Anyone ever worked as a trainee CADD engineer/operator?

ngkyn87

That sounds a little intimidating to me...but right, school doesn't really prepare us for the real daily work too, and definitely doesn't teach us the necessary software.

At least from what I've heard, Ace actually keeps us updated on the latest software that the industry is leaning towards. I think that would really improve my employability. Wouldn't you think your employability improved after joining Ace?:s12:

I agree with you... most of the basic things I learnt about the software with aceplp was insufficent to help me with my daily work.... I have to thank google and other CAD forums available online that helped me through my difficulties.... what I learned that was vaulable was the knowledge of the industry that i was in...

theking_smen

I think it differs from case to case... Some of the Clients would expect more from us... because we are supposed to well trained in the software that we used... But for me, so far I haven been back to ace for any type of software training..
That sounds a little intimidating to me...but right, school doesn't really prepare us for the real daily work too, and definitely doesn't teach us the necessary software.

At least from what I've heard, Ace actually keeps us updated on the latest software that the industry is leaning towards. I think that would really improve my employability. Wouldn't you think your employability improved after joining Ace?:s12:

cadman

Ace simply serves as a drafter leasing and training agency (among other things). After you complete the training they'll lease you to companies who need drafters. That's all it is really; they don't babysit/groom you through the rest of your contract, and strictly speaking there's no reason they should.

we also do Building Information Modelling for clients, constructing 3d model of building and database using revit (BIM software by autodesk). on assignment we are embedded in client design teams to provide services under aceplp. its a common working model for professional service companies actually. as an employee you will learnt quite a bit when going around on assignments.

cadman

I agree with you... most of the basic things I learnt about the software with aceplp was insufficent to help me with my daily work.... I have to thank google and other CAD forums available online that helped me through my difficulties.... what I learned that was vaulable was the knowledge of the industry that i was in...

that's right, and to be fair aceplp cant possibly teach us everything. practically speaking thats what the working world is like, to survive you just have to keep learning new things. i find whats best about this training program is that it increases our exposure to the industry. just keep up strong learning spirit and be resourceful when it comes to challenges. i also google and look at other cad forums just like you! thats the way to go.

theking_smen

well, I do agree that that the training increases our exposure to industries that works with CAD programs. But sometimes it does help us as drafters if we were equip with the necessary knowledge of that specific industry as well.

that's right, and to be fair aceplp cant possibly teach us everything. practically speaking thats what the working world is like, to survive you just have to keep learning new things. i find whats best about this training program is that it increases our exposure to the industry. just keep up strong learning spirit and be resourceful when it comes to challenges. i also google and look at other cad forums just like you! thats the way to go.

FerreroForte

Hi everyone, I'm currently still contracted to aceplp. Didn't expected to find a thread on this... But my contract is almost finishing... Dunnoe weather to continure in this line of work? Anybody care to advise?

gd career prospects, constructin industy is immune to recession! of cuz stay on lah, dun waste de time u spend in this trainee prog... use de contacts tt u have build to look 4 a gd job next.. trust me wif de tech skills u learn frm dis prog, u r surely a gd catch to other coys. many diff career path u can choose in engineering, e.g. planner, engineer, bim specialist, etc....

i suggst chk wif de aceplp hr on de salary u shld aim to get or ask them help u find ur next job thru their client network, they r willing to help! i did tt so i knw... in fact they will also help u negotiate salary matters with next coy...

GrimaH

we also do Building Information Modelling for clients, constructing 3d model of building and database using revit (BIM software by autodesk). on assignment we are embedded in client design teams to provide services under aceplp. its a common working model for professional service companies actually. as an employee you will learnt quite a bit when going around on assignments.

If you're lucky enough to be attached for BIM. It'll get better, admittedly, but there are few of such assignments at the moment. It's luck of the draw.

Either way, I don't see why anyone should be genuinely aggrieved by what the company offers (except maybe for the totally sugoi awesome starting pay for some). For anyone who's not simply looking for a short-term job it's a great starter. Unless you're stuck in a long term assignment drawing schematics, in which case my sympathies.

qqweeman

IMO, this line of job is better for the long term career path. Which by going through the ace training bond, will confirm make the employability higher. No doubt. Even after the 2 years bond, ace will still find clients for us, so we dont have to hassle again to find another client ourselves :)

theking_smen

Thanks for the advice... I waiting already to see how much my client offer me to stay on...
gd career prospects, constructin industy is immune to recession! of cuz stay on lah, dun waste de time u spend in this trainee prog... use de contacts tt u have build to look 4 a gd job next.. trust me wif de tech skills u learn frm dis prog, u r surely a gd catch to other coys. many diff career path u can choose in engineering, e.g. planner, engineer, bim specialist, etc....

i suggst chk wif de aceplp hr on de salary u shld aim to get or ask them help u find ur next job thru their client network, they r willing to help! i did tt so i knw... in fact they will also help u negotiate salary matters with next coy...

theking_smen

BIM is really quite interesting... My attachment company just starting to look in BIM... Just sat through the BIM product demo a month back...

If you're lucky enough to be attached for BIM. It'll get better, admittedly, but there are few of such assignments at the moment. It's luck of the draw.

Either way, I don't see why anyone should be genuinely aggrieved by what the company offers (except maybe for the totally sugoi awesome starting pay for some). For anyone who's not simply looking for a short-term job it's a great starter. Unless you're stuck in a long term assignment drawing schematics, in which case my sympathies.

taleon99

BIM is really quite interesting... My attachment company just starting to look in BIM... Just sat through the BIM product demo a month back...

I had one BIM assignment. Tough but enjoyable. And Definitely adds on to my
portfolio :)

jerard79

Well I did both CAD assignments using both AutoCAD and MicroStation.
Honestly it was challenging doing CSD work. Projects were always in a rush
of time forcing me to work faster and improve

greythorne

This is definitely like a job if u ask me. The trainee’s CPF are paid by aceplp – a recruitment agency will never do that.

The company is willing to provide FREE training with basic salary. Trainees will have 2 months indoor training with good support from the trainers before going out to other company clients. The 2 years of job posting is another great way to gain work experience for their future. If they want to be successful in this line of career, this training is a good way to start.

Free Training of course does not come free. Their contracts will have a bond for 2 years with training included. Similar with almost every other jobs out with Free Training such as being an SIA air stewardess. Air stewardesses also are bonded for 2 years after their Training in make-up, food service etc. My friend had to pay the full training fees when she decided to quit before the bond ends.

As for the Trainers, they are professionals in the field. Like teachers from schools, they are authorized to teach. They are qualified through various professional certifications and Trainer’s courses, which are required for the company to be authorized to train by Autodesk. I also know they are a training partner of Bentley. Not anyhow licensed like what you mean.

I feel like aceplp are already very kind to give such training/ opportunity. So please don’t talk bad about them.

There are tons of drafting jobs but how are you going to get into one these days without experience? I consider myself very lucky to have been trained by aceplp, otherwise I would never get a drafting job.

You are wrong. Aceplp deducts those CPF contribution (employer & employee) from your pay that the client you are working pays to Aceplp! get it!

They will deduct everything that includes your base pay as well.

theking_smen

Aceplp is more of an outsourcing and printing company... They trained trainees to their client requirements... unless the client requested for it...Additional training are not always provided to all employees...

ngkyn87

You are wrong. Aceplp deducts those CPF contribution (employer & employee) from your pay that the client you are working pays to Aceplp! get it!

They will deduct everything that includes your base pay as well.
errrr so what's the problem with using the money that the company earns from clients to pay us salary? Isn't that the way a normal company works - earn profit, use the profit to pay employees their salaries no? hahaha! At least, that's what I've seen in other companies.

sannis

i am going for the interview tomorrow

I am going for the interview conducted by ACEPLP and I am keen to sign up because compared to my current job, I see some hope. but reading 50-50 on the feedbacks. i seriously have to think thrice after the interview.

Indeed, 2 years is too much for the bond.

antiandrew

Think carefully about what is your objective and every path will be the right one when you take it!

I think indeed you have to think thrice because a decision about your job is not to be taken lightly. To make the effort to go through some serious consideration before taking up is better than to be like people who hurriedly signed up only to realise that there are so many things they failed to consider.
*thumbs up* sannis!
You need to know if this is really what you want. This is a chance for people who really want to train themselves up/ looking for exposure to different companies, and have the perseverance to hang on through the 2 years plus in spite of how tough the going gets.
If you are looking for that, by all means take the challenge! Cos 2 years ain't gonna deter you.

iceberserker

For degree holders and diploma holders who went through aceplp, are you both doing the same work? Drawing the same basic salary?

theking_smen

For degree holders and diploma holders who went through aceplp, are you both doing the same work? Drawing the same basic salary?

Anyway same work refers to the same job position I assume? well, with a degree and/or diploma definitely allow you to work at a higher level... But with a degree, did you want to start out at a drafter level?

Salary wise should be higher that what aceplp is paying at the moment...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.