I realise in SG really cannot dun work. Every sec running, bills are running. Electricity at home is running. Water tap running. Got out, No in.

TurboBumbleBee

Not too bad haha...see 1 to 8...

As long a farmer not a materialistic minded person a small farm...peace time sell some for some cash and during war time for own consumption like my friend I think its not a stressful or suicidal case..
Oh i see i still thought very serious until people must study… like this maybe i consider farming too

StoopiakIdiot

actually hor,
you just need 500k USD, then throw in IBKR
4.85% interest

Anuual = 24,250 USD
monthly = 2,020 USD monthly

enough for your biils.

0 risk. no need to trade anyway,

focus1974

actually hor,
you just need 500k USD, then throw in IBKR
4.85% interest

Anuual = 24,250 USD
monthly = 2,020 USD monthly

enough for your biils.

0 risk. no need to trade anyway,

but last 10+ years .. jin cham.
earning 0-1% only.

IndigoEyes

Grass always appear greener on the other side. There's really nothing that is free. Those who said that there're countries that gives free X/Y/Z are not aware it always come with a cost. They give something free, they take back something else.

BleuBunni

No lah. Is to express not just the financial strain facing but also a deeper emotional e.g. stress, anxiety, frustration in response to the demands of living in a high-cost environment.

There a feeling of being caught in a cycle of financial pressure, where the constant flow of expenses is overwhelming.
After the announcement of the cpf change. I got sleepless nights and mild anxiety.
Our retirements will never be secured since the goalpost keeps moving.
Cardboard exercising will be competitive in the future.

rodimus_prime

After the announcement of the cpf change. I got sleepless nights and mild anxiety.
Our retirements will never be secured since the goalpost keeps moving.
Cardboard exercising will be competitive in the future.
Honestly, no one should rely on CPF for retirement. Even with the new ERS, it’s insufficient.

I would strongly recommend retirees to plan on CPF Life as supplemental income to other investments like rental property, stocks or dividends. In other words, plan on CPF Life to account for no more than 30% of your target retirement income.

BleuBunni

Honestly, no one should rely on CPF for retirement. Even with the new ERS, it’s insufficient.

I would strongly recommend retirees to plan on CPF Life as supplemental income to other investments like rental property, stocks or dividends. In other words, plan on CPF Life to account for no more than 30% of your target retirement income.
My worry is my cpf kena “confiscated” when my time comes.

rodimus_prime

My worry is my cpf kena “confiscated” when my time comes.
Outright confiscation won’t happen. But erosion of value is guaranteed. Don’t worry and just go with the flow. As you progress in life and your career, identify and seize opportunities to grow your nest egg or achieve your desired lifestyle and standard of living - whether in or outside of SG. SG is not THE world…

nikon853

Work and spent within your means.
Save if you can, every ones situation is different.
Most important be blessed for good heath.
Good health is also money and freedom.

Joe Mahmood

yup.
even if you can lived in slums inside the forest...
they will chase you out once they find you.

and go east coast or changi airport sleep is out of the question.

if not, it's quite possible to not pay electricity and water.

The man who lived in a Singapore forest for 30 years​

By Peter Hoskins​

BBC News, Singapore​

20 February 2022

On meeting Oh Go Seng the first thing that strikes you is the glint in his eye.

He wears his 79 years very lightly, looking in far better shape than many people half his age.

Earlier this month, the story of Mr Oh living in a forest went viral in Singapore - with many across the country reacting with shock.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-60284352

The man who lived in a Singapore forest for 30 years

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.