Chee Hong Tat: Hurtful for S'porean man to be asked 'What is SAF?' by foreign HR manager during interview

Joseph12

Ha
Ha
Ha

and whose fault is it that a HR manager of a company is a foreigner? Did that HR manager favour applicants from his/her country or university?

Hong Tat only talk halfway
Ha
Ha
Ha

and whose fault is it that a HR manager of a company is a foreigner? Did that HR manager favour applicants from his/her country or university?

Hong Tat only talk halfway
Cos he don't dare to elaborate on the story.
Most likely the candidate don't get the job

_eMuu_

To be fair.

Foreigners dont know what is SAF.

Joseph12

Why do we even need foreigners to be HR managers?

The point is what is SAF and the foreigner doesn't know whats that is irrelevant

More importantly, will that be used against the Singaporean?
Chee didn't elaborate and I think the truth is it was and it will be

needhelpbadlynow

last time moi go interview the lady from HR also say SAF what leaving cert no use no need. they don't care how good or bad we service in SAF de.

xiao.xin

I only rmb as NSF I went down to Comcentre needed to renew my phone contract then, the person tell me "sarf day" discount not available. Took me 2 mins to know she is talking about SAF.

BohemianSG

There is also another one i noticed. Some foreign HR managers will ask about the "gap" after leaving school if you do not include NS. I think it is particularly bad for younger job seekers from poly.

aspenco

for me, i would investigate and if true, I'd not hesitate to fire the hr person man.

rackgen

Was she a 'South Asian' HR like this girl?

XoO3uC0.jpeg

Joseph12

There is also another one i noticed. Some foreign HR managers will ask about the "gap" after leaving school if you do not include NS. I think it is particularly bad for younger job seekers from poly.

Yes
That's why need to put in NS and SAF experience.
If not, the foreigners will ask about it.
Probably cos they know nothing about CV or not serious about the CV and want to make conversation and pick faults with CV when they see a 2 years gap

heroking

last time i work in a company my manager is a local female grad from NUS
i tell her i going for reservist next month
she ask me what is reservist?
then I found out from my corlick she got 4 daughter and her hubby is malaysian
so not all FT HR are bodoh
local lady also not very smart

Joseph12

last time i work in a company my manager is a local female grad from NUS
i tell her i going for reservist next month
she ask me what is reservist?
then I found out from my corlick she got 4 daughter and her hubby is malaysian
so not all FT HR are bodoh
local lady also not very smart
Typical shallow ignorant Singaporean woman

killing_my_dreams

SG churn out hundreds, if not thousands of business grads every year, but end up still not enough people to do HR work, need to employ foreign HR managers.

Roadster01

I am also hurted just like cht.

This sinkie should not disturb the peace of the foreigner HR. If he appliy to GrabFood or Foodpanda or those industries reserved specially for sinkies, that question will not come up!

Zelda0704

Means SAF not recognise lor
Go overseas tell ppl SINKAPOOR
Ppl think it’s China :cautious:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.