Are S’poreans losing jobs to outsourcing? Most seem to think we’ve lost our regional edge

askxyz

don't worry lah. pap gahment will absorb more sinkies into their workforce to become jlb :o

dnsfpl

it is never the job, but how much value can you bring to the coy

take myself for eg, my job 100% wfh so confirm can be outsourced

Jinjja456

Dear all,

I hope every one are clear minded. Apparently there are many retailers and shops closing. There are many business relocating the operations and Jet star is one of those.

In simplicity, Singapore is getting expensive for everyone, including the businesses.

Where do these money flows?

COL is rising, cost of doing business is rising, but where do these money go?

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.
SG60

rei_the_rebel_cat

Anyone shedding tears for those who lost their jobs when they were outsourced to Singapore.

This is the business cycle.

Chickens coming home to roost for Govt for not imvesting in creating local industries
yeah and i said it to everyone i know and i will say this again ...

do not look down on "small and low-margin" industries ... such as pop music / cosmetics ...

you know how S Korea is well-known for its amazing cosmetics right (i love laneige). what i learnt when i was covering funds is that S Korea started with one or two brands (owned by AmorePacific). Now AmorePacific owns every S Korean brand known ... Missha / Laneige / Tony Molly and more ...

the industries they support? everything from advertising to creative to packaging to logistics and even retail spaces.

for the japanese ... when i was a student ... i heard about their infamous culture of dealing only with each other. i never understood what it meant until i became a trader. tried to source a cargo from mitsui chemicals ... the manager on hearing my company (western company) just curtly said ... i only deal with mitsui & co followed by phone slam.

i was like fwah ... shosha relationships are real and not to be taken lightly. and woe to you if you don't understand and respect that culture ... they will freaking blacklist you. but japanese products are so sought after as they have absolute integrity as sellers ... when you buy 2000mt of product, you get 2000mt, not a single mt less even though the contract clearly states plus minus 5% is acceptable.

i think spore either has to innovate REAL SOON or have business integrity that is so sought-after like the Japanese companies. South Korean companies I really see as innovators as they had to fight against the Japanese for products (be it electronics or J-pop).

maybe we will really buck up when suddenly a SE Asian country come up from behind us and shock us senseless ...

rei_the_rebel_cat

Never agreed to paps current approach. Already obsolete..we should have started looking within 10 years back. Make our people more competent than rest of the world
i think it's to have a vision on what we want to achieve and develop our own industries.

we wanted S-pop ... dunno what happened.

we wanted to be a sporting powerhouse ... i just read that we closing St Wilfred's sports complex for BTO ...

we wanted to qualify for World Cup by 2030? maybe can? maybe cannot? idk what is our will to achieve that ...

mediacorp ... a has-been because it was a monopoly and protected ... i only watch k-dramas cause they are really amazing in terms of variety and pretty damn original in variety show production.

i think if we say we want to be AaBbCc ... let's be serious ... else don't mention that. it's quite discouraging as the only thing I see is being awesome at is building lots and lots of BTOs

mocax

now fresh grads ask for more than 5k salary... how not to outsource? :frown:

rei_the_rebel_cat

The first big mistakes that SG Government did was thinking SG no need to have farm land. "A country without its own food is a poor country". Now SG imported practically everything from food to manpower. We will grow hungry when the food stop coming to SG. You can't eat the paper SGD to feed the nation.

The second is the value of SGD is too high. Back then when SGD & RM was same value until mid 80s SG was doing very well too. Plenty of foreign Investors because Singaporeans back then too are considered by foreign investors as well educated hence attracted many foreign investments. The population was only 2.5 million.
back then ... my uncle as a fisherman bought fresh fish and lobsters out of Singapore very own waters (he keeps the best for family and sells the rest to the wholesale center).

simple life but we really had fresh food and veggies (exchange fish with neigbhours for veggies / eggs).

no one really ate processed food as we had a lot of seafood that's so freaking awesome and loads of veggies too.

The_best2

Our govt no foresight. The old guards like lky got an aim, eg: make singapore a manufacturing power in the 60-70s… then after tat financial power 80s-2000.. but after tat start downhill.. we venture into biotech in the 2000s and gave up on IT, Engineering. Covid period was the chance to showcase our fruits in biotech but dun have..we failed

at the same time, taiwan now dominate chip sector, india IT sector , vietnam manufacturing etc.. we are now not here nor there.. sibei jialat

Ethan_

Wonder where do they draw the line where a local company is no longer local anymore when have beyond certain percent of workforce outsource overseas.

ramlee

Our govt no foresight. The old guards like lky got an aim, eg: make singapore a manufacturing power in the 60-70s… then after tat financial power 80s-2000.. but after tat start downhill.. we venture into biotech in the 2000s and gave up on IT, Engineering. Covid period was the chance to showcase our fruits in biotech but dun have..we failed

at the same time, taiwan now dominate chip sector, india IT sector , vietnam manufacturing etc.. we are now not here nor there.. sibei jialat
We can aim to be a laundromat :(

ramlee

now fresh grads ask for more than 5k salary... how not to outsource? :frown:
You know how sexpensive things are or not? If don’t ask for high pay where got marnee to invest, chase girls and merry? :(

Teyemittisi

We do have a group of think tank scholars but my guess is the KPI too short sighted .. everyone just want to be the next minister.. want immediate results. A lot of ideas are with short to medium term. And copied right out of 10years series

Solidus_GZ

Next time not only outsourcing to overseas, u can use ai to replace the role like accounting, purchasing, or even legal

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.