HoNg KoNg TrIp...Hooray!!~~

juuzbe

Hi EoEo-PiPu_PiPu, if you are only finding a bed to sleep only and would not mind the rest, you may want to consider the hostels also. They provide very budget price.

Stanford Hotel offer HKD700 for twin sharing room.Heard that this hotel is near to Dorsett seaview too.
My friend dun wan to stay hostel, they worried abt the security of hostel. Me is ok. They rather spend more to stay hotel:(

juuzbe

that was my worry earlier too bec I'm bring along kids... after reading some feedbacks from webs and forum (there's one thread about Dragon Hostel), I decided to give it a try. As advice from one of our bro/sis in the forum, you may go to Youtube to search and see the conditions. :)

Fritters

Hi everyone.. though i think this is my first thread reply.. but i juz went through like 200++ pages of this whole HK thread and i must say it is really very informative and useful.. To reply:

thanks for TsQ & hobbiez.

any idea abt the rate per night for standard double room?

HI EoEo, u may want to check out this website for the rates of the hotels.
http://www.asiarooms.com/hong_kong/index.html

that was my worry earlier too bec I'm bring along kids... after reading some feedbacks from webs and forum (there's one thread about Dragon Hostel), I decided to give it a try. As advice from one of our bro/sis in the forum, you may go to Youtube to search and see the conditions. :)

Hi Juuzbe, have u stayed in Dragon Hostel before? i have read the reviews as well heard its quite a good hostel to be in. Clean, friendly owners and convinient location.

hobbiez

when are you going to HK? i kno now till dec is peak $$, so hotel rates will be higher.

juuzbe

Hi Fritters,

Had not stayed in Dragon Hostel before, and had ever stayed in one hostel in Chungking Mansion before, had a bad experience. That is why I have been pondering very long before giving Dragon Hostel a try after reading the comments about it. In addition, during my period of visit (end Nov), hotels in prime areas are very expensive. Hope Dragon will not disappoint me.

Actually if travellers do not mind the distance that needs to travel to Mongkok or TST, some 5star hotels in Tsuen Wan or the convention centre there, such as L'Hotel or Panaroma.... are worth giving it a try.

travmufc

If going for budget hostels, suggest Mirandor Mansions rather than Chung King...rooms are better...safety wise it is ok...as lots of backpackers go to such places and the management do take steps to make sure its still an attractive alternative for budget conscious travellers...eg. security guards at lobby, receptionist available till 1+am...

The location is also the most attractive part...u can save alot on transportation as well...

Fritters

Hi Fritters,

Had not stayed in Dragon Hostel before, and had ever stayed in one hostel in Chungking Mansion before, had a bad experience. That is why I have been pondering very long before giving Dragon Hostel a try after reading the comments about it. In addition, during my period of visit (end Nov), hotels in prime areas are very expensive. Hope Dragon will not disappoint me.

Actually if travellers do not mind the distance that needs to travel to Mongkok or TST, some 5star hotels in Tsuen Wan or the convention centre there, such as L'Hotel or Panaroma.... are worth giving it a try.

Hi Juuzbe, although i considered to stay in Dragon Hostel, i decided on 1 called USAHotel which is in Mirandor Mansions. Well both places are in Mongkok and price wise almost the same. Well i too chose tat in terms of reviews from one website but when i read the other website with regards to the one i booked, it has mixed reviews. juz have to cross fingers and hope for the best. Well do enjoy ur trip and rem to post ur experience there.. :yawn:

If going for budget hostels, suggest Mirandor Mansions rather than Chung King...rooms are better...safety wise it is ok...as lots of backpackers go to such places and the management do take steps to make sure its still an attractive alternative for budget conscious travellers...eg. security guards at lobby, receptionist available till 1+am...

The location is also the most attractive part...u can save alot on transportation as well...

Hi travmufc, well i have booked one of the hostels inside called USAHotel, but some reviews indicated that they do not give u the best rooms (with windows) and if u do wan it u have to pay about $USD10 extra per nite, n if u do to youtube to check out the room it is really alot of difference. Well all these stumbled upon me after i have booked the room, so i m not sure how will it turn out. :( Hopefully it will turn out okie for me.

juuzbe

Hi Fritters,
You had confirmed USA Hostel?When you will be going? So have you paid fully? there's a web, http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Re...rador_Mansion-Hong_Kong_Hong_Kong_Region.html, for hotel bookings and also has comments posted stating their experiences in hotels/hostels in various countries, which includes the hostels we both going to stay. Someone there was saying the lift at Mirador Mansion shuts at 10pm, meaning will need to climb the 'freaky' stairs (as stated by those who post in their comments) if they get back after that time. There are also some pictures of the hostels for our reference. For Dragon, I'm not sure if the staircase is as freaky or the lift shuts early at night.

juuzbe

Hi Fritters, just checked with my sis in law who had stayed in Kowloon Hostel in the same Mirador Mansion. She told me that there is a lift at a little corner for use when the main lift shuts at 10pm. Do not use the stairs. Do remember to check with the security guard the lift whereabout when you arrive the 1st day. Otherwise will 'galang gabok' and panic if can't find any security guard if you happen to go back late after your night shopping.

travmufc

Kowloon New Hostel and USA Hotel are all under the same management...so expect the rooms to be similar...the rooms and toilets are awfully small but at least its clean and safe...far different from the exterior of the building which is "slum-like"...

I was given a room with a window...did not have to pay extra...although its not a difference to me as it was shut all the time with the air-con on...not much view to see as the surrounding buildings are all taller as well...unless a window-less room is much smaller, I think its ok for a short stay...

There are 2 lift lobbies with 6 lifts in total iirc...the one nearest to the main entrance (2 lifts) is closed early...but no worries as there is another lobby (4 lifts) further inside...the lifts are slow and small so be prepared to wait during peak periods or checking in/out with the barang barangs...each lift at the 2 lobby serve different levels too...

Overall I enjoyed my stay at Mirandor as the "unusual" environment was quite an experience in itself! Dun bother too much abt the reviews as diff ppl have diff expectations when they arrive...Just dun expect hotel like service and rooms...

icemelon

RE:4D3N F&E trip

Hello people,

Just to check if you guys have any recommendations for 2 ladies travelling for a 4D3N

1) Hotel*** (less travelling time preferred, closer to shopping area..heh)
2) Must-Go Places
3) Must-Buy things (Agnes B??)

By the way, I be going in Nov ...not sure if there's things to shop like Summer Sale period.

Thanks in advance!

Fritters

Hi Juuzbe, thanks for the info, yeah i have paid 10% of the total bill and if i cancel the deposit will be taken as well. But at least my gf agreed on staying there so it wont be much of a gf issue also. i will be reaching HK at midnight on 4th dec n i will be staying for 4 nites in the USAhotel while 1 nite at disneyland. The price wise for the 4 nites USAhotel equals the 1 nite of disneyland btw. :s13: i m only scared of the "wondering people" that pple mentioned. well but my friends who just went there last week said that HK is really a safe place(like singapore), but there are some rotten eggs around so juz have becareful.

Hi travmufc, window room is not bout the view bout its bout the room. Window rooms come wih scanning card technologies for the doors where normal rooms uses keys. The room is much more presentable and bigger as compared to the ones w/o the windows. :s13: Well hopefully i will be as lucky as u n get a window room. *cross fingers*

Hi icemelon, with regards to your questions.

1) http://www.asiarooms.com/hong_kong/index.html <-- try this website on the different hotels that you can see. TYpically do not book hotels in HK island as it is expensive and very inconvenient. Mongkok is like orchard. Thats a reference point where you can start off with.

2) Depends on your objectives i guess. Shopping wise cheap clothings can go fa yuen street, temple street, ladies street. ocean park, taking cable car ride, visiting esprit,adidas,g2000 warehouses, avenue of stars,etc etc...

3) For girls i heard from one of my gal friend who went just last week is to buy from the streets i mentioned above. Belt costs like $2SGD, jeans less than $20SGD, t-shirts / tops going at less than $10SGD etc etc.. but branded goods like LV,Guuci they have original boutiques but the cost compared to singapore is just alittle cheaper. Where the streets sell Grade As with catalog somemore.

Hope this helps.........................

juuzbe

Hi Fritters,
Guess Mirador Mansion should be safe, since they have a security guard at the lobby, unlike Chungking Mansion, where there is a shopping alley there with many blacks roaming around....

Ya, you booked online through hostel web right? Lucky you've paid 10%, for me I liaise with Dragon's owner direct and paid first night stay thru Paypal. Ya I agree that one stay in disneyland is equivalent to few nites stay in the hostel, similar to Hotels in TST and Mongkok :) that is why I've been pondering hotel or hostel stay for my 8-nights there....

Since you staying in Disneyland, please note with 1 nite there, you can visit your disneyland park for 2 days. There's a promotion going on... do bring along some stuff for the hotel stay, for I've been told the shops close early in Disneyland, hence it might be difficult to find food late nights, except a convenient shop there bah.

Fritters

Hi Juuzbe, yeah i booked through online. But dun worry bout your hostel man. the only bad review i have heard mostly is place is small.. but which HK hotel room is not small ? :s13:

Yeah i heard bout the ticket for 2 day pass too.. but not sure if have time for 2 days as the next day i m flying back to sg. Well i guess 1 full day of disneyland is enough.. tks for the info on the food part, i wasnt aware of it. :)

Hows your preparation for your trip ? ?

juuzbe

hmm... me purchased the air-tickets and booked the hostel liao. the rest had not planned out yet. But will visit Ocean Park, Disneyland for the kids' sake, entrance tix not purchased for not sure which date visiting yet. The Peak and Big Buddha is for my MIL's sake. :) Will take it easy since having 7 full days (minus out the flight dates). Dim sum and their local food is a muz :s12: :D

Now is thinking how to get from airport to Mongkok, for I'm arriving in evenign (7.30pm). Thinking of taking the cab but not sure if the cab can take us 3 adults w 2 kiddos... :s11:

juuzbe

also intend to plan a day to Macau. Not sure how to get around after reaching macau's jetty. Intend to visit their new casino to have a look. Is weekend normally packed due to many go to gamble there? If yes, probably will go on a weekday. Anyone can advise how to roam around once reached and any places to go? had a very very bad experience for people tailing and hoaxing to take their transport to drive you around, hence very skeptical about this place. Otherwise will give it a miss.

Fritters

Hi juuzbe, take taxi very ex leh... i suggest take airport express. disneyland tickets better book early to avoid sold out tickets esp on weekends.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.