Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

Status
Not open for further replies.

icanvote

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
592
Reaction score
0
new to stb thing. just cancelled my mio subscription (becoz i only watch c5 n c8). so bought tis thing below yesterday. any1 hv tis too ?
20140706_200152_zps829c54b9.png

still xploring tis thing. c8 receiving gd but c5 signal shuttling(signal in n out frequently). any1 knows how to fix it ?
tried recording the tv program n playback on pc, got video but no audio. any1 knows wat is the problem ? stay in bt batok.

problems solved.
moved antenna near to window solving signals fluctuate problem.
got video but no audio problem, solved by convert the file (ts format) to avi format (or other common formats)
 

ccchin

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
85
Reaction score
0
problems solved.
moved antenna near to window solving signals fluctuate problem.
got video but no audio problem, solved by convert the file (ts format) to avi format (or other common formats)

I am surprised that you need to do that to get the signals in bukit batok. Either the draco antenna is awful or faulty or the signals still does not permeate deep into the hdb flats. I suspect it is the former since my amazon antenna is able to get a signal w/o placing it near the window at bukit merah.
 

kendrick272

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
37,291
Reaction score
10
This really sucks! I think i have to get an extra stb from SH for my room :(
 

crazyliao

Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2005
Messages
8,226
Reaction score
12
Why not get the Amazon antenna? Redhill and Telok Blangah sure can get signal. I didn't even have to try.



the Amazon antenna cost around S$70 if I am not wrong. is so expensive where this one only S$29, less than half the price!!


but just want to ensure it work if not, is a waste of money again.
 

jaloon

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2001
Messages
2,066
Reaction score
1
but just want to ensure it work if not, is a waste of money again.
I have the high-performance version from Amazon that is un-powered, and it works for receiving the DVB-T2 channels. TV is Sony 50W704A with DVB-T2 tuner. Also picked up a lot of scrambled channels.
 

b00mxer

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
538
Reaction score
0
I have the high-performance version from Amazon that is un-powered, and it works for receiving the DVB-T2 channels. TV is Sony 50W704A with DVB-T2 tuner. Also picked up a lot of scrambled channels.

High floor or low floor.
 

LxIxVxE

Senior Mentor
Joined
Nov 4, 2000
Messages
320,610
Reaction score
0
can i feed 2 digital antenna into 1 tv?

of cos u can
use a tv splitter as a combiner
best is use identical antennas

trial and error to find the best placement for best signal

for digital channels only, think not suitable for analog channels

maybe can read up more by googling for ganging antenna
 

ccchin

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
85
Reaction score
0
of cos u can
use a tv splitter as a combiner
best is use identical antennas

trial and error to find the best placement for best signal

for digital channels only, think not suitable for analog channels

maybe can read up more by googling for ganging antenna

This method may cause image distortion due to phase shift in signals. Need additional electronics to ensure the 2 digital signals are in phase. One good antenna is better than two. :s13:
 
Last edited:

tiankongsky

Junior Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Hi guys I tried tuning my tv. But I only have channel 5, tv1 (?) that is clear. Slightly shaky channel 8 and okto. But no channel U and channel newsasia .
I connected the cable from the tv box thing that is on the wall. Sorry I'm bad with the technical terms?
Am I missing something??
I really want to get all the FTA channels.
P.S : I have the starhub adverts on my tv too.
 

LxIxVxE

Senior Mentor
Joined
Nov 4, 2000
Messages
320,610
Reaction score
0
ccchin said:
This method may cause image distortion due to phase shift in signals. Need additional electronics to ensure the 2 digital signals are in phase. One good antenna is better than two. :s13:

have played with combined antenna before
didn't encounter any side effect on video quality and no noticeable improvement either since signal already max with a single cheapo antenna

anyway, he can always read up more online, experience it himself and learn
 

ACeRyan

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2007
Messages
1,059
Reaction score
0
Hi guys I tried tuning my tv. But I only have channel 5, tv1 (?) that is clear. Slightly shaky channel 8 and okto. But no channel U and channel newsasia .
I connected the cable from the tv box thing that is on the wall. Sorry I'm bad with the technical terms?
Am I missing something??
I really want to get all the FTA channels.
P.S : I have the starhub adverts on my tv too.

Are you using a DVB-T2 TV to receive?
Or a DVB-T2 set-top box?

If you want to receive the new HD channels you have to have either one of the above, and you need an indoor antenna. Connecting to the wall will not get you FTA HD channels.
 

ACeRyan

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2007
Messages
1,059
Reaction score
0
thanks for the price.

my place near redhill and only 3-4Q then can get the digital signal. if I install the booster antenna now, can it be sure I will receive all the digital channels??

We haven't tested in Redhill yet as none of us is staying there.
However we believe there shouldn't be any issue as even Simei, Tampines is able to receive.

Maybe later on when other users have tested in Redhill we can share the results here.

Can also try bro kmchow98's Amazon recommendation :)

As for the AC Ryan booster antenna, is it able to use if I were to just connect to my T2 TV?

:)

Yes bro you can just connect it straight to your T2 TV.
 

Lucky123

Master Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
2,974
Reaction score
2
of cos u can
use a tv splitter as a combiner
best is use identical antennas

trial and error to find the best placement for best signal

for digital channels only, think not suitable for analog channels

maybe can read up more by googling for ganging antenna

Using splitters for antenna will not improve the signal, in fact it might deteriorate the signal. 2 antennae receiver works on diversity reception which each antenna has to run on a separate tuner chip. It is mostly used for mobile receivers such as those installed in the cars to improve on the reception.
 

ccchin

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
85
Reaction score
0
have played with combined antenna before
didn't encounter any side effect on video quality and no noticeable improvement either since signal already max with a single cheapo antenna

anyway, he can always read up more online, experience it himself and learn

Definitely agreed with your points on experience and learning. :)

After googling on ganging antenna, found out that antenna signal phase shift can be compensated by re-positioning the antenna (via some guidelines) until both signals are in phase, thus resulting in signal gain.

There are other criterias but seriously, this is a project for the techies. And recommended for areas where reception is so poor that a single antenna is unable to get a stable reception.
 

FatalityV

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
24,898
Reaction score
0
problems solved.
moved antenna near to window solving signals fluctuate problem.
got video but no audio problem, solved by convert the file (ts format) to avi format (or other common formats)

sorry ah

where did you pick it u p from? looking to get myself one of these too
 

tiankongsky

Junior Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I just plug it into the wall socket?
Where do I get the set top box?
Also I must get an indoor antenna?
I'm so confused @.@
 

Windowlover

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
1,700
Reaction score
1
After using for months, realise quality signal 100% but signal strength 55%, any effect for pictures quality ?:s22:
 

sgmem88

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
1,126
Reaction score
6
Are you using a DVB-T2 TV to receive?
Or a DVB-T2 set-top box?

If you want to receive the new HD channels you have to have either one of the above, and you need an indoor antenna. Connecting to the wall will not get you FTA HD channels.

would like to correct the above...

Connecting to the SCV point on wall will not get you FTA HD channels.
Connecting to the TV(aka MATV) point on wall MAY get you FTA HD channels....but how long it can last, don't know...

a happy FTA HD channels user connecting DVB-T2 TV to MATV point on wall... :D
 

stamina

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
1,639
Reaction score
0
would like to correct the above...

Connecting to the SCV point on wall will not get you FTA HD channels.
Connecting to the TV(aka MATV) point on wall MAY get you FTA HD channels....but how long it can last, don't know...

a happy FTA HD channels user connecting DVB-T2 TV to MATV point on wall... :D
Not all hdb flats are installed with Master rooftop antenna right? My mums old flat has, my new 2 year old flat dnt have.how about those new flats currently being build?
 

b00mxer

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
538
Reaction score
0
Not all hdb flats are installed with Master rooftop antenna right? My mums old flat has, my new 2 year old flat dnt have.how about those new flats currently being build?

We should educate everyone that DVB-T2 reception is only reliable using your OWN indoor antenna. MATV or SCV points are currently not the official recommended way to receive them.

And you are right about MATV antennas. They're only available on older flats. Newer ones phased out already. New flats now depend tv reception via scv point which only supports DVB-C and analog currently. Not DVB-T2 unfortunately.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top