Any good way to PREVENT bagworm moth eggs from showing up on HDB ceilings/walls?

Sibeihaolian

Once the moths get in will lay eggs and they emerge. Eggs would be hidden from view or too small to notice and the whole cycle begins again.

106gunner

I live on the 7th floor, i removed 10+ bagworm moth eggs from my room's ceilings/walls a few days ago. Today, i checked and 4 more have shown up.

No idea where they are coming from. I never see any moths flying around, just the eggs showing up on the walls and ceilings. Its supposed to be very rare for moths to fly into a HDB at this height and i do not have any trees outside my window.

Is there any way to PREVENT them from showing up? I can obviously remove them by hand but they wont stop showing up. Extremely frustrating.

Precisely, quite a few in my area be it outside corridor, living room and laundry balcony

Moi used toilet paper to pick and throw but next appear again

Dun see such while staying in Amk and my older place

dezzo69

I live on the 7th floor, i removed 10+ bagworm moth eggs from my room's ceilings/walls a few days ago. Today, i checked and 4 more have shown up.

No idea where they are coming from. I never see any moths flying around, just the eggs showing up on the walls and ceilings. Its supposed to be very rare for moths to fly into a HDB at this height and i do not have any trees outside my window.

Is there any way to PREVENT them from showing up? I can obviously remove them by hand but they wont stop showing up. Extremely frustrating.

have to diligently remove them for at least 2 weeks. the caterpillars can be under kitchen shelves, storeroom etc. just keep vacuuming them away until they stop appearing. not opening your windows wide in the evening also helps.

they do not need trees to multiply. they are inherently indoor pests.

took me a few months to reduce their numbers at my home. now i get one or two once a while.

Questin

have to diligently remove them for at least 2 weeks. the caterpillars can be under kitchen shelves, storeroom etc. just keep vacuuming them away until they stop appearing. not opening your windows wide in the evening also helps.

they do not need trees to multiply. they are inherently indoor pests.

took me a few months to reduce their numbers at my home. now i get one or two once a while.
Hmm, but how they get in the first place...they have to fly in right? Do they just fly into every HDB they see?

Edit : So it seems like the crucial thing is to keep removing the bags and make sure male moths cant mate with any hidden female moths, so the eggs will eventually run out.

sunnyisandsingapore

Mine also. It's near the toilet. When I am free, I remove them manually. I also wonder how they got in there since all our rooms and toilet door are close.

ferraghini

I find this advice strange because some people say to keep windows open to ventilate and others are saying to keep them closed. I cant do both obviously...
Keep spiders or lizards as pets or charge the moths rental
We have lizards and spiders in a room without air conditioning. 🤣 The lesson is to avoid EDMW for advice.
i got the same issue..
bookmarked for more suggestion..
You never saw these decades ago, now they’re everywhere. Is it climate change? 🤦🏻‍♂️

mryongtan

I find this advice strange because some people say to keep windows open to ventilate and others are saying to keep them closed. I cant do both obviously...

Can do both concurrently. Install permeable wire mesh on all openings & windows & gates, open all windows & gates & doors. Nothing comes in.

clearwhitesky

Saw some article that these moth come from a forbidden country which cannot be named if not will tio ntuc point

Nuclear Boy

You got me searching, and finally realised what those lizard poop looking things are... I've been clearing them thinking they were pieces of poop. :o

We do have some resident jumping spiders at home feasting on small insects, so I'm not too concerned.

DragonFire

I dont use aircon in this room though.
Your neigbour above does. These caterpillars - there is a little worm inside - feed off the thin layer of fungus growing due to the moisture, amongst other things.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.