Forced from cable TV to fibre TV by Starhub

darkmatt

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
7,569
Reaction score
4
Does Starhub still require you to subscribe for the stupid internet when subbing for their TV?

Currently on Singtel and I can watch TV with no need to sub to their internet.. However, due to an issue, we want to migrate to starhub.. If it is not possible, then wtf am I gonna need 2x internet lines for? I have a much better internet provider alr..
 

evildoctor

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
991
Reaction score
0
Can always use their Linksys EA8100 to watch Free to air. This router may not be high end type of router like my ASUS router RT-AC88U but I noticed that it is still quite decent. I noticed my ASUS router spoilt today so I replaced it with EA8100 that i kept in my store room earlier 2 years ago. I noticed that this free router still can use although not top rated performance in the AC router family.
Yeah I understand could use the router provided. However, cause I'm using the Unifi Eco system.
 

evildoctor

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
991
Reaction score
0
Does Starhub still require you to subscribe for the stupid internet when subbing for their TV?

Currently on Singtel and I can watch TV with no need to sub to their internet.. However, due to an issue, we want to migrate to starhub.. If it is not possible, then wtf am I gonna need 2x internet lines for? I have a much better internet provider alr..
Their new Starhub TV+ does not require their own internet. You could use any service provider internet. All you need is a Android box or you can rent their box.
 

xiaofan

Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
9,256
Reaction score
21
Can I have more information please?

Yes you can have Starhub TV+ service without using Starhub Fibre Internet.

You have two choices in that case if you watch to watch on big screen.

1) Using you mobile phone and then cast to your TV, with the help of Android TV OS device or Chromecast dongles.

2) If you do not want to cast, you have to use the Starhub TV+ box, which seems to have FW stability issues.

And take note you will have no access to MediaCorp FTA channels in this case.

Many people regret to sign up for the Starhub TV+ Pass and want to switch to SingTel TV.

Just wondering what is your issue with Singtel TV?
 

Henry Ng

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
12,678
Reaction score
2
Yes you can have Starhub TV+ service without using Starhub Fibre Internet.

You have two choices in that case if you watch to watch on big screen.

1) Using you mobile phone and then cast to your TV, with the help of Android TV OS device or Chromecast dongles.

2) If you do not want to cast, you have to use the Starhub TV+ box, which seems to have FW stability issues.

And take note you will have no access to MediaCorp FTA channels in this case.

Many people regret to sign up for the Starhub TV+ Pass and want to switch to SingTel TV.

Just wondering what is your issue with Singtel TV?
want to watch free to air channel must use their internet with the router provided or just use MeWatch to watch.
 

darkmatt

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
7,569
Reaction score
4
Yes you can have Starhub TV+ service without using Starhub Fibre Internet.

You have two choices in that case if you watch to watch on big screen.

1) Using you mobile phone and then cast to your TV, with the help of Android TV OS device or Chromecast dongles.

2) If you do not want to cast, you have to use the Starhub TV+ box, which seems to have FW stability issues.

And take note you will have no access to MediaCorp FTA channels in this case.

Many people regret to sign up for the Starhub TV+ Pass and want to switch to SingTel TV.

Just wondering what is your issue with Singtel TV?
Billing issues... They refused to waive certain stuff when it was their mistake..
want to watch free to air channel must use their internet with the router provided or just use MeWatch to watch.
wtf? Got such thing one? Just to tie you down on their broadband?!
There is something call DVB-T2 box if your TV is not DVB-T2 capable.

I have one at home.. signals sucks badly
 

Halo green

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2017
Messages
7,847
Reaction score
41
2 entertainment passes (english and asian) $29.90 + 1gbps fibre $39.9 (free 6mths) 2 yrs contract , is this deal ok?
 

uncle_josh

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
1,625
Reaction score
6
Does you home have this tv point ?
3vWPso.jpg

Billing issues... They refused to waive certain stuff when it was their mistake..

wtf? Got such thing one? Just to tie you down on their broadband?!

I have one at home.. signals sucks badly
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top