BLOOMBERG: SG/HKG risks being left behind if “Covid Zero” continues to be policy

avviicc

All you bashing AMDK comparing asian values vs amdk forgot one thing. AMDK are so successful because of their freedom and their vision. For SG to hold on to COVID ZERO policy is a loss making disadvantage. Just look at their stock market, DOW is all time high whereas STI sunk to months low. All this while our COVID cases are still much lower than US, commensurate with population size.

So for EDMW bbfa, bashing Bloomberg is kind of contradictory and hypocriticism. On one hand, you worship US stock market and gamble all your money/hope on it. On the other, you bash their values and self-proclaim to be more conservative/community rules. LOL! :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Sinkie really daft to no bottom! No wonder so long still cannot produce unicorn :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

I agree with this Bloomberg article, we cannot have COVID ZERO policy and expect there to be no cases. We need vaccination to be ramp up and continue to live with COVID in our midst.
ya as long as u and ur family members dun get and die from covid ... others die their own business.
U better dun flip flop when u start seeing many around you catch covid and dying due to lack of oxygen and hospital beds, by then is too late to regret what u are saying now

feitz

western countries has accepted that covid is here to stay, normal life goes on as long as serious cases numbers do not overwelm healthcare system ( thru vaccination)

cubana

we need 50-70% vaccinated to relax more n treat it as endemic. Right now our vaccination is too dam slow

arcturuz

wait till the indian variant spread in the US community

it's gonna hit them real hard

LAMtopia

The difference is that US and UK has vaccinated a larger part of their population but Singapore has a lower vaccination rate.

so far the deaths in Singapore are only from unvaccinated persons. No vaccinated person has died of COVID-19 yet. So unless we can vaccinate 90% of the population otherwise it’s hard to re-open or tolerate daily covid cases

jeffprobst

Agrees to open up but still maintain closure of boarder to well known high risk countries.

Libbis

It's a bait report. Amdk countries suffered n died many. They want other countries to be like them. Can not see other country no die ppl

uselessbum

Guess who's still number 1 globally for cases?

They want to do it their own style, more power to them but don't try and paint it like it is the clearly superior method. The trade offs are heavy and it remains to be seen whether the US has got it under control.

:(

tqx

I think SG is just waiting for mass vaccination to finish before totally open

Captain Muthu

Actually agree shouldn't be the number of case counts as an indicator. Maybe more important to look at is at the rate of spread, velocity of new cases coming up. Like last year, that flatten curve thing they were preachy about

alpenglow

Think those people who have the impression that covid is merely an acute illness that as long as one doesnt die from is acceptable should go read up about all the possible long term consequences of it

WhyPayMore

Just one block of condo of ppl kena is enough to cripple our medical system.

mewmew

broomberg really ish kumgong maximum.

ish the per million indicator with consideration on population density?

lifeafter41

3 words. no one knows.

the spanish flu was able to be stopped because last time not so easy to anyhow travel, then all either acquired immunity or died

now if this keeps circulating in different variants, no one knows whats the right approach. whether US is correct or not, we will only see towards the winter months
Yes, the winter months…..

stewpig

That's the difference between Western countries and Asian countries like SG.

Oz & Kiwi deserve special mentions. They are Western but they are in deep south, and they are island nations.

OZ & Kiwi = can stomach some strict domestic restrictions, but not for long. Now they say they want to stop wearing masks. But they still maintain strict isolation from the outside world.

SG, HK, China, etc Asian countries = can maintain strict domestic restrictions as well as strict isolation from outside world.

The reason is simple:

Asians are collectivist. Westerners are individualist.

Asians are used to prioritizing the greater good.

Westerners are used to emphasising their own individual good.

In Western countries = got anti lockdown demonstrations.
None ever happen in any Asian countries.

In Western countries = they don't like to even wear the mask. They say it's a violation of their personal freedom. Even something like wearing the mask, is something that some of them don't want to do.

That just comes down to very basic mentality, philosophy, social organization.

I don't give much credit to this Bloomberg article, because as usual, they are using their own lense, and they think everyone else in the world should think like them.

Asians have different mentality and different scale of priority, different way of looking at the world.

I think partially that’s it.

But there’s also another element. Asians are an extremely pragmatic people, they are deadly afraid of death.

One German expat once told me before, he was puzzled why Asians are so scared to die. I will always remember what He said: it is natural to be scared to die of course, but when you have that much fear of death, you forget how to live.

You can see this in adventure sports and stuff, amdks are willing to take far more risks to do base jumping, climb everest etc, they are the ones who came up with YOLO.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.