Chee Hong Tat: Hurtful for S'porean man to be asked 'What is SAF?' by foreign HR manager during interview

Xiao Sinkie

Please stop talking cog and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. Chwee gong lanpa song help lah. If you don't intend to solve this problem at least diam diam about it lah. Who dk that sinkie males all 2 years behind international peers and females.

PaulLevesque

So what, NS nia. Don't talk like very big fug hor you all. Think you all deserve priority for defending the country meh? Our talents never hold guns before but they deserve much more hor.

No blame culture please.

Lemon_gaga

ITS everywhere. 40%FT. 10 companies 4 FT HR can approve many friends in. Just up levy for talent. No more EP. You will see a huge drop.

Handyman8888

This man was lucky when he was only asked ...'What is SAF " by an FT.
THE FT COULD BE BLUNT AND SAID.." I KNOW WHAT SAF IS, AS STATED HERE BY YOU...BUT...
WHO WERE YOU DEFENDING FOR?"😆😆😆😆😆😆😆😆😆🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Handyman8888

put NS in CV reminds them of your ICT liabilities

No No No
In US, every tour of duty served or period of service in the forces , is an honor to be mentioned in any CV or whatever.
For Sinkie.....they got to ....hide it and even risk their lives...in trying to complete it!!
I can again
...sleep...well tonight!😆😆😆😆😆😁🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

blurwulf

Like dat also feel hurt? Knn so sensitive meh?
VrRMvT5.gif

orpisia

I am also hurted just like cht.

This sinkie should not disturb the peace of the foreigner HR. If he appliy to GrabFood or Foodpanda or those industries reserved specially for sinkies, that question will not come up!
food delivery is not only open for sinkies

foreigners like PRs also can do

Definitely

Why not? We have an obligation to fulfill. We have a superior to report to. We have to be punctual in our reporting for duty. This is very similar to the working world.
Foreigners never serve NS then end up not punctual, not dutiful and not responsible? :s13:

elijahteo567

The sinkie going to interview should know to call it quits after seeing HR is foreigner. Also can check up the company employee make-up if foreigner or not. No need waste time further. Only newbies wont realize that and complain feel hurt.

Apex01

PAP already betray Singaporeans, especially more the NS guys.

deathan9el

Senior Mentor
A Singaporean who attended a job interview at a multinational corporation was once asked about his two years of national service with the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF).

The question of the foreign human resources manager was: "You wrote in your curriculum vitae that you spent two years with the SAF; what is SAF?"

This story was related by NTUC deputy secretary-general Chee Hong Tat, who spoke on Thursday (July 22) at a virtual masterclass event by Human Capital Singapore on key trends impacting Singapore's economy.

Mr Chee said an important factor that affects the "lived experiences" of local workers is how their employers and HR managers treat them at work.

"These experiences are powerful in shaping perceptions, more so than our policy explanations and statistics. When the emotions in our hearts feel different from the logic in our heads, most people will follow their hearts. It is what makes us human," he added.

"As a proud NSman who had served and defended his country, it was hurtful for him to be asked 'What is SAF?'."

The anecdote illustrates the limitations of a foreign HR manager who is not familiar with Singapore, he said.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-be-recognised-get-competitive-advantage-chee
so.. that's all to it Mr. Chee? nthn' more to add or sense somethin' isn't right?
what now? 🤔

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.