Engineers pls share your insight on why working overseas is not for you

Tony.Manero

best 20 yrs of my life as EECS grad. Took VLSI and get to hang with Jensen, get to travel the world for work...best gig ever. lifetime frequent flier/hotel...what is there not to like?

maybe me old unker...now this gen need WFH.

anyways semicon is no work life balance lah...must be able to accept it..put in some dues..then go do something else after.
VLSI. I remember this term.

dreamcast18

bruh you must be the first that says foxconn easier to work with
possibly cos you never tio MIA payment or delay until 2 years before since small project nia

you try terry for bigger projects you no kpkb you come back to me lol
ask any tw biz man all scared of him one

Maybe cuz big US company...he don't dare to prey prey...😇

dreamcast18

you met Lisa su yet?
angel lai de
love this lady
From $3 AMD i thank her. Anyone with EE gets my respect. Boeing was also great when engineers were running it.

Hope she don't buy Intel...but if she does...my shitty INTC will go up..so win win :ROFLMAO:

juergenlam

if everything worried..then better don't go overseas study or work. Stay in bubble best.

can lah..i C6/D7 for O's and A's also can manage. technical terms i switch back to rojak english + chinese they understand too.

Correct. stay in comfort zone, then don't expect self made career development.
For most. But if u lucky, u will have development handed to u on a platter. Seen a few cases liao.

Slowdown

recently i go interview for a role in china MNC
during interview they say maybe require to relocate to china
then ask me ok or not
then i say can consider
then they like want a yes or not answer
but also no details about where in china accomodation all these
how to give answer?
Your reaction is typical of south east asian like myself. We tends to want to know as much information before we give a definite answer. This does not work well in some settings. I worked in China and learned some good life exsperience from the HongKonger and Taiwanese. Generally I was advised to give a more positive answer even if there is doubt in my mind. It is okay to say Yes and then later No. No need to say No upfront.

In this example, we can say YES I am very interested to work in China. Great opportunity. Later when they share details and it work out to be a less attractive, then say NO with some excuses.

Slowdown

When I first started working, I met an Asian in US. He said one thing that is still fresh in my mind today (after 30 years).

'You can never jump out of the circle you draw for yourself'.

The trick (then) is to.

'Draw a bigger circle'.

If we draw a circle around Singapore, we will never get out of it. Draw a bigger circle.

When people ask me where I can go (for work), my answer is always 'Anywhere on the 3rd rock from the sun'. You pay me enough, I work. Once there was an opportunity to work in Pakistan. I signed up. Too bad I did not get the interview.

The issue is always about pay. Pay enough, you will get the talent. I have worked in many countries and they are usually in some ulu place. Got factory means got chance for me. I don't do engineering but my work require me to visit and based at factory location for extended period of time.

I tighten my circle in recent years as age is catching up. But if I lose my job, I guess I am willing to go Taiwan if it pays enough. I did applied for a job in Taiwan once. Too bad they did not consider me.

theMKR

When I first started working, I met an Asian in US. He said one thing that is still fresh in my mind today (after 30 years).

'You can never jump out of the circle you draw for yourself'.

The trick (then) is to.

'Draw a bigger circle'.

If we draw a circle around Singapore, we will never get out of it. Draw a bigger circle.

When people ask me where I can go (for work), my answer is always 'Anywhere on the 3rd rock from the sun'. You pay me enough, I work. Once there was an opportunity to work in Pakistan. I signed up. Too bad I did not get the interview.

The issue is always about pay. Pay enough, you will get the talent. I have worked in many countries and they are usually in some ulu place. Got factory means got chance for me. I don't do engineering but my work require me to visit and based at factory location for extended period of time.

I tighten my circle in recent years as age is catching up. But if I lose my job, I guess I am willing to go Taiwan if it pays enough. I did applied for a job in Taiwan once. Too bad they did not consider me.
sometimes the 3rd rock is luna

parmesparmes

rast time, got a ex-prof sit beside moi, we are both swe :s22:

obviously not sinkie la....

can hire prof, huai hire fresh grad lol
Academics (or ex-academics) don't necessarily make for good employees in the private sector. So no need to look down on yourself.

retard

working overseas is good only if you are really capable and have no family commitments. i behkan work overseas end up feel stress and changed job just so as to come back sg.

also how much are you paying them for allowance - food, transport? good company is cover food per diem and transport is claimable.
accomodation and flights are naturally covered by company.

good company will also allow you to return sg once in a while to get used to working overseas. e.g, 1month overseas, 2 weeks home cycle.

theMKR

Academics (or ex-academics) don't necessarily make for good employees in the private sector. So no need to look down on yourself.
math prof and can code.
duno how to deploy, but that one is devops problem....

how to beat sia :s22:

twentyfour_24

Cos the requirement is to stay in TW for at least 10 months in a year that’s why
Taiwan is a non-English speaking country.

Not attractive for non-Chinese speakers, nuff said.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.