DVB TV Tuner Thread II [consolidated]

PoloBoiBoi

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2009
Messages
43,254
Reaction score
971
Mod:
This thread is for all discussion on TV tuners add ons via USB or other means.
For reception and other issues, please use the reception thread and for general discussions, use the DTV thread.

Singapore: plans to complete the switchover to digital broadcasting in line with ASEAN's commitment to switchover to digital broadcasting between 2015 and 2020. When switchover is completed, analogue signals will have been phased out and all of MediaCorp’s free-to-air TV channels will be broadcast fully in digital.

Anyone using DVBviewer on Mygica T230? Which version is stable? And are you able to tune if Tuner Type set to cable?

i using T230C though, with DVBViewer 4.9.5

i can tune with cable settings using QAM256
 
Last edited by a moderator:

tatsit

Honorary Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
131,905
Reaction score
1,418
so 2017 any new tuner coming out?
 

harky

High Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
49,120
Reaction score
287
bookmark for future :)
 

Kiwi8

Honorary Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
May 3, 2001
Messages
115,454
Reaction score
1,240
Housekeeping also need to copy over the stuff like frequency list leh. :o
 

albertlee

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
8,957
Reaction score
23
i using T230C though, with DVBViewer 4.9.5

i can tune with cable settings using QAM256

Hmm, my TV stick only state "T230" without the "C".

So far, any version above v5.3.0 doesn't really work well on my system. Will give the version you mentioned a try. Tks.
 

cybertech

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2000
Messages
13,092
Reaction score
101
Does anyone know why Ch8 ChU HD not showing english subtitles when Ch8 ChU Analogue will show the eng subtitles? Is on the same USB TV tuner card TBS 5281 DUAL DVBC BDA TUNERS using DVB Dream software. Check everything but just could not figure out which settings problem.

Channel 8 HD with no english subtitles
4KdbtNQ.png

Channel 8 Analogue with english subtitles
IVdusKW.png


Channel U HD with no english subtitles
6KIZCuY.png

Channel U Analogue with english subtitles
jPKSUv0.png
 
Last edited:

PoloBoiBoi

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2009
Messages
43,254
Reaction score
971
Does anyone know why Ch8 ChU HD not showing english subtitles when Ch8 ChU Analogue will show the eng subtitles? Is on the same USB TV tuner card TBS 5281 DUAL DVBC BDA TUNERS using DVB Dream software. Check everything but just could not figure out which settings problem.

Channel 8 HD with no english subtitles
4KdbtNQ.png

Channel 8 Analogue with english subtitles
IVdusKW.png


Channel U HD with no english subtitles
6KIZCuY.png

Channel 8 Analogue with english subtitles
jPKSUv0.png


did you turn the subtitles on? did you switch the subtitles to english? not all programmes have subtitles
 

cybertech

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2000
Messages
13,092
Reaction score
101
did you turn the subtitles on? did you switch the subtitles to english? not all programmes have subtitles

Those screen captured I posted all same programmes and from the same software, just that for HD no english sub whereas Analogue it will show english sub. No options in DVB Dream software to set subtitles, maybe I will try other TV software like DVB Viewer.
 

PoloBoiBoi

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2009
Messages
43,254
Reaction score
971
Those screen captured I posted all same programmes and from the same software, just that for HD no english sub whereas Analogue it will show english sub. No options in DVB Dream software to set subtitles, maybe I will try other TV software like DVB Viewer.

kodi has it
G3d7WrQ.png
 

gregory_choo

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
6,291
Reaction score
41
Does anyone know why Ch8 ChU HD not showing english subtitles when Ch8 ChU Analogue will show the eng subtitles? Is on the same USB TV tuner card TBS 5281 DUAL DVBC BDA TUNERS using DVB Dream software. Check everything but just could not figure out which settings problem.

analog video's subtitle is hardcoded.

dtv's subtitle is generated by the box/tv and overlayed on video, you can choose the language. you have to do a one-time setup.
 

batuchka

Greater Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
78,659
Reaction score
880
How u stream from kodi is it live ? Can share?

Kodi needs a backend already set up and TV channels viewed frontend via Kodi loh ^^ For me backend is NPVR
 

PoloBoiBoi

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2009
Messages
43,254
Reaction score
971
How u stream from kodi is it live ? Can share?

yep it's live because its from the DVB-T2 tuner

just like what batuchka said you need to install nextPVR, tune the channels then setup PVR Client addon on kodi
 

whoooo

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
5,996
Reaction score
48
Kodi needs a backend already set up and TV channels viewed frontend via Kodi loh ^^ For me backend is NPVR




yep it's live because its from the DVB-T2 tuner

just like what batuchka said you need to install nextPVR, tune the channels then setup PVR Client addon on kodi
Many thanks both, I thought got live link and no need the t2 tuner ....too many gadget clutter the TV area for me. Thank u
 

caramon

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
651
Reaction score
0
For those using dvb-c, any idea will you able to watch all the starhub channels when they have free viewing during special occasion??
 

gregory_choo

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
6,291
Reaction score
41
Many thanks both, I thought got live link and no need the t2 tuner ....too many gadget clutter the TV area for me. Thank u

There are live links.

SG!TV addon from kodi official repo.

720p video, good enough.
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top