Hentakaki-Henta! Public Sector for 10 years!

kyokoto

Btw TS, how old are you this year? Congrats, read that you will receive 2.1 month in Dec.

eeLoyH

started at $1600 (10 years ago)
now after 10 years is $3200
I would have looked for something else long ago.

either you are bad at what you do or you really very unlucky.

think of it this way, even grab riders earn more than you

Lolicious

over 10 years experience with degree earning 3.2k in civil sector?

lmao, this is not what i know from the usual edmw thread leh. i tot people here always say cs woon woon jiak beehoon. 3.2k for 10 years with degree, might as well join zaizai and drive phv

Unic0rn

Okay enough you guys are not helping and not having meaningful conversations here!

keenklee

Daemon : Ten years you’ve been King and not once have you made me your hand ✋🏼

Serving the public for 10 years!
Year 1 - confirmation after probation and initial RO’s retirement at old age after 45 years of service.
Year 2 - Suffered doing 2 to 4 pax workload
Year 3 - Promotion denied by new RO
Year 4 - Suffered doing 2 to 4 pax workload
Year 5 - Suffered doing 2 to 4 pax workload
Year 6 - Promotion denied by 不死的RO
Year 7 - Finally promotion after transfer and new RO
Year 8 - Suffered doing 2 to 3 pax workload
Year 9 - Suffered doing 2 to 3 pax workload
Year 10 - Second promotion after reorganization and new RO
Year 11 - Thinking of mid career upskill and change job to earn more money 💵

If follow the usual path of every 3rd year, by now I should have been manager and next year, 2023 will be due to be senior manager.

My peers are staying in 5-room HDB or EC with their own car and kids 🥰 but I still slogging daily with my hardworking wife we just owned our very own first small (2 bedroom) HDB from BTO. My salary is around 30% of my peers.
IMHO.
Just switch.
You have to be realistic - if you get promoted, who is going to do the 2 to 4 pax job ?
If SM is your CEP, upon reaching that, in a few years, your pay will reach ceiling.
Maybe from year 10 onwards, you will be stuck - no promo, no increment.
Every year inflation, you can only hope for pay adjustment.
By then, perform well also useless, got PB but no pay increment.
Then you come back to EDMW, this thread title will be suitable.

LoaGong12

I joined 10 years ago as division II diploma holder and has since attained my degree years ago
10 years ago was in crisis recession during 2008 even COE dropped to $180
is low ball but fresh out with no experience is like that being low ball
the civil service is particular abt things like good writing, so maybe you should, among other things, work on that.

first sentence… “ have since “ attained. you are describing yourself in first person, not third.
second sentence - no such thing as “ crisis recession” unless you are JHK
third sentence - no clue, moi not proficient in singlish

RoLanTo

to TS, thankyou for your contribution to the society. thanks to your never give up mentality, and continue stay-on for past 10 years. irregardless how meaningful/meaningless your jobscope is, you have help your agency avoided hiring 2-3 more people to further tax on our system. else we probably need raise 3/4/5/6% gst. :D

---
joke aside, time to leave, don't stay on. at least try change to other agency

Sent from gugu niao!

Kuudere

the civil service is particular abt things like good writing, so maybe you should, among other things, work on that.

first sentence… “ have since “ attained. you are describing yourself in first person, not third.
second sentence - no such thing as “ crisis recession” unless you are JHK
third sentence - no clue, moi not proficient in singlish
Got to spend time in quora to improve writing, edmw isn't a great place for that

pLueAr

I am still working okay!
frustrated not enough money lah
Just keep trying to apply for jobs, don’t quote your existing salary during application. But if you apply CS job, they will know your current pay and will offer abit more nia. But don’t quit without a job out of spite esp with the uncertainty in market right now

TDRam

many people alr said you should quit then rejoin as degree or go private, but u didnt want

RadEoNic

I have more than tripled my pay since I started work 11 years ago
:s22:

u born poor is your father’s fault
u die poor is your fault

en_8_en

Frankly u sound very delusional.

It is not an issue of loyalty. Public service's employment schemes are fixed. If u r in a diploma holder's scheme, u can only promote within that scheme.

Saying u earned ur degree and expect other people to auto promote u or switch u to another degree role is wishful thinking. Ur degree may not even be recognised. No one cares about small fry.

If u think u have what it takes, u have to step out of ur comfort zone. Not do the same low level stuff forever and somehow expect to be promoted or receive higher pay.
exactly.

keep doing the same low level stuff, and expect rewards / promotion for "loyalty" and "hard work"

time spent on meaningless low level work =/= contributions or business value

I do 10 push ups everyday for 10 years, then I qualify to join olympics?
I write hello world for 10 years, then I qualify to become a tech lead?

tbh TS need to objectively reflect on himself.

Unic0rn

I have seen some straight jump to manager like what?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.