Desktop Chair Roundup - Ergonomic Chair

fzhfzh

Initially tot so.

But my slipped disc came out again few yrs back as I was carrying something heavy. Mine is S4 to L1, had this since young cause I did a lot of sports.

Embody - Zero pain. Embody don't have a lumbar support piece, it's the whole backframe flexes to the shape you set it. My mom who has a clearly visible S shape spine, severe scoliosis also prefer this.

Aeron's posturefit also good but feel is different and not so comfy on the skin, esp the old Aeron design. At home with shorts, definitely Embody. My Aeron is placed in the office. :o

The old Aeron lumbar is very stiff and feels pretty bad. The new remastered Aeron lumbar support is much more gentle and softer.

The other thing is embody feels really cheap compared to Aeron imo. Aeron design and material wise feels a lot more premium.

testerjp

Ok la, fabric and soft plastic back, more flexi design.
Aeron is mesh and a hard plastic.
Sitting for nearly ten years liao still okay.

I remember read some reviews, some people don't like the old Aeron cause they feel rigid and stiff too. So it's up to the individual.
The bottom frame, metal legs are all of the same material what. :o

fzhfzh

The other thing is your height as well. Embody has a pretty deep minimum seat depth. It’s adjustable but the minimum is deeper than Aeron size b. As an Asian with shorter legs, my back can barely reach the back when sitting straight as well. Probably why I don’t feel much support from embody.

testerjp

U sure or not or never adjust properly?
I'm at the national average height of 174cm.
I find the depth not enough still need to pull out leh. :o

t5c6zqn.png

5QaYMb2.png

fzhfzh

U sure or not or never adjust properly?
I'm at the national average height of 174cm.
I find the depth not enough still need to pull out leh. :o

t5c6zqn.png

5QaYMb2.png

The Aeron chair front part curves downward, the back rest also protrudes out more, so the actual sitting depth is actually shallower than embody.

Nakedtoes

The Aeron chair front part curves downward, the back rest also protrudes out more, so the actual sitting depth is actually shallower than embody.

Perhaps maybe thats is also why i feel embody dun support the back and shoulder as "close" as aeron..

Swiftbladez

$300-$400 chair is also alot. what makes u want to buy this kind of chair. i bought a chair from ikea for $109 and i used them for >10 years.

It's like the saying why spend money on a good mattress. You can just sleep on the floor mah, or those $50 mattresses.

If you sit on your chair just 1 hour a day, $100 is good. $50 also good. Sit on the floor also even better no need waste money. :s13:

For your own health and well being, $1000 + good sitting posture and habits goes a long way (the latter being more important I must admit, you can sit $100 chair and every now and then stand up stretch etc will be good too).

Some investments give you benefits that you can't see but it goes a long long way.

testerjp

I'll go and measure both when I'm free.

My mom is 1.5m and I see her legs resting just nice or it.
What's your height? :o

IntelFlash

Bro, abit don't make sense.
Curved surface actually means longer surface area over the same length leh. :s13:

IntelFlash

Read online reviews betta

Googled and found these top five articles

Aeron versus Embody.
https://www.btod.com/blog/herman-miller-aeron-vs-embody/
https://www.deskadvisor.org/herman-miller-aeron-vs-embody-chair-review/
https://www.quora.com/Is-the-Embody-better-than-the-Aeron
https://www.10desks.com/product-guides/herman-miller-embody-vs-aeron
https://gaminggeekinnovation.com/herman-miller-embody-vs-aeron/

General consensus finds Embody more comfy and acceptable for most. Aeron has a slightly better score in ergonomics.

Both are very good chairs. :)

fzhfzh

Bro, abit don't make sense.
Curved surface actually means longer surface area over the same length leh. :s13:

Your butt can go in more when the surface is curved as the front part is now lower. It does make sense.

IntelFlash

Wasn't your complain is about the depth and distance?
You said that Embody's seat is too long for u even with the minimum depth.

Now Aeron is proven to be as long or even longer.
Plus the new fact from you that it's curved which make it even longer.

Doesn't add up leh. :s13:

fzhfzh

Wasn't your complain is about the depth and distance?
You said that Embody's seat is too long for u even with the minimum depth.

Now Aeron is proven to be as long or even longer.
Plus the new fact from you that it's curved which make it even longer.

Doesn't add up leh. :s13:

I’m talking about the how the seat depth of embody makes it such that if you have a shorter leg, the back support will be weaker, and this makes complete sense with regards to how the curved seat work. I was talking about how I feel when sitting on both chairs, I don’t go measure them. Just go sit for yourself.

Top 8 Ergonomic Office Chairs (Recommended By Experts) (Try it out and let me know)

1) Herman Miller Embody Chair. ...
2) Steelcase Gesture Chair. ...
3) Herman Miller Aeron Chair. ...
4) Haworth Zody Chair. ...
5) Steelcase Leap fabric Chair. ...
6) Herman Miller Sayl Chair. ...
7) Serta Mid-Back Office Chair. ...
8) Alera Elusion Swivel Chair.

sdale1sg

below 500 is can try the chair i sit for 4 years.

Sail chair lor.. saw them selling it at gaincity sugei kudut HQ.

Can go there try. or go their website www.takeaseat.sg

https://www.takeaseat.sg/products/ergonomic-chair-singapore.html

Currently, I am looking for a really good and solid ergonomic chair, and basically spoilt by the choices we have in the market. Ideally I am trying to keep the budget below 2000ish, but am still open to choices. The choices I have in mind are as appended below:

[1] Herman Miller - Aeron - tested at xtra feels good but expensive at 1700 with full configurations
http://www.hermanmiller.com/products/seating/performance-work-chairs/aeron-chairs.html
hero_aeron_chair_3h.jpg

[2] Haworth Zody - dropped

[3] Okamura Contessa - need inputs to find and test
http://www.okamura.jp/en_eu/products/seating/contessa/index.html
http://www.okamura.jp/en_eu/products/seating/contessa/img/contessa_detail03.jpg[.img]

[4] Okamura Baron - dropped

[5] Ergohuman V2 - definitely feels better than Aeron at 600 bucks
[url]http://ergohuman.com/ergohuman-v2-chair-v200hrblk-high-back-with-black-frame-and-mesh/[/url]
[img]http://thehumansolutionblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ergohuman-me7erg-review.jpg

Lai Lai, need help and recommendations to save my backside from the pain. All inputs are welcomed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.