ASUS RT-AC1200G Router

boxer33

Senior Member
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
1,363
Reaction score
1
Need some expert advice here.
I'm currently using a ASUS N56U.
Would replacing it with a RT-AC1200G+ give better wifi range, coverage & speed on 802.11n?
Thanks.
 
Last edited:

xonix

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
Messages
13,640
Reaction score
27
Not an major upgrade. You get 802.11ac speeds now with compatible devices
 

etoilebiscuit

Master Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
2,821
Reaction score
0
what are the better aspects of the 1200g+ ah. im thinking if i need to top up more to get the ac88u instead.
 

xonix

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
Messages
13,640
Reaction score
27
what are the better aspects of the 1200g+ ah. im thinking if i need to top up more to get the ac88u instead.

Compared to ?
Ac88u has higher max Wi-Fi speed if used with compatible devices, 8 lan ports, built in anti virus etc...vs 1200g+

If you are low bandwidth user,then there's not much difference.
 

aWhimAway

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2016
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
Good day everyone, im facing the same issue as TS!

some background: currently on M1's 300mpbs fibre plan using the RT-N56U given. most of the time 4-5 devices are connected wirelessly (+1-2 more once sis comes back from overseas)

can i check with u pros if its prudent for me to upgrade to the ac1200g? im only receiving 20-30+ mbps download on my laptop at best. will i be seeing a decent improvement in connectivity if i were to upgrade?

thanks in advance!!
 
Last edited:

renfred89

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
17,501
Reaction score
3
What is the WiFi specs of your laptop? Both router and WiFi card of your laptop must be similar in specs in order to maximise throughput..

Good day everyone, im facing the same issue as TS!

some background: currently on M1's 300mpbs fibre plan using the RT-N56U given. most of the time 4-5 devices are connected wirelessly (+1-2 more once sis comes back from overseas)

can i check with u pros if its prudent for me to upgrade to the ac1200g? im only receiving 20-30+ mbps download on my laptop at best. will i be seeing a decent improvement in connectivity if i were to upgrade?

thanks in advance!!
 

aWhimAway

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2016
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
What is the WiFi specs of your laptop? Both router and WiFi card of your laptop must be similar in specs in order to maximise throughput..



hi thanks for the reply! pardon my noobness but what do you mean by wifi specs of my laptop? from device manager i see that my wifi card is intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265 but i dont see any specs that i can understand :s11: mind explaining to me the caveman how i can verify that the wifi card of my laptop and router are similar? thanks!!
 

renfred89

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
17,501
Reaction score
3
You can Google the model number and it should lead you to Intel website for the speeds..

Anyway, it's a wireless ac WiFi 2x2 up to 867mbps only. So your WiFi card itself will be the bottle neck for Hugh end routers which usually support 3x3..

hi thanks for the reply! pardon my noobness but what do you mean by wifi specs of my laptop? from device manager i see that my wifi card is intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265 but i dont see any specs that i can understand :s11: mind explaining to me the caveman how i can verify that the wifi card of my laptop and router are similar? thanks!!
 

lohsenglte

Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
6,846
Reaction score
6
You can Google the model number and it should lead you to Intel website for the speeds..

Anyway, it's a wireless ac WiFi 2x2 up to 867mbps only. So your WiFi card itself will be the bottle neck for Hugh end routers which usually support 3x3..



High end router: AC1750 and above.

ASUS RT-AC1200G+ is AC1200 router. The WiFi chip also support AC1200 (867Mbps + 300Mbps).

So upgrade to AC1200G+ is just nice. :s13:
 

renfred89

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
17,501
Reaction score
3

lohsenglte

Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
6,846
Reaction score
6
can i ask if i get the ac1200g+ and use it as an ap from rt56u. can i hit the 867mbps

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

867mbps is just the link rate. U won't hit anything near 867 and you will be contented if it's slight more than 400mbps in real life speed..

N56u doesn't support wireless ac, so u will likely see a jump in speed though..



ASUS RT-AC1200G+ I think max speed is around ~400Mbps.

My M1 300Mbps Fibre can get ~315Mbps over 802.11ac, same as wired, so it's definitely not the maximum capability of the router. :D
 

etoilebiscuit

Master Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
2,821
Reaction score
0
wen maybe i phrased wrongly. i will do from modem to 56u to 1200g+. just wanna know if 1200g+ as ap can work accordingly right. since 1200g+ is ac model so it can still work better than the 56u.
another question is if i run lan from 1200g+ to pc. can i still hit the max 1gbps theoretical.

modem -> rt56u -> pc1 and 1200g+ -> pc2

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT
 
Last edited:

xonix

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
Messages
13,640
Reaction score
27
wen maybe i phrased wrongly. i will do from modem to 56u to 1200g+. just wanna know if 1200g+ as ap can work accordingly right. since 1200g+ is ac model so it can still work better than the 56u.
another question is if i run lan from 1200g+ to pc. can i still hit the max 1gbps theoretical.

modem -> rt56u -> pc1 and 1200g+ -> pc2


Can. Just set it to AP mode in the router settings.
You will see some drop from n56u but not a lot.
 
Last edited:

renfred89

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
17,501
Reaction score
3
wen maybe i phrased wrongly. i will do from modem to 56u to 1200g+. just wanna know if 1200g+ as ap can work accordingly right. since 1200g+ is ac model so it can still work better than the 56u.
another question is if i run lan from 1200g+ to pc. can i still hit the max 1gbps theoretical.

modem -> rt56u -> pc1 and 1200g+ -> pc2

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

regarding your qn if it can hit the 1gbps, well theoretically it can cos all are gigabit ethernet ports. You won't find it differently when you connect to ac1200g+ or n56u.

However the down side of having n56u at the front than comparing to having ac1200g+ at the front is that when you concurrent intensive LAN activities, the phenomenon adds stress to the already decrepit CPU of older model, will likely to see a speed drop though your LAN devices are still connected at 1gbps. CPU itself does play a role in the switching of packets.

However, if you have nothing intensive and if you don't realise the speed drop, perhaps you have not exceeded the threshold of n56u so i suppose you can ignore the above info...
 

-Grift-

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2015
Messages
961
Reaction score
2
regarding your qn if it can hit the 1gbps, well theoretically it can cos all are gigabit ethernet ports. You won't find it differently when you connect to ac1200g+ or n56u.

However the down side of having n56u at the front than comparing to having ac1200g+ at the front is that when you concurrent intensive LAN activities, the phenomenon adds stress to the already decrepit CPU of older model, will likely to see a speed drop though your LAN devices are still connected at 1gbps. CPU itself does play a role in the switching of packets.

However, if you have nothing intensive and if you don't realise the speed drop, perhaps you have not exceeded the threshold of n56u so i suppose you can ignore the above info...

Just reconned myself and I actually tried swapping my old AC66U with my N56U as "router" as I run AC66U&AC87U as AP mode and N56U as router mode. The AC66U could not run full gigabit LAN from

ONT -> AC66U(router) -> AC87U(AP) -> PC [All on Cat 5e] 700 - <= 800 Mbps

while my old N56U running padavan could ! :eek:

ONT -> N56U(router) -> AC87U(AP) -> PC [All on Cat 5e] 900 - <= 940 Mbps

Not sure if the AC1200G+ is capable though
 

lohsenglte

Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
6,846
Reaction score
6
Just reconned myself and I actually tried swapping my old AC66U with my N56U as "router" as I run AC66U&AC87U as AP mode and N56U as router mode. The AC66U could not run full gigabit LAN from

ONT -> AC66U(router) -> AC87U(AP) -> PC [All on Cat 5e] 700 - <= 800 Mbps

while my old N56U running padavan could ! :eek:

ONT -> N56U(router) -> AC87U(AP) -> PC [All on Cat 5e] 900 - <= 940 Mbps

Not sure if the AC1200G+ is capable though
Ya the mighty N56U have better networking on WAN-LAN throughput than most routers even till today. ASUS definitely have to review their drawing boards to see what's right about the N56U that newer flagships have problems with.

Sent from Redmi Note 4 MTK using GAGT
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top