Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread IV

Status
Not open for further replies.

peterchan75

Master Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
4,982
Reaction score
30
Yes it does, but I am just asking why I can't get digital HD on one TV but I can on another even when both TVs are connected via the same method.

You mention somewhere that you only see scrambled signal. This leads me to think that Starhub may no longer broadcast free-to-air digital signal on their cable.

I just bought a tv box with DVB-C last week. :o I may be able to confirm when I get the box this week. :s22:
 

JustDoLor

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
1,329
Reaction score
8
Aiya, he already said he able to tune to the 370MHz scrambled signals (of course can't descramble lah!). So his Philips TV is DVB-C capable lah.....!?

The issue is that the Philips TV somehow did not install channel 5. Normally, even if a program is scrambled, it should still show in the TV list mah... unless it has some special signalling that tell the TV to "hide" it ... so maybe the TV strictly follow the rule..

If I remembered correctly, previously some forumers reported that their DVB-C TV suddenly cannot received digital Mediacorp programs on starhub cable.... not sure what happen now...
 

Henry Ng

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
12,843
Reaction score
17
Aiya, he already said he able to tune to the 370MHz scrambled signals (of course can't descramble lah!). So his Philips TV is DVB-C capable lah.....!?

The issue is that the Philips TV somehow did not install channel 5. Normally, even if a program is scrambled, it should still show in the TV list mah... unless it has some special signalling that tell the TV to "hide" it ... so maybe the TV strictly follow the rule..

If I remembered correctly, previously some forumers reported that their DVB-C TV suddenly cannot received digital Mediacorp programs on starhub cable.... not sure what happen now...

Sooner or later Starhub will shut down cable Tv so also can not use la. May be end 2018 or 2019.
 
Last edited:

Leisure

Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2001
Messages
203
Reaction score
0
DVB-C

From the 4th message in this thread:

mCmXwq0.jpg


Starhub actually carries 3 versions for each FTA channel:

Taking channel 5 as example:
1. 175.25 MHz - Analog SD
2. 642 MHz - Digital SD
3. 370 MHz - Digital HD

My Philips TV is able to receive both (1) & (2) but not (3)

My STB receives only (3) but not (2)

So what dictates whether a device receives (2) or (3)?
 

JustDoLor

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
1,329
Reaction score
8
No idea why the 2 have different preference. Only the manufacturer knows I think.
Maybe you can try to change the TV country settings to something European if available; like Netherlands/Finland/Germany...
 

dexter9898

Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
281
Reaction score
0
Hi All,

I have a puzzling situation:

I have 2 TVs connected to Starhub SCV points and are using DVB-C on both.

On the first TV (Philips 50pft6709) which has a DVB-C tuner, all the FTA digital channels have the word "Analogue" below the Mediacorp logo and the images are definitely SD quality even though the transmission is digital.

For the second TV, I am using a set-top box (Openbox V8 pro) and this works fine in receiving digital full-HD programs. There is no "Analogue" word below the logo.

The frequency used on both are also different. For example, for Channel 5, the freq is 642 MHz on the Philips TV and 370 MHz on the set-top box. I have tried to manually tune to 370 MHz on the Philips TV but I only get SCV scrambled channels.

So my question is why the difference even when both are DVB-C and connected to Starhub SCV points? Can any expert explain please?

Thanks!

All Mediacorp's digital program on Starhub cable are unscrambled. Some TV will not even display the channel numbers for scrambled programmes.

Starhub's cable backend is able to detect what type of "official" set-top box you are using. Currently Ch5 is on 102 for all HD & SD set-top boxes (a year ago 155 is for HD5). The problem lies whether you are directed to the SD video or HD video. :s22:

Like I mentioned so many times, Starhub is pushing all their SD set-top box user to upgrade to HD IPTV stb. They will be ending their SD set-top box service very soon. Sooner than ASO.

For SD video, the analogue logo exists because Starhub is using the video feed meant for their analogue transmission in the cable. This analogue service is mandatory for Starhub by IMDA. The SD video has open captions whereas the HD video is closed captions, so easy way out for them is use the SD video. :D
 
Last edited:

Little_orc

Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
Yup, heard they going to stop installing Starhub cable for new HDB flats. :s12:

IPTV - Yes to 4K streaming.

I have a doubt, why not our gov just upgrade the exiting antenna to receive digital signal so that everyone can continue to use the scv port?
 

dexter9898

Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
281
Reaction score
0
I have a doubt, why not our gov just upgrade the exiting antenna to receive digital signal so that everyone can continue to use the scv port?

Simple - MATV (Rooftop antenna) system requires regular maintenance and if for some reasons, the amplifier spoilt or antenna toppled during or after a heavy downpour. Whole block no TV to watch? Then how? :s12:
 

amazingone

Great Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
56,721
Reaction score
653
I have a doubt, why not our gov just upgrade the exiting antenna to receive digital signal so that everyone can continue to use the scv port?
SCV port transmit digital TV signal via DVB-C, which isn't what the government wants to heavily promote.

The main objective of the introduction of digital DVB-T2 network is to phase out the analogue TV network, to free out bandwidth spectrum for other uses such as 4G LTE/5G network for example.
 

Little_orc

Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
Simple - MATV (Rooftop antenna) system requires regular maintenance and if for some reasons, the amplifier spoilt or antenna toppled during or after a heavy downpour. Whole block no TV to watch? Then how? :s12:

lol this sound like if starhub internet down then how?
 

Little_orc

Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
SCV port transmit digital TV signal via DVB-C, which isn't what the government wants to heavily promote.

The main objective of the introduction of digital DVB-T2 network is to phase out the analogue TV network, to free out bandwidth spectrum for other uses such as 4G LTE/5G network for example.

I see... So SCV port is only transmit DVB-C not T2. Any idea why SCV port only transmit DVB-C? I still think if gov just upgrade the antenna, the SVC port should able to support both C and T2 digital signal.
 

Little_orc

Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
Last night I bought the antenna from below seller, After installed and search only digital channel, I was soooo shocked of the clear HD image. But somehow I dunno where to navigate the "signal strength/quality" option and the subtitle options. One of my TV able to see subtitle but another one cant see.

"https://carousell.com/p/digital-tv-antenna-145803839/?ref=search&ref_query=digital%20antenna&ref_referrer=%2Fsearch%2Fproducts%2F%3Fquery%3Ddigital%2520antenna%26ref_querySource%3Dss_dropdown%26ref_suggestionSource%3Dtype_suggest&ref_reqId=pmnkxcmXBX9cYH8ahyNzka8Aqspepb3F&ref_querySource=ss_dropdown&ref_suggestionSource=type_suggest"
 

cscs3

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2000
Messages
21,138
Reaction score
25
Simple - MATV (Rooftop antenna) system requires regular maintenance and if for some reasons, the amplifier spoilt or antenna toppled during or after a heavy downpour. Whole block no TV to watch? Then how? :s12:

No different from SCV point as they have "amplifier" somewhere around the block of building.

No different to digital transmittion too as there is transmittion "cell" by area too.

If SMRT can have flood at one station result in serveral stations closed. Anything else can happen too.
 

cscs3

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2000
Messages
21,138
Reaction score
25
lol this sound like if starhub internet down then how?

You will have more complication then this. For example, if you want SCV, and do not want Starhub fiber boardband. Then how? Same true goes to Singtel.
 

amazingone

Great Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
56,721
Reaction score
653
I see... So SCV port is only transmit DVB-C not T2. Any idea why SCV port only transmit DVB-C? I still think if gov just upgrade the antenna, the SVC port should able to support both C and T2 digital signal.
The SCV port gets its signal through underground cables connected to StarHub infrastructure, and not through antenna on the roof. Therefore upgrading the antenna isn't a solution because it's of a different standard.

The C in DVB-C stands for Cable, meaning digital signal goes through cable. Whereas, the T in DVB-T2 stands for Terrestrial, meaning digital signal goes through via air.

Also, StarHub will be discontinuing cable services by 2020 and will be fully fibre after that, as the cable network lease period has been extended to 2020(originally cable network lease ends in 2017) and StarHub will unlikely renew the lease again.
 

Little_orc

Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
The SCV port gets its signal through underground cables connected to StarHub infrastructure, and not through antenna on the roof. Therefore upgrading the antenna isn't a solution because it's of a different standard.

The C in DVB-C stands for Cable, meaning digital signal goes through cable. Whereas, the T in DVB-T2 stands for Terrestrial, meaning digital signal goes through via air.

Also, StarHub will be discontinuing cable services by 2020 and will be fully fibre after that, as the cable network lease period has been extended to 2020(originally cable network lease ends in 2017) and StarHub will unlikely renew the lease again.

thanks for your clear explanation!!!:eek::eek::eek:
 

ralliart12

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2003
Messages
8,377
Reaction score
8
Anybody experiencing very inconsistent volumes in Channel 8’s volume?
 

dexter9898

Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
281
Reaction score
0
The SCV port gets its signal through underground cables connected to StarHub infrastructure, and not through antenna on the roof. Therefore upgrading the antenna isn't a solution because it's of a different standard.

The C in DVB-C stands for Cable, meaning digital signal goes through cable. Whereas, the T in DVB-T2 stands for Terrestrial, meaning digital signal goes through via air.

Also, StarHub will be discontinuing cable services by 2020 and will be fully fibre after that, as the cable network lease period has been extended to 2020(originally cable network lease ends in 2017) and StarHub will unlikely renew the lease again.

Heard that those residential buildings that will TOP in the later half of this year won't have any SCV point in the flats anymore. :s22:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top