Cordlife Vs Stemcord

Jayles

Butties, need some advice here, maybe this can be a consolidate thread for all parent-to-be........

We can state who went for which coy and get the referrer discount.

I am stuck at this 2 choice, apparently Cordlife seems more stable and have few successful stories whilst Stemcord don't. Of course, Cordlife pricing are much competitive. Both can use CDA for payment. :s8:

I will need to decide by month end to sign up a package~! Thanks in advance for all contribution! :D

Cordlife

Stemcord

BakedCherry

I was stuck in the same dilemma too when i was expecting my 2nd child a few months ago. After speaking to my gynae and friends, it seems that everyone recommends cordlife.

make your own decision or speak to more people lah :)

Bryan540

No.1 : Science and quality of life have improved tremendously therefore lower chances of rare blood disorder.

No 2 : During Labour if the gynae missed something n the cordblood is nt sterile it will b rejected n u will need to pay too.

No.3 why not donate it to the cordblood bank which is free n you will get the cordblood within 1 year if u need it

No.4 If you do not have hereditary blood problems chances r u will nt need it.

No.5 they r sooo damm freaking exp....They use the fear of humans to make them sign up

I too had this dilemma before...after serious consideration i dun need it

galapogos

No.1 : Science and quality of life have improved tremendously therefore lower chances of rare blood disorder.

No 2 : During Labour if the gynae missed something n the cordblood is nt sterile it will b rejected n u will need to pay too.

No.3 why not donate it to the cordblood bank which is free n you will get the cordblood within 1 year if u need it

No.5 they r sooo damm freaking exp....They use the fear of humans to make them sign up

sexpert spotted...

nakorius

And as always, Caveat Emptor. They are private companies. They go down, everything goes down with them.

Jayles

I like point 3..... but human are always selfish..... I told my wife, we keep 1st one for our children, 2 and more all donate to Cord Bank to save ppl....

Thou me and my wife does not have any blood disorder, but we are still thinking and thinking.

Franky speaking, for that premium, it's definately not worth it. The sales will have a cut, to the operation, and directors etc etc.... It is not for the well being of human, but to their benefits... I probably let my wife have the last call. haix... still stuck~! haha

Lucasho

CordLife Vs Stemcord

Hi Jayles,

I banked my child's cord blood with CordLife as they are more established in comparison to the other private cord blood bank. I mean the cost might be higher but at least i know my Child's precious cordblood is safe and ready to be used whenever there is a need for it :)

When are you due? I heard Cordlife is having an event this saturday. Perhaps you can consult their Cordblood banking specialist for a better idea.

Bryan540

I like point 3..... but human are always selfish..... I told my wife, we keep 1st one for our children, 2 and more all donate to Cord Bank to save ppl....

Thou me and my wife does not have any blood disorder, but we are still thinking and thinking.

Franky speaking, for that premium, it's definately not worth it. The sales will have a cut, to the operation, and directors etc etc.... It is not for the well being of human, but to their benefits... I probably let my wife have the last call. haix... still stuck~! haha
pt 3 is free and they will give u priority for the first year....The first yr of the child is crucial... tts all....

even we adults will have some weird sickness coming out...if its meant to b its meant to b....

BakedCherry

Bryan, you're a sexpert :p hahaha..

On a serious note, your point 1 and 4 make you seem pretty uninformed. Sorry lah, i'm brutal here.

I am a scientist by training that's why i'm certain that cord blood will not only be applicable for blood disorders only. Cancers like leukaemia and lymphoma are also some of the diseases that can be treated the support of cord blood. Don't forget the fact these diseases aren't hereditary. Anyone can get these cancers. Besides, researches with stem cells are so advanced now. Therefore the list of diseases will not just end at what it contains today. Do more homework and decide for yourself lah.

From my understanding, cord blood banking now is very affordable because it's partly payable with babybonus. If you can afford to pay for broadband services every month, you can afford to pay for cord blood banking. Whether to bank or not, it's something every parent should consider carefully.

Anyway, my 2cts lah. If don't want to bank for your own kid or family. Please donate. At least help someone. I have a friend who actually paid about $30k for cord blood from the donation bank. His 2yo boy had leukaemia...in my humble opinion, i think it's cheap in exchange for the life of his child.

Up to you to agree or not...

Bryan540

CSB!!! I just sharing with my view n I m nt a v scientific n technical kind of guy.. In fact I v appreciative on u sharing ur knowledge..

In terms of affordability it really depends.. Definitely nt for
The average income or somebody with high commitments... Babybonus alone is nt enuf for the jabs,checkup, pd consultation n Childcare
Fee...Somemore wif 2daughters it's even worse.. One get sick the other sure pass on

BakedCherry

Heee....thanks for not bashing me up for my brutality :p

I understand...Singapore nowadays becoming more and more unlive-able. Damn sian. Hopefully my husband and I won't get another 'accident' :p otherwise jialat for us too. If can afford, at least bank for 1 child because at least got chance for the cord blood to be a match for other children. Seriously, otherwise, please donate. Don't throw hor.

Reggieluke

Gosh did i come into the wrong forum? hahaha i thought i'm in singaporemotherhood forum. But interesting though.

Bryan540

Heee....thanks for not bashing me up for my brutality :p

I understand...Singapore nowadays becoming more and more unlive-able. Damn sian. Hopefully my husband and I won't get another 'accident' :p otherwise jialat for us too. If can afford, at least bank for 1 child because at least got chance for the cord blood to be a match for other children. Seriously, otherwise, please donate. Don't throw hor.
do i sound like somebody who will do the flamming..My reputation ish shooo bad...

Jayles

pt 3 is free and they will give u priority for the first year....The first yr of the child is crucial... tts all....

even we adults will have some weird sickness coming out...if its meant to b its meant to b....

Haha... this is the one i am worried. Not during my child young tender age but 30s and above. But this is a new technology havn't break into 20 years zone~! :s31:

Vitaall

Its really hard to say which one is good, 30 years ago, all insurance policy were good, until recently when some of the policies started to mature and people have problem claiming, then we found out which are the good ones.

Singapore do have the reputation of good control, but after the recent spermgate, I am not so sure anymore.

Anyway, its good to bank it in, as in which one to bank to, there is always a risk , and its a risk i hope i will never have to come face to face with.

I have banked my first child's to Stemcord, second one coming too.

Reggieluke

Was at Suntec for the electronic fair and saw one of the cord blood bank roadshow. I guess cord blood banking is becoming an 'in' thing in singapore.

Jayles

Hi Jayles,

I banked my child's cord blood with CordLife as they are more established in comparison to the other private cord blood bank. I mean the cost might be higher but at least i know my Child's precious cordblood is safe and ready to be used whenever there is a need for it :)

When are you due? I heard Cordlife is having an event this saturday. Perhaps you can consult their Cordblood banking specialist for a better idea.
Thanks! I have decided to go with Cordlife, reason being simple, they have sucessful story and better technology to extract the blood counts.

Anyone need referrer can PM me, or vice versa~! Thanks all~! :)

Jayles

Was at Suntec for the electronic fair and saw one of the cord blood bank roadshow. I guess cord blood banking is becoming an 'in' thing in singapore.
Perhaps due to the fact singaporeans are more KS....

U never know 20 years down the road, what else more can ya cord can do for our children~! :)

Panerex

Digging up this thread.

If something really happen to the child down the road, can the cord blood really be 100% usable ?

What are the situations where cord blood will be required?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.