Are S’poreans losing jobs to outsourcing? Most seem to think we’ve lost our regional edge

dambio

The 2nd last paragraph already say it all. The real world and education has long been out of sync. Have you wonder how long it takes for a curriculum to be updated at the tertiary level?
They care more abt rankings

askxyz

Sg's problems ish not new gen's doing.
Sg's problems had its roots back in 2000s.
When the open leg immigration policy was really open leg immigration policy.

Today's sinkies kpkb abt too many FTs.
But today's situation ish tame when compared to 2000s.

For sexample from 2005-2006 (Sumbuddy pls check my figures and point out if i ish wrong ohkays)

Labor force 2005 (thousands)
Total 2,367.3
Residents 1744.8
Non resident workforce = 622.5

Labor force 2006
Total 2594.1
Residents 1880
Non resident workforce = 714.1

Wokeforce grew by 9.7% yoy
Non resident workforce grew by 14.7% yoy

Smlj tio boh?
Then in 2008 to 2012, knn there came the productivity crisis from cheap labour.
so they do nothing but continued the failed policy ? is simply they don't have any clues to bring sinkieland forward, some stay status quo and continue existing policy and twict here and there

yesman2978

getting into debt, how many actually owns the titles or the asset without financing?
A lot more than you think

There are super a lot of downgraders who have cashed out their old properties, and because of asset appreciation, can full cash their new properties

A lot with rich laopei laobus. Full cash their properties save on interest

yesman2978

fully paid?
Yes.

There are a lot of such people out there

Just because you need a loan, doesn't mean the rest need a loan

Why do you think with retrenchment, people theoretically no income, by right should fall behind their instalments

Yet we don't see mass foreclosures of properties and mass repossession of cars?

lifeisinforashock

Simply coz current edu curriculum is not teachin the stuff tat the current economy needs. As time goes by, more n more unemployment.

icebleue

I think most companies want to relocate to Malaysia... cos cheap cheap... half price... trilingual somemore... just get those with overseas qualifications can already... RM6,000 can get Uni Grad already.

CanIsayNo

a lot of key technical roles are outsourced to foreign labour.. even HR positions also held by foreigners. so much sensitive data handled by all these foreigners and we wonder why we get so many scammers calling us and knowing our full name and other details lol

Coffeelix

a lot of key technical roles are outsourced to foreign labour.. even HR positions also held by foreigners. so much sensitive data handled by all these foreigners and we wonder why we get so many scammers calling us and knowing our full name and other details lol
Aiyo… there are so many new sg that were and are ministers …
As a sg inc, $ is above all else so all others are throw into the winds …

LoaGong12

even Jetstar same , cite Singapore operational costs. increasing airport fees to fund T5.

doing business in Singapore is not cheap.

just like sinkies hire cheap labour for construction and domestic helpers . any jobs can be done by cheaper and better.

nowadays education standards world wide all improving.

that is why Singapore needs to find new areas that regionally can't compete yet.

if anyone has such an idea , you will be a billionaire

there are No new areas. anyone who thinks otherwise is delusional af. we will never ever have an edge in anything requiring a critical mass of ppl with strong technical skills.
population size matters . but it won’t be malaysia with an edge - possibly vietnam , indonesia though not so soon
Sg can only be a business hub with finance playing a large role. it’s not so easy for other countries to outcompete on this, for political reasons they can never bring abt regulatory regions needed to do this.
look at indonesia and its dispute with foreign companies.
this is similar to switzerland
challenge me on this.

LoaGong12

another xenophobic piece of info rooted in ignorance.
i just saw data globally - yes scam victims are greatest in rich, digitally plugged countries

LoaGong12

Honestly, I disagree with OUTSOURCING because the wages will be lower.
U can disagree with all you want, as adult you shouid know the world doesn’t give a **** abt your opinion . no offence , hard truth this is no diff from me saying i disagree with war

Joe Mahmood

U can disagree with all you want, as adult you shouid know the world doesn’t give a **** abt your opinion . no offence , hard truth this is no diff from me saying i disagree with war
Huh? Wrong thread.

Yes, if it happens it happens. There is nothing you, me or anyone in SG or in other parts of the world can do about it. We can only watch. So be it.

ramlee

Whether we like it or not, SG government is moving to a lean SG citizen population. Given up hope on birth rates.

A lean SG citizen population will be less burden on taxes and employment requirements. General population will be transitional, to earn money and go back.

GIC and Temasak will ensure there is sufficient investment into SG. Therefore the majority of SG citizens remain employed.
How about those that fly in to steal our lunch? :(

ramlee

WE hab to accept the harsh reality.

The real reason for many outsaucing or offshoring ish not bcoz it ish cost effective.
The real reason ish bcoz Sg does not hab the capability to do the jod and ish cannot do the jod even if it wants to.
How can be? We have world crass education system you know :(

ramlee

Nowadays my collicks all ish PM and all wants the 'agile' project management.
Ebrytiem i hear 'agile' i ish roll eyes.
'Agile' has been abused until when manazers talk abt 'agile', immediately the manazers ish put into the buey kan category.
Heng I’m buibui so not agile :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.