asking Lenovo to change back to Intel?
 

Vegitto

Great Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
64,013
Reaction score
1,554
My order specifically states Intel WiFi 6 ax200 for WiFi.

Was surprised it was not Intel when I check the specs.

Anyone has experience asking Lenovo to change back to Intel?

Write in to the customer service and ask for follow up from their end
 

firesong

Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2001
Messages
6,177
Reaction score
2,414
My order specifically states Intel WiFi 6 ax200 for WiFi.

Was surprised it was not Intel when I check the specs.

Anyone has experience asking Lenovo to change back to Intel?
Take the screenshots and bring it up to them.

If you wish to borrow authority, you could also write in to CASE to ask if it's acceptable practise. Include all relevant screenshots and get their opinion on the situation - that you were promised one thing and given something else. If necessary, they can help you to negotiate for a settlement or refund.
 

trenzterra

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Messages
19,847
Reaction score
141
I guess can ask them to replace the WiFi card for you? It shouldn't be soldered right on AMD versions.

If not can just buy your own ax210 and fit in. Got WiFi 6e somemore
 

dice020

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Thank you guys for your valuable inputs. Will approach Lenovo to sort it out.

How much is it to buy own ax210? If ownself replace, will warranty be voided? No experience with laptop part replacement
 

SpecialKeyboardService

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2020
Messages
13,105
Reaction score
3,002
Thank you guys for your valuable inputs. Will approach Lenovo to sort it out.

How much is it to buy own ax210? If ownself replace, will warranty be voided? No experience with laptop part replacement
42 dollar for ax210 becos of chips shortage, i think you could use the video from youtube to show you how to disassemble the product
 

firesong

Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2001
Messages
6,177
Reaction score
2,414
Thank you guys for your valuable inputs. Will approach Lenovo to sort it out.

How much is it to buy own ax210? If ownself replace, will warranty be voided? No experience with laptop part replacement
Officially, yes. It's not a CRU. The manuals officially do not indicate anything that Legion owners can upgrade.

Singapore also does not have Right-to-Repair laws.
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top