'I felt I was blamed': How applying for maternity leave can be stressful

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Prime 13

I think it ish tiem to honestly ask, does a female going on maternity leave hab tangible negative impact on the business and co-workers?

If yes. then any penalty against female going on maternity leave ish actually for real tangible reasons.
Please do not gaslight thish into an issue of 'equality'.

Thish ish machiam a female contributes less and even cause inconveniences to the business and workers, but yet demand to be treated equal to another employee who contributes more and does not cause inconveniences.

Also note that juz bcoz maternity leave ish an entitlement, it doesn't mean it isn't also an unfair privilege for females. Lets recognize juz bcoz something ish mandated by law doesn't automatically mean it ish fair and just.

The best way going forward ish for females to know for them to be granted exceptional gender-based privileges rike maternity leave, they hab to bring exceptional benefits to the business and co-workers. If female employees are truly of such calibre business and co-workers will hab no problem withe the feamles take tiem off for maternity leave.

jack-320

This is called propaganda to make sinkies work work work

and not produce baby

while government keep on importing FTs

song bo

iluvchickenwing

i know one case where the manager angry cos frend got pregnant right after getting the job. lol she kena arrow on lots of work duno on purpose or wat... end up she auto resign before 3 months. :LOL:

dambio

i know one case where the manager angry cos frend got pregnant right after getting the job. lol she kena arrow on lots of work duno on purpose or wat... end up she auto resign before 3 months. :LOL:
So tis manager n tat friend is still friends? Kena played out leh😂

jacko123

the horror stories from those that need to cover women on maternity never ending one.
i generally don't hire females below 40, unless it's a temporary/contract job.

grevq80o

Did you know that maternity leave is paid by the gov? not paid by company hor. So there is no loss hor. You can hire contract during that period. dont blame mothers if company stingy and dont hire replacments.
U r another naive sinkie think PAP is all angel and saint.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/leave/maternity-leave/eligibility-and-entitlement

Please read carefully. Maternity leave is not fully paid by Gov.

Ofcuz when u say ish paid by Gov is not wrong, cuz Gov only pay partial. Paying partial still ish pay.

campoix

Need to compete with jhks going back hometown. Or they alr pre book for big festivities is d worst.
My ex company gave priority to foreigners to chope leave for holidays but revert after many complaints from local. Global HR shut it down.

I fully agree on maternity leave. And based on my experience, my fellow colleagues are supportive of it and I never see any woman abuse the leave.

Prime 13

I also not a subtle unfair bias in such reporting.

Thish issue of maternity leave ish always focus on woes of female staffs going on maternity leave.

Where are the reporks focusing on bosses/supervisors and co-workers who suffer negative impact by females going on maternity leave?

grevq80o

Did you know that maternity leave is paid by the gov? not paid by company hor. So there is no loss hor. You can hire contract during that period. dont blame mothers if company stingy and dont hire replacments.
U r really xxx. No wonder PAP voted in every year. Lie to ur face u still believe them.

dambio

My ex company gave priority to foreigners to chope leave for holidays but revert after many complaints from local. Global HR shut it down.
Yea man. Last time many users here alr shared their company hv tis practice. Esp if hr is jhks.

Ur company good. At least revert n treated all equally. Not listen to their sob stories.

dambio

paisey... type too fast :LOL: manager and her friend no more in contact. few years later, the hubby of that frend who auto resigned said they divorced liao.
U eat popcorn till u puke 😂

Tats y if wanna play liddis. Word will spread, hiring prospects will be hindered. Plus character also is a doubt.

Sillyporeboy

Yes. Please feel blamed. Why are you getting paid for getting pika-ed, inseminated and doing nothing else while men have to cover your task despite getting nothing extra in return.

Weng123

Frankly, I am not sure what they are expecting.

As a friend, I am genuinely happy to see a colleague get pregnant.

As a colleague, I also cannot deny that that there will be an impact in the workplace. Only thing is whether it ends up affecting me or not. Like you get your colleague to cover your duties in your absence, but they are not paid extra.

As for promotion, the pregnant lady was not around for half a year, so she naturally has fewer accomplishments on her work review compared to her peers. Also, the point of taking on a higher position is that you are presumably capable of carrying out those extra duties, which you likely can’t if you aren’t around for roughly half a year. From an operations perspective, why shouldn’t that role go to someone else who will be around the entire year and therefore able to contribute to the company in a more meaningful manner?

Why do they expect to have their cake and eat it too?
Because women…

Travis_Touchdown

Chiu gib birth chiur own daijiz... All the fts come here chiongz work ot max to upz coy profit and country gdp... chiu cannotch get promotion / increment chiur own daijiz... lunch notch stolen oredi steal laugh riaoz... :frown:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.