Johor Bahru kopitiam - TCSS on anything JB and beyond

Meemoosaa

Have you been saying su-te-ra to your drivers? :grin:

Not to drivers, but just between ourselves, with friends and in my head. I only got the right pronounciation when driver asked to confirm "Taman SUTRA" ? And then I checked again with beauty therapist during facial.. thats when I realised I got it wrong all this time. hehe

SongManKranji

Not to drivers, but just between ourselves, with friends and in my head. I only got the right pronounciation when driver asked to confirm "Taman SUTRA" ? And then I checked again with beauty therapist during facial.. thats when I realised I got it wrong all this time. hehe
Driver didn't drive u to Holland ah heng ah 🤣

Meemoosaa

CS huat ah, getting an upgrade soon ! I'm very curious about the health and wellness hub, wonder what it's all about !

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/in...utm_source=telegram&utm_medium=social-organic

"The redevelopment will roll out in five phases, with the mall remaining operational throughout.

Key features include a 15,000 square foot (sq ft) Kids Adventure Park, a 41,300 sq ft health and wellness hub, a large-format event space and integrated hotel apartments slated for completion in the second quarter of 2028, introducing a live-work-play dimension to the site."

e7350c75f971073b2af4f3186576dd4b151180202d0eb9404c52b38f0157015d

elvintay07

For those who stay near Sunway Big box. Where do you go? Anything interesting?

Habrosus

CS huat ah, getting an upgrade soon ! I'm very curious about the health and wellness hub, wonder what it's all about !

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/in...utm_source=telegram&utm_medium=social-organic

"The redevelopment will roll out in five phases, with the mall remaining operational throughout.

Key features include a 15,000 square foot (sq ft) Kids Adventure Park, a 41,300 sq ft health and wellness hub, a large-format event space and integrated hotel apartments slated for completion in the second quarter of 2028, introducing a live-work-play dimension to the site."

I'm curious about the integrated hotel apartments. Will this free up the crowded St Giles situation, or will it create a whole new population?

oceanpriest

Lucky din mistake Taman Daya and Taman Gaya :ROFLMAO:

oceanpriest

good, more sinkies will go jb, stay at CS, eat at CS, shopping at CS, then go back sg again. safest place in jb :grin:

actually better idea, can "enbloc" that merlin tower and build hotel+city square 2, connect with bridge from city square

Meemoosaa

For those who stay near Sunway Big box. Where do you go? Anything interesting?

If you are going on foot, there is a CW bus that leaves as late as 10:15pm from that area towards Tuas custom. Comes only once every hour though but very punctual. Will share more if you are interested.

Check out Sunway Boulevard88 cluster of restaurants, bakeries, eateries and even 1 or 2 massage place. It's walkable from Sunway big box actually. If you need specific recommendations then let me know, otherwise can just google that area.

There are also some eateries in the big box retail park area but selections less exciting I feel. Dona bakehouse is there too. Sports direct, a large Watson, several home interior shops, 1 or 2 beauty/massage place.

There is a small mall at the end (closer to starbucks/family mart) with a guardian, cafe, famous amos, cinema and some kids adventure area on the second floor. There's also a new karaoke place on the second floor now if I'm not wrong There is Book Xcess on the other extreme end (near NSK) which I love to just go there to browse books and see look. Good value too !

If you are done quickly, can also go to Citrine Hub ( but it is further away so need to grab) and there is a Jaya grocer, cat cafe, some restaurants and cafes on the second floor with good views. It's the quietest yet decent small mall in JB I ever come across but I love it.

If you are also done with all of the above quickly, then next closest but more exciting civillization is Eco Botanic.. less than 10 mins drive / grab away.

In general, Sunway is a quieter and chill area. If you are thinking it's gonna be like the buzz of KSL and CS, then you need to manage expectations. :grin:

oceanpriest

If you are going on foot, there is a CW bus that leaves as late as 10:15pm from that area towards Tuas custom. Comes only once every hour though but very punctual. Will share more if you are interested.

Check out Sunway Boulevard88 cluster of restaurants, bakeries, eateries and even 1 or 2 massage place. It's walkable from Sunway big box actually. If you need specific recommendations then let me know, otherwise can just google that area.

There are also some eateries in the big box retail park area but selections less exciting I feel. Dona bakehouse is there too. Sports direct, a large Watson, several home interior shops, 1 or 2 beauty/massage place.

There is a small mall at the end (closer to starbucks/family mart) with a guardian, cafe, famous amos, cinema and some kids adventure area on the second floor. There's also a new karaoke place on the second floor now if I'm not wrong There is Book Xcess on the other extreme end (near NSK) which I love to just go there to browse books and see look. Good value too !

If you are done quickly, can also go to Citrine Hub ( but it is further away so need to grab) and there is a Jaya grocer, cat cafe, some restaurants and cafes on the second floor with good views. It's the quietest yet decent small mall in JB I ever come across but I love it.

If you are also done with all of the above quickly, then next closest but more exciting civillization is Eco Botanic.. less than 10 mins drive / grab away.

In general, Sunway is a quieter and chill area. If you are thinking it's gonna be like the buzz of KSL and CS, then you need to manage expectations. :grin:
that jaya grocer so warm, better grab to eco botanic jaya grocer, way cooler and bigger, more selections also. can chill at mamasita also :grin:

what else u tried there at sunway boulevard other than monnalisa? saw peranakan rest and nasi padang rest also looks quite good from google maps. how bout bob's grill?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.