Favourite Local IT Distributor (Support & Service Quality)

Jurchen King

Who's your favourite local IT distributor, in terms of excellent support and service quality. Can also highlight any bad experience or poor service.
  • Ban Leong
  • Corbell Technology
  • CDL Trading
  • Convergent
  • Tech Dynamic
  • Avertek
  • Leapfrog
  • Kaira
If I've missed out any local IT distributor for your product(s), please feel free to add.

Jaee21

Went to Corbell recently for my lian li Galahad 360 aio pump issue. they check for less than 15mins and replace it with a new one. Fast and swift no question ask.

convergent is good too, got a replacement for my meshify c tempered glass during covid locked down. Their email response is quite fast.

Koenig168

I've dealt with a number of distros over the years and so far, the experience has been positive every time.

watzup_ken

Personally, if I define good service as going above and beyond what the distros/ service centers are meant to do, then I find that the distros are no different from one another. If you experience good service, it’s usually due to an individual that is friendly or have gone the extra mile that makes the experience stand out. So I will not go to say distro X is offered better service than Y.

Who's your favourite local IT distributor, in terms of excellent support and service quality. Can also highlight any bad experience or poor service.
  • Ban Leong
  • Corbell Technology
  • CDL Trading
  • Convergent
  • Tech Dynamic
  • Avertek
  • Leapfrog
  • Kaira
If I've missed out any local IT distributor for your product(s), please feel free to add.

Ban Leong sure jialat one

Koenig168

they were in hifi business..................very untrustworthy................old family-run companies tend to be jialat in customer service anyway............

Ban Leong is an IT company. After listing, they expanded by buying over an audio products (I won't exactly call it hifi) business and IT businesses in Australia, Malaysia etc. Lost a bunch of cash, sold all (or most? can't remember) of these businesses and went back to their roots.

I've done RMA with Ban Leong before. As I mentioned earlier, no problem with their (or any other distro's) customer service.

As for "untrustworthy", don't see any basis for such an allegation.

summer_dell

I have RMA at CDL ( gigabyte mobo ) at commonwealth , Corbell (seasonic psu ) at ang mo kio, Convergent ( Corsair Ram, tampered glass for 4000x) at ubi.. I must say my experience with them are pretty good.

Although i do feel that traveling to ubi and commonwealth is too far away. Corbell at amk is the best location la.. hahaha

watzup_ken

Ban Leong sure jialat one
You should be factual when you say a distro is “jialat”. Like how? I’ve been to BL before to RMA motherboards. And like I mentioned earlier, their service is basically ok. In summary, you bring the item there, they will test it, and if faulty, ask you to fill in the RMA form. If they have stock, they will replace it. So nothing stands out, but it is not a bad experience.

trenzterra

So far have experience with Ban Leong, Convergent (long ago when they were near SLS), Corbell, CDL and Tech Dynamic.

All are quite good, no complaints so far.

Some people don't like BL but maybe just the uncle a bit fierce? But he ok one lah

TanKianW

Still prefer Convergent. Actually I don't really like the Palit brand. But because they are the distro, I don't mind.

My best experience is RMA a pair of Kingston Value DDR3 with them, which I use until "chui" running 24/7 for the past 8-9years on the field. But covered under life-time limited warranty and they still got stock, they 1-to-1 exchange a higher speed pair for me, no question asked. Thumbs up!​

xRenol

I went down 4 times to Corbell at Ang Mo Kio over the past few years and the experience is quite good for me.

watzup_ken

Still prefer Convergent. Actually I don't really like the Palit brand. But because they are the distro, I don't mind.

My best experience is RMA a pair of Kingston Value DDR3 with them, which I use until "chui" running 24/7 for the past 8-9years on the field. But covered under life-time limited warranty and they still got stock, they 1-to-1 exchange a higher speed pair for me, no question asked. Thumbs up!​
If given a choice, I would have prefer not needing a trip to any distributor. Unfortunately, I tend to end up at Convergent for some reason, and for various products. That said, I feel what you described as fairly standard practice across the bigger distributors where they will test, and if failed, they will try and see if they have stock (either new or refurbished) to give us a 1 to 1 replacement. In one instance, because the SSD is no more in production, so they just gave me a new and upgraded version, though still not the latest model. In this case, I believe the replacement to a newer model is most likely driven by the SSD manufacturer, rather than Convergent.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.