Chee Hong Tat: Hurtful for S'porean man to be asked 'What is SAF?' by foreign HR manager during interview

aromilk

Be like other countries where non locals are NOT ALLOWED to take on HR roles. Eg: Indonesia.

SupremeLord

now then he know ah
These ppl high up in their ivory tower lost touch with what is happening on the ground
U think employers give a f whether u finish serving that 2yrs or not, they more interested if ur a liability to the company every 1-2 yrs mia for 2-4 wks while still drawing pay

ceecookie

The 2 years should not be considered any form of job experience. It is instead a duty to serve the country!

zzangiefzz

Let's just treat our NS as 2y of gym let it go, no point here but u can do something for ur sons instead

focus1974

what? NS can write as work experience? LOL..

I have short-changed myself..

tsnd01

Why would someone put nsf service in their resume sia.
They only need to know did you downgrade pes status to check are you chao geng.
Tick got reservice? okie, hire FT liao.
Why not? We have an obligation to fulfill. We have a superior to report to. We have to be punctual in our reporting for duty. This is very similar to the working world.

Vegitto

Why would someone put nsf service in their resume sia.
They only need to know did you downgrade pes status to check are you chao geng.
Tick got reservice? okie, hire FT liao.
Have to do timeline of your academic progress mah,
Guys will have 2 missing years in-between poly/JC and uni, got to account for that 2 years. You never put they will ask what have you been doing for that 2 years, still have to reveal
That guy's mistake is put acronym, never put saf in full

matey1982

A Singaporean who attended a job interview at a multinational corporation was once asked about his two years of national service with the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF).

The question of the foreign human resources manager was: "You wrote in your curriculum vitae that you spent two years with the SAF; what is SAF?"

This story was related by NTUC deputy secretary-general Chee Hong Tat, who spoke on Thursday (July 22) at a virtual masterclass event by Human Capital Singapore on key trends impacting Singapore's economy.

Mr Chee said an important factor that affects the "lived experiences" of local workers is how their employers and HR managers treat them at work.

"These experiences are powerful in shaping perceptions, more so than our policy explanations and statistics. When the emotions in our hearts feel different from the logic in our heads, most people will follow their hearts. It is what makes us human," he added.

"As a proud NSman who had served and defended his country, it was hurtful for him to be asked 'What is SAF?'."

The anecdote illustrates the limitations of a foreign HR manager who is not familiar with Singapore, he said.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-be-recognised-get-competitive-advantage-chee
NS for sinkies
AMDK huat lor!

Bweebweee

I tot go NS help boys grow to men? Harden your resolve to handle life? But now ask you what is SAF, get hurt.... Strawberry gen turn to mush ah?

d5dude

Hurtful then do something about it, enact policy to change this, make this kind of stupid motherhood statement got what use?

Chris008

Not familiar with Singapore but how come the person can become a HR personnel in Singapore?

chongquan82

So wishful thinking expecting sinkies to defend sinkie land when the time comes

PAP wan sui wan sui wan wan sui

🤪🤪🤪

AZE

What kind of idiot put SAF service into the resume?:s13:
Unless the person ish applying for uniformed civil service or gov service, ish that even relevant?:o
Or ish the person hoping to get an extra $200 during salary negotiation?:o

Please only place relevant experience into the resume... Don't make things difficult for HR and make yourself rook like an idiot as well...:crazy:

Justrade

That's why HR must be local personnel only. Otherwise how to promote cohesion in SG?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.