Do u find the older flat 3rm hdb flat bedroom are much spacious than 4rm flat bedroom?

Laneige

Didn’t they even feature units that owners hacked the kitchen
If rooms n places r big then home owners no need do all these extra things to give illusion that the house is more spacious

Coffeelix

New bto put one bed

No space liao
A friend bot a 4 room bto after her sers.
The overall size is smaller than the 1990 built 3 room.
Very cramp: very small living n dining and kitchen. All bedrooms are so tiny.
Bto is Very very pathetic

Coffeelix

ah gui actually prefer the older design, much more airy and brighter

the new designs suck badly
New flats now don’t have good ventilations cos flats are built closely together: the 1970 flats built with flats that had huge car parks between each block.

Coffeelix

Didn’t they even feature units that owners hacked the kitchen
If rooms n places r big then home owners no need do all these extra things to give illusion that the house is more spacious
I m wondering, if you buy a 4 room corner, can you buy a 4 room next door corridor unit or 3 room next door unit?

1982-1994

I m wondering, if you buy a 4 room corner, can you buy a 4 room next door corridor unit or 3 room next door unit?
Can single buy dual key HDB?
As long as your income is strong enough, you can buy it as a single owner. However, you will not be eligible for any grants! 7 Jun 2020

Orionz

1970s 5-room Standard 117sqm

aYBm3CZ.png

1980s 5-room Improved 121sqm

tt2QRpK.png

1980s 5-room Model A 133sqm

Ssz1B2m.png

1990s 5-room Improved 121sqm

5ZO6jvl.png

Late 1990s 5-room Improved 120sqm

YrYMU6z.png

Early 2000s 5-room Improved 111sqm

z2zXa3e.png

2000s 5-room 107sqm

HoyzjEK.png

New BTO 5-room 112sqm...

3I6UsKG.jpg
dedicated bomb shelter is ******* lame
they should go back to the old school collective shelter model
the risk of an unexpected air raid with all our diplomacy and modern tech today is so low

Shion

Senior Mentor
The rectangular layout in older hdb is to guarantee air flows from north to south

the whole unit is ventilated. Look at the current layout

Yup, windows are on both sides of the house. Current layout, windows are all facing one side.

But anyway some will complain they wont want windows along corridors so...

testart

Yup, windows are on both sides of the house. Current layout, windows are all facing one side.

But anyway some will complain they wont want windows along corridors so...

I close window

Nobody disturb

Can hear wind blowing the window sound.
Shiok

Alphas

My resale 4 rm has windows at the corridor, the cold wind blow from the living room window to the kitchen windows, shiok. Want privacy just draw the curtains and still have cold wind for cross ventilation.

mooseolly

It's overall size is still smaller and has only 2 bed rooms though.

Ethan_

Not just much bigger, but the layout is well designed where there is very little wasted space. Space usage is very efficient, so every area can be big.

Nowadays the unit layout is horribly inefficient, lots of wasted space. End up every area has to shrink down to fit into the total sqm. Not only that, even if you hack out the walls, the fixed layout (i.e windows, toilets, kitchen, storeroom) will not allow you to truly maximise the space as well as old unit layouts.

Some retard like to argue otherwise, but facts are, you simply can't get rid of most of the wasted space no matter how you rearrange it and hack walls.
Think last time tend go for practical considerations, squeezing in more people in a comfortable space.

Nowsdays think alot of not so practical, if not lofty idea. Perhaps want to pattern more than badminton with the design to give people the illusion of so called more atas living, when public housing is still public housing.

Worse when now try to do that with smaller space, and cause of the more atas lofty idea, make alot of space not so usable.

Think some might be able to see the irony. Last time older housing people can partition the space to create more unique usage space. Nowadays people can hardly do that, many have to hack the walls to make the space more usable. :s22:

trifrost

The new HDB design layout always like to use the L or U shape then end up Sunlight can't reach into Kitchen area during daytime. Kitchen have to switch on light even in daylight sia. Put clothes outside to dry also only a few hours of sunlight because kitchen is inside the U shape so only certain period of time, sunlight can shine into the inner U shape area.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.