Ask me any questions - Part 2

123xyz

Anyone use M1 Daily Passport overseas roaming instead of Japan SIM in Tokyo? was wondering how is the network speed and connectivity compared to Japan SIM

twosix

Anyone use M1 Daily Passport overseas roaming instead of Japan SIM in Tokyo? was wondering how is the network speed and connectivity compared to Japan SIM
japan has many telcos. u need to check which telco m1 ties up with in japan. if in cities, all telcos r good.

from chatgpt:

M1 Singapore has multiple roaming partners in Japan for both prepaid and postpaid customers. The preferred networks vary depending on your plan and the specific roaming service you activate.

Preferred Roaming Partners in Japan​

For Prepaid Customers:​

M1's prepaid roaming services in Japan are available through the following networks:

• SoftBank
  • KDDI (au)
  • NTT Docomo (Note: Available only with 3G handsets)M1

These networks support 4G data roaming. However, direct dialing capabilities may vary. For instance, KDDI does not support direct dialing, while NTT Docomo and SoftBank do. M1+2M1+2M1+2

For Postpaid Customers:​

Postpaid users can roam in Japan using the following networks:SuperAdrianMe

• KDDI Corporation (KDDI)
  • NTT Docomo
  • SoftBank Mobile Corp

All three networks offer 4G data, VoLTE voice calls, and SMS services. Additionally, KDDI and SoftBank support M1's Data Passport and Daily Roaming Passport services.

ctan84

Anyone used Eight's 2GB free international roaming data in the $8 plan b4 in Japan ah? How's the coverage like?

IcYFl4mEz

For Hokkaido in autumn in Mid oct, what you guys think of below itinerary for self drive? Will it be too rush?
Thinking if to remove Shiretoko and spend longer / slow relax time in sounkyo for the hike, stay 2 nights.

Day 1 – Reach Hakodate evening and check in

Day 2 – Hakodate

Day 3 – Hakodate

Day 4 – Check out , Onuma , Lake Toya , Nooribetsu and Shiraoi (stay at shiraoi if not enjoying onsen, or Nooribetsu)

Day 5 – Check out Shiraoi , go to Jozanki , Otaru (stay)

Day 6 – Check out Otaru, Shiroi Kobito Park , Furano check in

Day 7 – Furano check out , Beie and check in Asahikawa

Day 8 – Check out Asahikawa , takinoue , check in sounkyo

Day 9 – Daisetsuzan Sōunkyō Kurodake Ropeway,

check out sounkyo , to shiretoko

Day 10 – check out shiretoko , to bihiro pass , lake mashu , check in lake akan

Day 11 – check out lake akan , tomamu the tower/Manabe garden , check in Sapporo and return car

Day 12 – Sapporo

Day 13 – Check out and head to airport 7pm flight

twosix

For Hokkaido in autumn in Mid oct, what you guys think of below itinerary for self drive? Will it be too rush?
Thinking if to remove Shiretoko and spend longer / slow relax time in sounkyo for the hike, stay 2 nights.

Day 1 – Reach Hakodate evening and check in

Day 2 – Hakodate

Day 3 – Hakodate

Day 4 – Check out , Onuma , Lake Toya , Nooribetsu and Shiraoi (stay at shiraoi if not enjoying onsen, or Nooribetsu)

Day 5 – Check out Shiraoi , go to Jozanki , Otaru (stay)

Day 6 – Check out Otaru, Shiroi Kobito Park , Furano check in

Day 7 – Furano check out , Beie and check in Asahikawa

Day 8 – Check out Asahikawa , takinoue , check in sounkyo

Day 9 – Daisetsuzan Sōunkyō Kurodake Ropeway,

check out sounkyo , to shiretoko

Day 10 – check out shiretoko , to bihiro pass , lake mashu , check in lake akan

Day 11 – check out lake akan , tomamu the tower/Manabe garden , check in Sapporo and return car

Day 12 – Sapporo

Day 13 – Check out and head to airport 7pm flight

Looks very rush, especially day 4. like touch and go.

IcYFl4mEz

Looks very rush, especially day 4. like touch and go.
I read that actually nooboribetsu mainly the hell valley n sont need stay for long. Can stay at noobori.
Lake toya maybe 1-2hrs? And the park also about there. Should have time?

deodorant

I used a few years ago back when I was still on M1. Speed and latency good, no complaints. But I didn't realize that data passport had a limit - back then it was 10gb - and so I kena huge billshock after I reached home lol. Not sure if the limit is still so cui nowadays.

deodorant

I read that actually nooboribetsu mainly the hell valley n sont need stay for long. Can stay at noobori.
Lake toya maybe 1-2hrs? And the park also about there. Should have time?
3 nights in hakodate a bit long IMO.

The rest of your trip really a bit touch n go, every single day change place not sian meh, between the packing, check out / check in, driving, etc. You do you I suppose but do calculate in the time taken to do this + the actual driving time and see if you have enough time to look, see, and do what you intend to do lor.

Example for me, Noboribetsu itself can take up 2 nights, but you only assigning like 2 hours to it, I would be inclined to say don't even bother going.

IcYFl4mEz

3 nights in hakodate a bit long IMO.

The rest of your trip really a bit touch n go, every single day change place not sian meh, between the packing, check out / check in, driving, etc. You do you I suppose but do calculate in the time taken to do this + the actual driving time and see if you have enough time to look, see, and do what you intend to do lor.

Example for me, Noboribetsu itself can take up 2 nights, but you only assigning like 2 hours to it, I would be inclined to say don't even bother going.
Yeah thats why im asking for opinion, as these itinerary mostly plug out from people blog etc. hakodate i only got 2 full days, excluding the onuma park which will be the third morning whn i got the car. Actually the trip is supposed to chill n relax. day usually start at 6am or so, and most people recommend dont drive at ard 5pm.

I read people mentioned noboribetsu , theres only hell valley to see. onsen wise etc, we not really interested as we will book those private in room onsen at lake akan etc.

twosix

Sad... Taiwanese has replaced the Chinese as the loud mouth worst kind of tourist. They talk so loudly everywhere.

thwysg

Sad... Taiwanese has replaced the Chinese as the loud mouth worst kind of tourist. They talk so loudly everywhere.
Really that bad? I’m visiting in October off peak season. Crossing fingers that it’ll be a good trip without bumping into these not-so-nice encounters.

ApeTruelove

Really that bad? I’m visiting in October off peak season. Crossing fingers that it’ll be a good trip without bumping into these not-so-nice encounters.
last month saw alot of sinkie talking loudly everywhere also :)

thwysg

Hi, any review on travelling to Japan in early to mid June?
Which part of Japan?

Tsuyu season in most areas - intermittent rain showers.

Good weather in Hokkaido, but not much to do. Can visit the outdoor attractions.

tpmmark

Any kind advice as how much yen to prepare for 2 days free and easy trip at Tokyo? My breakfast will be at my hotel. So the yen will be spend Mostly for foodstuffs.

Shopping I believe will be done at major shopping malls where credit card payment is avail.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.