Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

viv4080

I just bought a Margon 2.0 antennae. I stayed in Toa Payoh, with window facing south direction. Place the antennae near the window, and receive the 4 DVB-T channels (my TV only has DVB-T) and 11 analogue channels.

Even with window closed and curtain drawn, and still get signal strength of 90% and quality of 80%.

One of the analogue channels is SCTV (Channel 47). They are even showing live League Cup semi final on Wed & Thur morning. Any bros know whether SCTV is broadcasting in digital format? If yes, will be worth to buy the DVB-T2 box.

pjs

I just bought a Margon 2.0 antennae. I stayed in Toa Payoh, with window facing south direction. Place the antennae near the window, and receive the 4 DVB-T channels (my TV only has DVB-T) and 11 analogue channels.

Even with window closed and curtain drawn, and still get signal strength of 90% and quality of 80%.

One of the analogue channels is SCTV (Channel 47). They are even showing live League Cup semi final on Wed & Thur morning. Any bros know whether SCTV is broadcasting in digital format? If yes, will be worth to buy the DVB-T2 box.

Yes SCTV is on DVB-T2. Also Indosiar which has Live EPL games sometimes

Edited typo

leongws

Where u bought the margon antenna from. Deciding between this or daiyo. Unable to get signal with Draco stb at living room. Bedroom can receive though

leongws

AMK NTUC. $39.00

Same as the place I bought the draco stb. Any special reason why u bought the margon instead of daiyo antenna? I saw both selling at amk ntuc. Anymore left on the shelf after u purchased it? Margon antenna sounds good. Don't know want to buy margon or daiyo antenna now.

viv4080

Same as the place I bought the draco stb. Any special reason why u bought the margon instead of daiyo antenna? I saw both selling at amk ntuc. Anymore left on the shelf after u purchased it? Margon antenna sounds good. Don't know want to buy margon or daiyo antenna now.

Why I choose Margon:
1. It is cheaper
2. The Margon website indicates that the cable is 3.5 m long. This is the minimum length that I need as my TV is quite far away from the window. I cannot find any info on the cable length for Daiyo antennae on its website nor on the packaging.
3. Some bro use this antennae successfully in Bedok area. I stayed in TP, so should have a good chance to make it work too.

There is 1 more unit on the shelf after my purchase. Where are you staying, and direction of the antennae will be facing.

BTW, I just placed the Margon antennae in a vertical position on a table just besides the window.

kssk88

New in this area and just sharing,

I bought a Panasonic E6S and using a ~10 yr old Nushi antenna.

No problem getting all 7 T2 and 4 T channels.

Even a 7" antenna from USB stick works fine although unstable on far end of house.

Farrer Road area

bhwong

I read that LG Time Machine can only record from analog signal (RF and Composite Video) due to copyright issue. Thus, can any LG owners confirm that Time Machine can record from DVB-T2 directly? How can you tell it's recording from DVB-T2 and not from Analog broadcasting?

btw, does LG smart TV also playback rmvb files and download apps from Google Play Store?

lax

I read that LG Time Machine can only record from analog signal (RF and Composite Video) due to copyright issue. Thus, can any LG owners confirm that Time Machine can record from DVB-T2 directly? How can you tell it's recording from DVB-T2 and not from Analog broadcasting?

btw, does LG smart TV also playback rmvb files and download apps from Google Play Store?

100% chop double confirm chop can record from DVB-T2, I have an LG LA740T and I have tested it already, just prepare a really huge portable HDD at least 1TB I enable High quality record so file size is rather large but is as what you see on TV. Oh HDD better is only for TV only as LG a bit le chey is that it sort of format it for TV use, computer seem unable to read it. Maybe I too noob haven figure this out yet. How you tell ehh, I only have DVB-T2 signal no analog can't be bothered to scan it so canot be analog loh and you can see the HD logo loh.

leongws

Why I choose Margon:
1. It is cheaper
2. The Margon website indicates that the cable is 3.5 m long. This is the minimum length that I need as my TV is quite far away from the window. I cannot find any info on the cable length for Daiyo antennae on its website nor on the packaging.
3. Some bro use this antennae successfully in Bedok area. I stayed in TP, so should have a good chance to make it work too.

There is 1 more unit on the shelf after my purchase. Where are you staying, and direction of the antennae will be facing.

BTW, I just placed the Margon antennae in a vertical position on a table just besides the window.

I stay at yishun and my living room windows is facing south. My room window is facing north. Maybe that's why I can get signal in my room using the supplied draco antenna. Anyway, will be getting the margon maybe tomorrow to try out. Thanks for the info

radioshack

Those using the Daiyo EU 1702. did you connect the antenna to a electrical power point or connect directly to the TV/Set top Box

Henry Ng

Was at West Mall Harvey Norman earlier and saw a TV connected to the Draco Box/Draco Provided Antenna......and the TV has 5 HD switched on....the TV display was inside Harvey Norman....am surprised the indoor signals are so strong.

Signal strong is good right?

Henry Ng

Short answer is ... you can't

If your home dont have hdb rooftop antenna socket then you need to use uhf antenna

The digital antenna without set top box is only $60 and with STB is $129. No hurry at all and can still wait. Do not understand why so many rushing to buy?
HD is no big deal at all. Do not rush.

mrsun18

Hi, you post seems to have attracted a lot of questions. Here's another one: I am curious to know the quality of your analogue tv reception.

Windowlover

I have a new TV buy where can I know how to make a antenna for receiving digital channels,,, anyone can share. I thought of buy one, any recommendation ?

mrsun18

HAZZZZIII I have in earlier post mentioned that you DO NOT NEED repeat DO NOT NEED special "digital" antenna to receive DVBT signal ANY decent UHF antenna will but than do dun go buy those super cheapo type lah.
There is no need to repeat what has been said:s13::s13:

The HDB MATV is very very cable of receiving DVBT, only problem is the cable needs to be replace to RG6 cat at least for increase bandwidth of DVBT transmission...
MATV, including HDB's is more than just RG6... The bandwidth of an UHF analogue tv channel is 8MHz. Chan 38, now used for the T broadcast, is shared by 4 T channels. DVB needs less bandwidth for transmission, thanks to data compression.

viv4080

Hi, you post seems to have attracted a lot of questions. Here's another one: I am curious to know the quality of your analogue tv reception.

Analogue TV reception is not good. Ch 5 & 8 are almost washed out. Ch U, Octo and CNA are better, but still snowy picture. SCTV (Indo channel) is only slightly worse compared to Ch U/Octo/CNA, but way better than Ch 5 & 8.

This Margon antennae is very sensitive. After fiddling with the placement, I have difficulty to get back the sweet spot again. The DTV channels are still there, just that signal quality keep swinging from 40% to 90%.

Just to add, even the HDB MATV does not give good quality pictures on analogue channels. But, it is much better than the Margon.

viv4080

Yes SCTV is on DVB-T2. Also Indosiar when has Live EPL games sometimes

I have try to scan for DVB-T on Ch 48, but cannot get anything. Chances of getting DVB-T2 (I will need to buy DVB-T2 box) channels are pretty slim.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.