Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Apparatus

High Supremacy Member
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
32,240
Reaction score
845
Re

can they still receive analogue(SD) signal?


Yes they can. I even connect the antenna cables direct to the wall outlet and still no digital signal. It was okay for many months. It's still not okay now.

Don't tell me HDB/Mediacorp stop it in some manner in order to promote their set top box?
 
Last edited:

coyote

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2000
Messages
28,739
Reaction score
678
Yes they can. I even connect the antenna cables direct to the wall outlet and still no digital signal. It was okay for many months. It's still not okay now.

Don't tell me HDB/Mediacorp stop it in some manner in order to promote their set top box?


Cannot be they spend money to hire people to tear down the antenna. More likely, thunder storm brought it down for Good.
 

Apparatus

High Supremacy Member
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
32,240
Reaction score
845
Re

Finally, went to HN and bought the MARGON Home+ 2.0 Indoor Antenna ($39) and now can watch digital tv leow
 

syak_88

Junior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Can u guys get TV1? I using the normal cheapo antenna and can get the mediacorp HD channels with no problems, but my parents wants malaysia's TV 1...

And just wondering, i can get ntv7 and sctv but the quality sucks so much its not watchable...Theres colour and sound is good but very grainy. Do u guys think if i get the amazon antenna, it will be much better?

Staying at bukit batok east first storey.
 

Jeremy1

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2006
Messages
39,533
Reaction score
367
Can u guys get TV1? I using the normal cheapo antenna and can get the mediacorp HD channels with no problems, but my parents wants malaysia's TV 1...

And just wondering, i can get ntv7 and sctv but the quality sucks so much its not watchable...Theres colour and sound is good but very grainy. Do u guys think if i get the amazon antenna, it will be much better?

Staying at bukit batok east first storey.

Staying in same place as me but I stay on the top storey.

I still waiting for my antenna to be deliver to me so cannot tell you.
 

mrclubbie

High Honorary Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
199,926
Reaction score
5,028
Can u guys get TV1? I using the normal cheapo antenna and can get the mediacorp HD channels with no problems, but my parents wants malaysia's TV 1...

And just wondering, i can get ntv7 and sctv but the quality sucks so much its not watchable...Theres colour and sound is good but very grainy. Do u guys think if i get the amazon antenna, it will be much better?

Staying at bukit batok east first storey.

I think it is due to location reason? SCTV quality shouldn't be so bad.
 

BrOwnTeddy

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
31,075
Reaction score
1,192
i just brought AverMedia AVerTV Hybrid Volar T2 (AVerMedia AVerTV Global - TV Tuners, Live IPTV Streaming Encoder, Video Capture Card, Media Player and Multimedia Products - AVerTV Hybrid Volar T2)

can receive all those dvb-t2 channels? scan here scan there like nothing leh.
1) Your DVB-T2 card MUST connect to an external antenna to receive DVB-T2 signals for now. YOU CANNOT CONNECT YOUR DVB-T2 CARD TO YOUR SCV POINT AND EXPECT TO RECEIVE DVB-T2 SIGNALS!

SCV Point looks like this:
scv.jpg


MATV Point looks like this:
psw122.gif


A lot of the MATV points got disabled when SCV rolled out cabling in Singapore over 20 years ago. HDB is also no longer maintaining the MATV points so your best bet is still using a DIY antenna.

2) DVB-T2 signals are not available islandwide now and are only available at certain places. Refer to this map:
rollout_map.jpg


3) The other 2 ways you can receive DVB-T2 channels are:
- Subscribe to Singtel MiOTV
- Subscribe to Starhub Cable TV
(ie, PAY MONEY)
 
Last edited:

Teo Ming Ern

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
10,936
Reaction score
23
Sorry subscribe to Starhub still cannot get all the HD channels... only HD 5 is available for Starhub.
 

petetherock

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
8,096
Reaction score
79
1)
YOU CANNOT CONNECT YOUR DVB-T2 CARD TO YOUR SCV POINT AND EXPECT TO RECEIVE DVB-T2 SIGNALS!

SCV Point looks like this:
scv.jpg


MATV Point looks like this:
psw122.gif


A lot of the MATV points got disabled when SCV rolled out cabling in Singapore over 20 years ago. HDB is also no longer maintaining the MATV points so your best bet is still using a DIY antenna.

2) DVB-T2 signals are not available islandwide now and are only available at certain places. Refer to this map:
rollout_map.jpg


3) The other 2 ways you can receive DVB-T2 channels are:
- Subscribe to Singtel MiOTV
- Subscribe to Starhub Cable TV
(ie, PAY MONEY)


Good post, will add this to the start of this thread.
 

chunlianghere

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Messages
6,089
Reaction score
0
1) Your DVB-T2 card MUST connect to an external antenna to receive DVB-T2 signals for now. YOU CANNOT CONNECT YOUR DVB-T2 CARD TO YOUR SCV POINT AND EXPECT TO RECEIVE DVB-T2 SIGNALS!

SCV Point looks like this:
scv.jpg


MATV Point looks like this:
psw122.gif


A lot of the MATV points got disabled when SCV rolled out cabling in Singapore over 20 years ago. HDB is also no longer maintaining the MATV points so your best bet is still using a DIY antenna.

2) DVB-T2 signals are not available islandwide now and are only available at certain places. Refer to this map:
rollout_map.jpg


3) The other 2 ways you can receive DVB-T2 channels are:
- Subscribe to Singtel MiOTV
- Subscribe to Starhub Cable TV
(ie, PAY MONEY)

err.. i using the antenna given.

saw another tat all avermedia t2 will not work in spore. sian!
 

arcturuz

Greater Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2001
Messages
86,867
Reaction score
455
Sorry subscribe to Starhub still cannot get all the HD channels... only HD 5 is available for Starhub.

damn pissed off so long still no Ch 8 HD

that time I complain to starhub, their CSO keep insisting CH 103 is HD

stupid
 

hoonming

Master Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2000
Messages
3,268
Reaction score
0
Just to share with all.

Bought Soundtech VHF/UHF antenna from Giant IMM @ $15.90

Location : Jurong West Street 42, 4th storey.

Result : Ch 5 HD, Ch 8 HD, Suria HD, Vasantham HD, CNA SD, Ch U SD & Okto SD.

Happy so far. :)
 

ghost_83

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
1,576
Reaction score
0
I also want to check any bros have any luck with the digital signals at Chinatown area?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top