Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

Status
Not open for further replies.

mingfreakrsx

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
1,748
Reaction score
0
The only sure way is to try, as officially MediaCorp already said the outdoor signals are already available islandwide, so for indoors it really depends on the facing of your antenna and your building level/facing.
I see, thanks for the info! :)
 

mingfreakrsx

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
1,748
Reaction score
0
where do you stay bro ? i got field data from many bros bought my receiver.

Bros from johor bahru that bought my receiver also can receive all 15 dvbt2 mediacorpse channels :D enjoying 1080hd transmission song dah :s13:

Here's a map view of my house location distance:
sWZ2R9o
( Image backup link if it doesn't work: imgur: the simple image sharer )

The blue circle points to where my house location is approximately at(Yishun South), while the orange circle points to the neighborhood area where there's DVB-T2 indoor-ready broadcast( Ang Mo Kio).

Am I able to get a relatively good indoor signal? Look forward to your field data if it applies to my situation. Thanks! :)
 

tan1688

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
1,750
Reaction score
1
Yishun should not be a problem, look at map directly north the bros at johor, permas jaya area already enjoying sg mediacorpse 1080hd dvbt2 transmission.
 

Kiwi8

Honorary Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
May 3, 2001
Messages
114,242
Reaction score
548
Hi, i'm new to this DVB-T2 thing, my dad asked me to help him with it. Apparently the set is unable to detect certain channels like "Channel U and OKTO". Can someone help?

I'm using this brand:
DVB-T2 Car Receiver-Digital TV for Car | SYTA TECHNOLOGY LIMITED

U might have tuned to the DVB-T signals instead, which only have HD5, CH5, CH8, CNA.

Your set probably does not comply with DVB-T2 lite (version 1.3.1) which is a requirement to the reception of MediaCorp DVB-T2 signals.
 

mingfreakrsx

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
1,748
Reaction score
0
Yishun should not be a problem, look at map directly north the bros at johor, permas jaya area already enjoying sg mediacorpse 1080hd dvbt2 transmission.
I see, may I know if they are using outdoor antenna or indoor antenna to receive the digital T2 signals, as outdoor reception is already available islandwide and my intention is to use an indoor antenna to receive the T2 signals.

:)
 

Darrus

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
85
Reaction score
0
U might have tuned to the DVB-T signals instead, which only have HD5, CH5, CH8, CNA.

Your set probably does not comply with DVB-T2 lite (version 1.3.1) which is a requirement to the reception of MediaCorp DVB-T2 signals.

Oh, thanks~ Isit possible to update to that version?
 

Kiwi8

Honorary Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
May 3, 2001
Messages
114,242
Reaction score
548
Oh, thanks~ Isit possible to update to that version?

Dvb t2 lite does not seem to be possible with just firmware upgrade and needs hardware upgrade too
 

tan1688

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
1,750
Reaction score
1
I see, may I know if they are using outdoor antenna or indoor antenna to receive the digital T2 signals, as outdoor reception is already available islandwide and my intention is to use an indoor antenna to receive the T2 signals.
:)

sorry bro, i do not know what antenna they are using. johor bros just feedback to me can receive sg channels and get a few more sets from me =:p
 

tan1688

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
1,750
Reaction score
1
Hi, i'm new to this DVB-T2 thing, my dad asked me to help him with it. Apparently the set is unable to detect certain channels like "Channel U and OKTO". Can someone help?

I'm using this brand:
DVB-T2 Car Receiver-Digital TV for Car | SYTA TECHNOLOGY LIMITED

hi bro, can i enquire what type of monitor/lcd screen you using to receive digital broadcast for car ? what type of input does the monitor/lcd screen take ?

I looking for those 7"/8"/10" china tablets, thought to use them as monitor/lcd watch dvbt2 inside car, but tablets hdmi is output only, the tablets that i found cannot take audio video input signals (be it HDMI, Component, Composite-S)

LCD monitor is just too large and bulky, tablet is perfect.
 

mrsun18

Master Member
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
2,809
Reaction score
0
...

Your set probably does not comply with DVB-T2 lite (version 1.3.1) which is a requirement to the reception of MediaCorp DVB-T2 signals.
Quote: "The additional profile on DVB-T2 Lite for mobile reception is an optional requirement in the Singapore TS DVB-T2 IRD as there is no mobile receiver yet to be available readily."

Source: Page 3 http://www.mda.gov.sg/RegulationsAndLicensing/Consultation/Documents/Consultation%20Papers/Clarification%20Issued%20to%20IDAMDA%20TS%20DVBT2%20IRD.pdf

In other words, support for the DVB-T2 Lite is optional in Sg standard and MediaCorp don't broadcast for mobile reception.
 

mrsun18

Master Member
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
2,809
Reaction score
0
sorry bro, i do not know what antenna they are using. johor bros just feedback to me can receive sg channels and get a few more sets from me =:p
Outdoor antennae erected high up to receive sg analogue tv.
 

mrsun18

Master Member
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
2,809
Reaction score
0
Hi, i'm new to this DVB-T2 thing, my dad asked me to help him with it. Apparently the set is unable to detect certain channels like "Channel U and OKTO". Can someone help?

I'm using this brand:
DVB-T2 Car Receiver-Digital TV for Car | SYTA TECHNOLOGY LIMITED
More info please on the channels that can be received, with frequency and/or channel no. if available.

The set probably doesn't comply with Sg standard - this is very common with untested sets.
 

Darrus

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
85
Reaction score
0
hi bro, can i enquire what type of monitor/lcd screen you using to receive digital broadcast for car ? what type of input does the monitor/lcd screen take ?

I looking for those 7"/8"/10" china tablets, thought to use them as monitor/lcd watch dvbt2 inside car, but tablets hdmi is output only, the tablets that i found cannot take audio video input signals (be it HDMI, Component, Composite-S)

LCD monitor is just too large and bulky, tablet is perfect.

DV-7620(1).jpg


Try this?
 

mzabu25

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
246
Reaction score
0
Anyone with luck at Sengkang? :o

TV Model : LG 47LM6700

Location: Sengkang (Rivervale Drive)

Antenna: HDB MATV (swap the MATV cable with SCV from service inlet)

Set-Top Box: China Brand DVB-T2

Received Channels: HD5, HD8, Suria HD, VAS HD, CNA, Ch 5, Ch 8, Ch U, Okto, Test 0,1,2,3.

When directly connected to the TV (DVB-T) Received: HD5, Ch 5, Ch 8, Ch U, Okto, VAS, & TV2, TV3, TV9, RCTI, SCTV
 

Kiwi8

Honorary Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
May 3, 2001
Messages
114,242
Reaction score
548
Quote: "The additional profile on DVB-T2 Lite for mobile reception is an optional requirement in the Singapore TS DVB-T2 IRD as there is no mobile receiver yet to be available readily."

Source: Page 3 http://www.mda.gov.sg/RegulationsAndLicensing/Consultation/Documents/Consultation%20Papers/Clarification%20Issued%20to%20IDAMDA%20TS%20DVBT2%20IRD.pdf

In other words, support for the DVB-T2 Lite is optional in Sg standard and MediaCorp don't broadcast for mobile reception.
Yah but as long as the DVB-T2 receiver is compliant to v1.3.1, it will be able to support the Singapore standard which uses v1.3.1 too.
 

tatsit

Honorary Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
130,263
Reaction score
621
TV Model : LG 47LM6700

Location: Sengkang (Rivervale Drive)

Antenna: HDB MATV (swap the MATV cable with SCV from service inlet)

Set-Top Box: China Brand DVB-T2

Received Channels: HD5, HD8, Suria HD, VAS HD, CNA, Ch 5, Ch 8, Ch U, Okto, Test 0,1,2,3.

When directly connected to the TV (DVB-T) Received: HD5, Ch 5, Ch 8, Ch U, Okto, VAS, & TV2, TV3, TV9, RCTI, SCTV

got a sample clip from your stb?
 

precise

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
525
Reaction score
0
TV Model : LG 47LM6700

Location: Sengkang (Rivervale Drive)

Antenna: HDB MATV (swap the MATV cable with SCV from service inlet)

Set-Top Box: China Brand DVB-T2

Received Channels: HD5, HD8, Suria HD, VAS HD, CNA, Ch 5, Ch 8, Ch U, Okto, Test 0,1,2,3.

When directly connected to the TV (DVB-T) Received: HD5, Ch 5, Ch 8, Ch U, Okto, VAS, & TV2, TV3, TV9, RCTI, SCTV

Got exactly the same set top box with margon 2.1. It works!!

Received channels : HD5, HD8, Suria HD, VAS HD, CNA, Ch 5, Ch 8, Ch U, Okto, Test 0,1,2,3.

Location : Tampines
 

MoneyFace =p

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2010
Messages
34,810
Reaction score
9
TV Model : LG 47LM6700

Location: Sengkang (Rivervale Drive)

Antenna: HDB MATV (swap the MATV cable with SCV from service inlet)

Set-Top Box: China Brand DVB-T2

Received Channels: HD5, HD8, Suria HD, VAS HD, CNA, Ch 5, Ch 8, Ch U, Okto, Test 0,1,2,3.

When directly connected to the TV (DVB-T) Received: HD5, Ch 5, Ch 8, Ch U, Okto, VAS, & TV2, TV3, TV9, RCTI, SCTV
How to do it manually? (PM me if not convenient to post here) :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top