[GPGT] Median Salary for degree holder in their 40s is 10k per month excl. CPF contribution

LAMtopia

The median is the middle number, which always depends on how high is the top number.

If top number for degree holder is $30,000 for people in the 40s, then its median salary will be $15,000....what does that number mean to you? Nothing.
Your example for median salah.

Let me help you with a better example.

If 3 people have income of $100, $500 and $1m. The median would be $500.

You cannot just take 30k and divide by 2. It doesn't work this way.

theMKR

That reply from me was purely sarcastic, since got one EDMWer who apparently knows it all.
i still maintain that SGX stocks not worth it.

unless you have massive amount of cash and want to earn dividend, its ok.

but as a wealth accumulator, its useless.

Acetone

Your example for median salah.

Let me help you with a better example.

If 3 people have income of $100, $500 and $1m. The median would be $500.

You cannot just take 30k and divide by 2. It doesn't work this way.
He is so confused... lol

HeadQuarters

The median is the middle number, which always depends on how high is the top number.

If top number for degree holder is $30,000 for people in the 40s, then its median salary will be $15,000....what does that number mean to you? Nothing.

Heng ah Heng… Mai luan luan pom leh :s13:

SkyShroud

Median is the income of the middle person.

What you described was average not median.

So if 3 person have salary of $500, $1000 and $1m. The median would be $1000. But the average would be 335k.

If 100 person earn exactly $2000
Another 100 person earn exactly $18000

What is the median?

Mebeater

This logic is remarkable. You obviously don't know what median is and yet you can still be bothered to try to "explain". If there are 3 people we are talking about here with monthly incomes of $1000, $2000 and $1 million, the median here is still $2000 so please educate me as to how the median is affected by the top number? By your logic, the median in my example will be $500,000???

LAMtopia

there is a reason why sgx cannot short....
Are you sure? And I think you are referring to STI not SGX. You do know that there are put warrants for STI which you can buy on SGX itself right?

LoUsyGamER

It would be interesting to see what are the average and mode.

Median is the middle number in a set of numbers.

gamerx

Tbh no point dreaming about AO pay also. If you join civil service for the money, you won't rise very far. It takes a special kind of interest and personality to excel in that kind of environment.
You think too highly of our civil servants. Most of them are in it for the money and stability, it is simply a job to the vast majority of them. There is however, also nothing wrong with this. Why should we expect others to go above and beyond simply because they work in the government?

Whether one can rise far or not, just like in any other jobs depends on your personal qualities, work ethics, political acumen and some luck. For the civil service, however there is this additional factor of whether one is a scholar and in the old boy's club. CCS was simply talking out of his ivory tower ass.

LAMtopia

What is the median?
The answer would be 10k.

But it is nearly impossible to have 100 people earn exactly the same and another 100 earn exactly the same in any sampling.

Mebeater

What is the median?
Median is $10K. Since the population size is even, there will be 2 numbers in the middle which is $2000 and $18000. The median is that case is the mean of the two numbers = ($2000 + $18000) / 2 = $10,000.

kindaichi83

Anyway it is quite confirmed that unless u r AO, u r unlikely to rise to 10k working in civil service. I got many friends there so I know. They have high increment and fast promotion during early part of the career for all of them. But unless u show some ‘ability’ (even plp ability), u would reach your ceiling by 45. Then same salary till u retire.

weeyoung

median = (lowest +highest)/2
mean = (number1 + number2 + number3 + .... + numbern)/(total people)

theMKR

Are you sure? And I think you are referring to STI not SGX. You do know that there are put warrants for STI which you can buy on SGX itself right

that would be shorting via warrants, not the same la.
some ppl later will say can cfd....

the warrants basically is a confidence booster to tell investors, the coy will buy back shares at x price

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.