Ask me any questions

Warlock86

Hi guys,

I will be in osaka for 7 days and followed by 6 days in tokyo. On my 2nd day in Osaka, I am going to visit Himeji castle for a day trip. After that, I am thinking if I should visit the Mitsui Outlet Park Marine Pia Kobe which is on my way back from Himeji. Do you guys find nice offer on ASICS and etc from Mitsui Outlet Park Marine Pia Kobe?

Thanks

Best regards,
WL

saffronsatire

Hi guys,

I will be in osaka for 7 days and followed by 6 days in tokyo. On my 2nd day in Osaka, I am going to visit Himeji castle for a day trip. After that, I am thinking if I should visit the Mitsui Outlet Park Marine Pia Kobe which is on my way back from Himeji. Do you guys find nice offer on ASICS and etc from Mitsui Outlet Park Marine Pia Kobe?

Thanks

Best regards,
WL
Didn't pay attention to ASICS but i prefer the kurashiki outlet, better range and discounts overall. I went via Okayama after himeji. Walking distance from train station.

The kobe one had good discounts on tempur though. A distance from train station. Osaka one kinda out of reach and limited range across brands.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI 4A using GAGT

melvados

You mean Spaworld at Osaka?
http://www.spaworld.co.jp/english/

If you are at the onsen area, you will need to follow the Japanese onsen rule, which is basically naked and washing of body before entering, no soaking of towel into the pool, no tattoo(few allowed, most dont), no swimming etc. You can goolgle easily the onsen etiquette.

For a more authentic experience, since you are in Kansai, you could try Arima Onsen or further north to Kinusaki Onsen. Those are the real things.

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3558.html
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3525.html

If you dont intend to pay 2400yen for Spaworld, you can try out on the cheaper

http://www.spasuminoe.jp/hotspring/index.html at 650yen only

Or slightly more expensive 800yen
http://www.naniwanoyu.com/onsen/index.html

Incidentally, they are both under the free access bundle for Osaka Amazing Pass. The 2 listed above are "onsen" only facilities. Spaworld is more like a water theme park that has an "onsen" section.

http://www.osaka-info.jp/osp/en/facility/free.php

If you have amazing pass, Spaworld gives you 200yen discount though.

If you are in the Tokyo Asakusa neighborhood, you can try their Jakotsuyu, 450yen
http://hotspringaddict.blogspot.com/2014/02/best-hot-spring-in-asakusa-tokyo.html

Hey there, thanks for the links!
Thought that was an 'authentic' onsen.. I am still trying to look for 1 to experience it, either at Osaka/ Kyoto but perhaps to spend time enjoying it in the day but at the same time, trying to find some place that can be easily travel to since it will be our first time as last thing we do not want - getting lost and broken communication.

Salik89, 100-120 restricts you to mainly compact Japanese biz hotels. Must stay away from Smoking rooms, the smell is overwhelming as they stick to the wallpapers, carpets that no air freshener can get rid of. Suggest you stay in the Shinagawa hotels as its major transport hub (ie. lots of eateries and decent shopping). Most hotels don't provide free shuttle as Tokyo has so many train lines/stations. With the Japan pass, Shinagawa will bring you to all the major tourist spots on the popular circular Yamanota line.

Thanks, in that case, may be thinking of getting the Toyoko Inn at Shingawa then. 1 night in Smoking room may be bearable but I also do not think we can last for 3-4 nights.. For the shuttle, I will be glad if there are any to Shingawa Stations, not necesarily to the airports, just saying.

Another question - Usually what is the best time to start travelling from Town area (shinjukyuu/ Akihabara etc) towards to Haneda Airport if I wanted to avoid the 'crazy' crowds in train? Or rather, what are the high peak hours?

cpuer

Thought that was an 'authentic' onsen.. I am still trying to look for 1 to experience it, either at Osaka/ Kyoto but perhaps to spend time enjoying it in the day but at the same time, trying to find some place that can be easily travel to since it will be our first time as last thing we do not want - getting lost and broken communication.

Thanks, in that case, may be thinking of getting the Toyoko Inn at Shingawa then. 1 night in Smoking room may be bearable but I also do not think we can last for 3-4 nights.. For the shuttle, I will be glad if there are any to Shingawa Stations, not necesarily to the airports, just saying.

Another question - Usually what is the best time to start travelling from Town area (shinjukyuu/ Akihabara etc) towards to Haneda Airport if I wanted to avoid the 'crazy' crowds in train? Or rather, what are the high peak hours?
At osaka, this one is easy to get to:
http://www.spa-shimizuyu.com/price/index_price.html

open from 6am to 12midnight 440yen. Good place to unwind after a long day of shopping :)

s7460597

What time do you need to get to the haneda?
I took the yamanote on Saturday 7am and it was packed. Managed to board at the end of the three train.

melvados

What time do you need to get to the haneda?
I took the yamanote on Saturday 7am and it was packed. Managed to board at the end of the three train.

My flight is at 10pm, since I will need to check in 2 hours prior to my flight, need to be there by 8pm then?

I do not mind arriving early there but of course, not 4pm for example unless if the rush hour is very bad

s7460597

My flight is at 10pm, since I will need to check in 2 hours prior to my flight, need to be there by 8pm then?

I do not mind arriving early there but of course, not 4pm for example unless if the rush hour is very bad

Around 6-8pm yamanote can be quite packed regardless weekday or weekend. I was thinking for next trip I'll take the limousine bus. Pro is don't have to struggle with luggage and transfer isn't needed. Cost is higher but it's only a few hundred yen a person so not that bad.

TonyDelPiero

7pm. Just take train starting from 8pm onwards. Toei's Asakusa Line-Keikyu's Line is not so crowded because of high frequency train.

When I took this line at Higashi-Ginza station, it alternate Asakusa Line train and Asakusa Line-Keikyu's line.

When you are at Shingakuji, you have one clear straight line on Keikyu's line.

I never took moonrail before.

These are for your idea on how you can expect.

klavier

End May is quite pleasant during the day and can be quite cold at night. Just a light jacket or blazer is fine for me but depends on the individual.

Unless you are travelling with young kids or elderly who can get easily tired, I would suggest heading to Shinjuku rightaway as your base. It's quite a hassle to bring all your luggage to and fro. If you wish to stay at the hotels there, perhaps the first day would be more logical as you dont have much things to carry. Nothing much to do around Maihama but if you like shopping, perhaps http://www.31op.com/makuhari/english/?

Well to update, I had to reverse the order given the non availability of rooms on my travel date. Hence, I have booked my hotel at Shinjuku after arrival and will move to Maihama for the last 3 nights.

Seems like there is a bus option (on the link you posted earlier) for my transport back to Haneda for my 1020 am departure flight.

Problem is I cant really tell what is the exact bus timing when the bus will depart from Disneyland from this link http://www.limousinebus.co.jp/en/bus_services/haneda/index.

Is it 730 am? Would appreciate if anyone can help me to check and also advise if its possible to book the bus ticket in advance. Thank you.

Or would it be better to take the train?

kifo

You mean Spaworld at Osaka?
http://www.spaworld.co.jp/english/

If you are at the onsen area, you will need to follow the Japanese onsen rule, which is basically naked and washing of body before entering, no soaking of towel into the pool, no tattoo(few allowed, most dont), no swimming etc. You can goolgle easily the onsen etiquette.

For a more authentic experience, since you are in Kansai, you could try Arima Onsen or further north to Kinusaki Onsen. Those are the real things.

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3558.html
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3525.html

If you dont intend to pay 2400yen for Spaworld, you can try out on the cheaper

http://www.spasuminoe.jp/hotspring/index.html at 650yen only

Or slightly more expensive 800yen
http://www.naniwanoyu.com/onsen/index.html

Incidentally, they are both under the free access bundle for Osaka Amazing Pass. The 2 listed above are "onsen" only facilities. Spaworld is more like a water theme park that has an "onsen" section.

http://www.osaka-info.jp/osp/en/facility/free.php

If you have amazing pass, Spaworld gives you 200yen discount though.

If you are in the Tokyo Asakusa neighborhood, you can try their Jakotsuyu, 450yen
http://hotspringaddict.blogspot.com/2014/02/best-hot-spring-in-asakusa-tokyo.html

actually, the onsen side of Spaworld is only 800 yen to get in (1000 yen on weekends). however if you want to go to swimming pool, then the total ticket price is 2,400 yen. however, their pool is now under renovation and wont be ready until end of april...

fairnsquare

Hi All, thanks for all the valuable info and opinions that I have been reading for the past years! Cheers!
Base on what I have read/heard, I had 2 wonderful trips (Jan 2016 and Nov 2016) to Japan, visiting Tokyo (city areas), Hakone, Mt Fuji, Kamakura, Yokohama and furthest to Izukugen (onsen).
My friend and I had booked another trip in May, visiting Osaka/Kyoto and our plan as follows:

8 May 2017 (Monday)
Osaka (Namba) - Dontonbori (arrived 6pm KIX from Taipei)

9 May 2017 (Tuesday)
1. Osaka Castle
2. Tenmangu Shrine

10 May 2017 (Wednesday)
1. Kyoto Day Tour or Kyoto/Nara Day Tour

11 May 2017 (Thursday)
1.Himeji Castle
2. Kobe (any suggestion for Kobe beef makan place?)

12 May 2017 (Friday)
1. Shinsekai
2. Tennoji

13 May 2017 (Saturday)
1. Kita (Umeda) = North Osaka City area
2. Namba

14 May 2017 (Sunday)
Namba - Kansai Airport (10am flight back to SG, via Taipei)

Look forward to your input. Thanks

deodorant

fairnsquare i guess the touristy thing to do for Kobe beef is to head to Kobe itself. It's like 20-30mins from Osaka. 20-60mins from Kyoto depending if you take shinkansen or normal train.

At Kobe the absolute most touristy spot to eat is at Steakland. Lunch sets are reasonable - when i visited it was: Special Kobe Beef Sirloin Set (¥5,480 for 200gm), Special Kobe Beef Tenderloin Set (¥5,980 for 160gm). But this was almost 4 years ago so dunnon whether price still same. blogpost if you interested.

If you willing to spend a bit more, there are places in kobe like Waqqoku which are more well regarded and more gourmet (but i nv try before)

fairnsquare

fairnsquare i guess the touristy thing to do for Kobe beef is to head to Kobe itself. It's like 20-30mins from Osaka. 20-60mins from Kyoto depending if you take shinkansen or normal train.

At Kobe the absolute most touristy spot to eat is at Steakland. Lunch sets are reasonable - when i visited it was: Special Kobe Beef Sirloin Set (¥5,480 for 200gm), Special Kobe Beef Tenderloin Set (¥5,980 for 160gm). But this was almost 4 years ago so dunnon whether price still same. blogpost if you interested.

If you willing to spend a bit more, there are places in kobe like Waqqoku which are more well regarded and more gourmet (but i nv try before)

Thanks a lot. Will take note, may try the premium ones since already there.

evilerniex

Hi All, thanks for all the valuable info and opinions that I have been reading for the past years! Cheers!
Base on what I have read/heard, I had 2 wonderful trips (Jan 2016 and Nov 2016) to Japan, visiting Tokyo (city areas), Hakone, Mt Fuji, Kamakura, Yokohama and furthest to Izukugen (onsen).
My friend and I had booked another trip in May, visiting Osaka/Kyoto and our plan as follows:

8 May 2017 (Monday)
Osaka (Namba) - Dontonbori (arrived 6pm KIX from Taipei)

9 May 2017 (Tuesday)
1. Osaka Castle
2. Tenmangu Shrine

10 May 2017 (Wednesday)
1. Kyoto Day Tour or Kyoto/Nara Day Tour

11 May 2017 (Thursday)
1.Himeji Castle
2. Kobe (any suggestion for Kobe beef makan place?)

12 May 2017 (Friday)
1. Shinsekai
2. Tennoji

13 May 2017 (Saturday)
1. Kita (Umeda) = North Osaka City area
2. Namba

14 May 2017 (Sunday)
Namba - Kansai Airport (10am flight back to SG, via Taipei)

Look forward to your input. Thanks

1 day for kyoto is a bit short.
even for someone like me who is not really into temples and dun like very touristy spots, i still spend 2 days in kyoto. :o

fairnsquare

1 day for kyoto is a bit short.
even for someone like me who is not really into temples and dun like very touristy spots, i still spend 2 days in kyoto. :o

Agreed, we are following a full day tour to cover most of the "MUST GO" temples in Kyoto.
We may plan another 1 day to roam and eat around Kyoto.
Thanks

fairnsquare

Hi deodorant, read your blog and you had a meal at Kichisen (now 3 star Michelin liao), I am really envy!

evilerniex

Agreed, we are following a full day tour to cover most of the "MUST GO" temples in Kyoto.
We may plan another 1 day to roam and eat around Kyoto.
Thanks

kyoto actually not tt hard to get around, so dun really need tour.
but of coz tour will provide a guide to explain the history, culture etc. can appreciate the temple more

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.