[GE2025] Tampines GRC

CaiPuDan

George Yeo was more popular than BYK and held higher political office roles. Eventually, he got voted out despite his popularity.

The rule of GRC and SMC is different. In a GRC, voters tend to evaluate group of candidates rather than a single individual. If Baey got voted out in Tampines GRC, he needs to thank PAP for introducing the GRC system. If he contests in a SMC, I believe he will win.

Professor Walid lives in Tampines GRC and BYK is his MP. You can refer to his views below:

The GRC system is a double-edged sword.
but it took LTK himself with his A team to take down George Yeo though.. and hearsay that time got fear of 0 oppo if they fail to take aljunied..

Eureka75

The situation in Tampines GRC today is similar to Aljunied GRC 14 years ago.

GE2011 [Aljunied GRC]
Popular MP: George Yeo
Unpopular MP: Cynthia Phua/Lim Hwee Hua
Newbie: Ong Ye Kung

GE2025 [Tampines GRC]
Popular MP: Baey Yam Keng
Unpopular MP: Masagos/Koh Poh Koon
Newbie: David Neo/Charlene Chen
David Neo look and talk like chao Ah Beng, and Charlene Chen introduce herself with cringey statements, and Masagos and pigu doctor are unpopular so very possible for them to dilute the popularity of Handsome Baey and lost 10KKJ

KaiserBreath

Baey only controls one of the wards. Not all residents will see his popularity.
Baey used to be my ward previously. He is popular and used whatsapp and video call to connect with us. He tried a lot but there is one fatal flaw, which I THINK he did not have much power, so some stuff like not easy to get done or take very long.

After my ward change to Koh Poh Koon, it seems like more things seems to get settled more easily and smoothly. But maybe is my illusion.

Anyway, I still think if your MP have more power then things can be done more easily.

carlongerdidu93

494512880_122106900044846325_937459564835267449_n.jpg

494174403_122106900110846325_8918929787219289172_n.jpg

494196584_122106899978846325_1091389135932135742_n.jpg

493931966_122106900140846325_5155255312248642532_n.jpg

494150794_122106900176846325_6605792486420226355_n.jpg

494175351_122106899870846325_8560000695505068745_n.jpg

493921990_122106900284846325_1202965154900967825_n.jpg

Eileen Chong 蒋佩姗's FB Post:

[Tampines cares ]
We are now more than halfway through the campaign period
🔨
Thank you residents of Tampines for the enthusiastic welcome!

A big thank you for the words and acts of encouragement, to both the candidates and our family of dedicated volunteers. From 100Plus and liang teh (herbal tea) to fist bumps, handshakes and tooting of car horns, we are truly grateful
🙏🏼

One recurring question we heard was “what’ll you do for Tampines?”. We promise to provide quality municipal services, while also working closely with relevant agencies to support the implementation of the Tampines 5-year masterplan. We will listen to you and your families, and evolve our work to meet your changing needs

Our team will continue to visit various parts of Tampines over the next few days! Do keep an eye out for us and say hi if you spot us
💙

我们如今进入竞选活动的下半场,并继续得到淡滨尼居民的热情欢迎。从运动饮料和凉茶,到拍掌与鸣笛,我们衷心感谢你们的关心、体贴和支持!

有许多居民问我们的是:“你们会为淡滨尼做些什么?” 我们承诺会提供优质的社区事务,并且同各个单位紧密合作,推动淡滨尼五年发展蓝图的落实。我们会聆听你和家人的心声,并探讨方案满足你们的需求。

我们的团队接下来几天会继续在淡滨尼各处走访,希望能和你交谈。

#wpsg #GE2025 #StepUp #WorkingForSingapore

carey

B
Very typical parachuted army guy, the moment he open his mouth sian half already.

Don't know why they insist on getting these people in even in 2025, other than them being yes sir 3 bags full men.
Because the top is weak mah

With these yes men, that's the only way they can "control" them mah :ROFLMAO:

carey

WP Jln Kayu media doorstop

He's quite impressive for a newbie - way better than even some "seasoned" candidates from the incumbent

See how that aunty Phua stumbled over her answer regarding the role of a mayor - really jiak liao bee

carey

Calculate the amount of GST to her she will spend in a year Vs the vouchers she received.

I did that to my wife and mother and they are converted.
But the devil is in the details

The vouchers are only meant to cover the 2% point increase in GST, not the full GST amount

But even then, it's woefully inadequate - every $100, the increase in GST is $2

However, inflation has made everything more expensive - so the value of this "offset" has fallen

Ironside

Baey used to be my ward previously. He is popular and used whatsapp and video call to connect with us. He tried a lot but there is one fatal flaw, which I THINK he did not have much power, so some stuff like not easy to get done or take very long.

After my ward change to Koh Poh Koon, it seems like more things seems to get settled more easily and smoothly. But maybe is my illusion.

Anyway, I still think if your MP have more power then things can be done more easily.
This one is confirmed. This round early I already decided only if a minister in the GRC to be my MP for my zone of the GRC then I will support PAP. But my side walk over this time.

carey

On second thought, then why Gan Siow Huang shout 'Merdeka' then allowed to go into Parliament? I thought less talk more action? I don't see any action from her that is fruitful leh.
If you have been through army, you should know the term "wayang"

These fellas are good at acting in front of superiors but in reality, do the least and leech on the work of others

zwHrebmeM

But the devil is in the details

The vouchers are only meant to cover the 2% point increase in GST, not the full GST amount

But even then, it's woefully inadequate - every $100, the increase in GST is $2

However, inflation has made everything more expensive - so the value of this "offset" has fallen
Yes! GST only increase 2%, but hawker food increased 20-30% (15-25% due to external circumstances, 5% (not 2%) turbocharged inflation attributed to GST) :mad:

... and the govt turned a blind eye :mad:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.