...lai liao...Unfair If Home-Based Diners Who Could Earn $1Mil Annually Exempt From Govt Regulations, Says Ex-Restaurateur

BMWguy

Same as PHV, next time ppl go buy houses and use it as restaurant, childcare, SPA, tuition centre aka tools to earn profit, no need to apply for licence..
==> everyone all go buy properties and use it for business purpose (food, childcare,tuition centre even SPA) and since the profit can used to pay for instalment so everyone go buy houses liao.. same principle as everyone buying car to drive as PHV becos the earnings can be used to pay for instalment even if they cannot really afford a car

In the end, everyone buying cars and houses ==> car price and housing price will shoot up and up... then govt will say they will monitor

drkcynic

1m? Barking up the wrong tree.

How many home based diners can make this kind of money?

Even if close down a few also like that.

They should be targeting those that do big scale dining. Home based should just be like sell sandwich or coffee instead of cooking up a storm with many staff kind.

Philipkee

home based how to earn 1mil?
the smaller space will restrict earnings also ma

revenue 1m, $2739 collected in revenue per day, very easy to achieve this number to be honest

lets just say your profit margin is 10%, which is 100k
you only make $7000+ per mth after taxes
Let me just say two things

If home based, obviously there is no rental. So assume it’s $20k a month rental for a similar sized fnb outlet, that’s $240k extra earnings Liao

And I don’t understand why u say smaller space less earnings? Unless u r saying it’s a hdb flat. Many small cafes or restaurants have the size of a private house. In fact I think some WERE private houses

Example - young’s cafe at Seletar aerospace park, alkaff mansions at Telok Blangah heights

it’s just how u arrange the furniture

cyke69sg

It’s obviously a legal offence to operate a commercial restaurant/cafe at a residential address, avoid taxes, regulations etc. Another issue is food hygiene.

But the whites are closing both eyes because of high rentals due to uncontrolled inflation.

Same goes for PMDs and bicycles on roads, disregarding traffic rules but LTA/TP act blur live longer. They have no answer to rising COE prices and foreigners reserving these good delivery/ride jobs for sinkies.
Just goes to show how easy it is to make money in SG.
Home based restaurant also $1m.

Those actually restaurant easily hundreds of millions a year.

enimen

Home restaurant no foot traffic leh. Can only rely on word of mouth or social media. If no one knows u exist, they will never go eat at your place

fortunehunter

1m?
Lol got big cannon a not.
That's about 2k per day of revenue.
They need to cater people breakfast, lunch, tea break, dinner and supper ah

lampano

home based how to earn 1mil?
the smaller space will restrict earnings also ma

Let me just say two things

If home based, obviously there is no rental. So assume it’s $20k a month rental for a similar sized fnb outlet, that’s $240k extra earnings Liao

And I don’t understand why u say smaller space less earnings? Unless u r saying it’s a hdb flat. Many small cafes or restaurants have the size of a private house. In fact I think some WERE private houses
its not just targeting home cafesonly
this guy place i went to, can host 2 table of 10pax dinner, meal about 1.5k each table wo alcohol.
the 2 times i went , had booking 1year , and 6mths.
last i heard expand his car pouch, can host 3-4 tables now.

quite famous, even featured on TV before.

its landed at east coast.

seeseelooklook

I had dinner at the said million dollar home business Sam Wong's house before.

His terrace is segregated into 3 or 4 eating rooms, some big and some small. Some can accommodate 12 pax, some 8. I think overall 30 pax is accurate.

He charges $130 per diner and his food, some good some okok. His specialty duck soup was pretty good. Crayfish kway teow was ok ok only

The thing is, he is always full house, and I am not surprised when the article says he is fully booked till Mar 2026.

So not surprising that his revenue is close to a million. With lesser overhead, I believe his profit margin can reach 50% or more. His only costs are ingredients, condiments, electricity, water and gas.

zuoom

Unlikely the terrace unit will cross 1m in a year.
Say they open everyday. will need to cross over $2700 everyday.

Am I'm pretty sure it's not an everyday event.

Regular yes, but unlikely everyday at over $2700 worth at least.

AuraKUPO

Green eyed monster ....
Don't complain when you tio food poisoning or found cockroach in your home based food. No regulations, no food safety and hygiene checks, no insurance.

Yet they can continue to operate without license, rental, fixed cost, hiring cost, income tax, gst, business tax.

lampano

I had dinner at the said million dollar home business Sam Wong's house before.

His terrace is segregated into 3 or 4 eating rooms, some big and some small. Some can accommodate 12 pax, some 8. I think overall 30 pax is accurate.

He charges $130 per diner and his food, some good some okok. His specialty duck soup was pretty good.

The thing is, he is always full house, and I am not surprised when the article says he is fully booked till Mar 2026.

So not surprising that his revenue is close to a million. With lesser overhead, I believe his profit margin can reach 50% or more. His only costs are ingredients, condiments, electricity, water and gas.
hahaha i am sure many will refer to this particular
the 2x i went only can place 2 tables only...
:s22:

AuraKUPO

Unlikely the terrace unit will cross 1m in a year.
Say they open everyday. will need to cross over $2700 everyday.

Am I'm pretty sure it's not an everyday event.

Regular yes, but unlikely everyday at over $2700 worth at least.
Why not? No need rental, no need to hire staff, no need to maintain area, no need to pay tax. These alone can save a lot

zuoom

Save cost is save cost.

To make that $2700 in revenue means every single day, there is say 20 pax paying $135.

Every single day.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.