[Live 5:30PM] Over 90% may need to be vaccinated to protect against new Covid-19 strain: Expert

tiredman

These experts did not get their deserved repercussions over the no need to wear mask if not sick mantra, I would not believe these 'experts' again

Sent from 你是我的小啊小苹果儿怎么爱你都不嫌多红红的小脸儿温暖我的心窝点亮我生命的火火火火火火 using GAGT

Best Is such thing if lucky take 5-10 years get effect

By the time maybe they can blame the it's caused by other complications. Haha

sizzy6

expert? dont anyhow label lah

we dont need expert.. just listen to WHO can liao mah

WHO say healthy no need mask just listen can liao

Medicated Oil

Tell the experts to go eat shix.
Dun come out and talk so much nonsense all the time.
What happened if it does not protect ?
Chop their kuku bird ?

eno_lc

Experts also say healthy no need wear mask wor. But can easily flip prata and say bcos of new evidence

yperic

Instead of aiming to get 80% of the Singapore population vaccinated against Covid-19, "we may be now looking at 90% or even higher", says a health expert.

Avant-Garde

Experts also said 'healthy don't wear mask'. At this point, every edmwer also expert liao.

Sent from Nokia 3310 using GAGT

Avant-Garde

Experts also say healthy no need wear mask wor. But can easily flip prata and say bcos of new evidence
Exactly. Even kenneth mak that "professor" also said don't need mask, if I'm not mistaken. Who else can we trust now?

Sent from Nokia 3310 using GAGT

Hikida

get LHL and the PAP plus all their families take first
want to use people as their white mice

yperic

More S'poreans may have to be vaccinated as more contagious Covid-19 strains detected: Public health school dean

yq-sgvaccine2-24122020.jpg

Current research indicates that new strains will not affect the effectiveness of vaccines.PHOTO: ST FILE

SINGAPORE - With the discovery of new, more contagious strains of the Covid-19 virus in Britain and South Africa, it may now be important for more Singaporeans to get vaccinated against the coronavirus, said a health expert here.

Professor Teo Yik Ying, dean of the Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health at the National University of Singapore, said on Thursday (Dec 24): "This is the only way we can continue to ensure that the community as a whole is protected."

This means that instead of aiming to get 80 per cent of the population here to be vaccinated against Covid-19, "we may be now looking at 90 per cent or even higher", said Prof Teo, who was speaking in a video interview with The Straits Times on its daily online talk show The Big Story.

The Health Ministry's chief health scientist Professor Tan Chorh Chuan previously told ST that at least 80 per cent of Singapore's population would have to be vaccinated in order to achieve herd immunity against Covid-19.

The new B117 strain of Covid-19 circulating in Britain has been reported to be more contagious, but has not shown signs of being more lethal or severe.

Singapore recorded its first case of this strain on Wednesday - a 17-year-old Singaporean girl who had returned home from Britain.

Prof Teo said on Thursday that current research indicates that new strains will not affect the effectiveness of vaccines, though a better understanding of the new strains is needed before determining the likely impact and making appropriate policy decisions.

"Governments are concerned (about the new strains) because of the impact that they have in managing the spread of Covid-19 in the community, and also any potential impact on vaccine effectiveness and quality control measures," said Prof Teo.

"But for individuals like you and me, as long as we continue to diligently practise the necessary safe management measures, there is no need to be overly concerned with this new mutations," he added, referring to the new strains.

Present research also indicates that the new strains are transmitted between people in the same way as the older strains, though it is more contagious, as an infected person with the new variant may have a higher viral load in his upper respiratory tract, said Prof Teo.

This is why existing measures like wearing a mask properly and maintaining the necessary social distance, if followed, can still minimise the chance of an infected person passing on the virus to someone who is healthy, he said.

Prof Teo also advised that during the year-end festive period, Singaporeans should continue to follow safe distancing rules and measures to keep themselves, as well as their family and friends, safe from the coronavirus.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...n=STFB&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1608808082

tauntme

Healthy don't need wear mask.. Now who will believe them lol

starlust

assuming vaccine protects against old strain
new strain need new vaccine bo? :o

Ohayo!

u guys realise that they want to whole population vaccinated & use TT to protect you,

but more importantly,

their FT (can continue to bring in, infected or not), and prevent a bubble from bursting.

what bubble u may ask?

property bubble, economic bubble due to over reliance on foreign labor.

86technie

u guys realise that they want to whole population vaccinated & use TT to protect you,

but more importantly,

their FT (can continue to bring in, infected or not), and prevent a bubble from bursting.

what bubble u may ask?

Economy bubble for GDP growth.
They want whole SG population to be vaccinated but keep importing
don't say not effective.

Like UK new strain import here than vaccinated got use?
UK already ban, countries like India still haven't yet.
Some countries cannot touch?

Or their curry can fight the virus? :s22:

HirotoXeno

but more importantly,

what bubble u may ask?

But must have some safety nets how much is the payout if you are killed by complication from the vaccine?

Ohayo!

Economy bubble for GDP growth.
They want whole SG population to be vaccinated but keep importing
don't say not effective.

Like UK new strain import here than vaccinated got use?
UK already ban, countries like India still haven't yet.
Some countries cannot touch?

Or their curry can fight the virus? :s22:

they refuse to stop importing despite all the daily cases. yet keep pushing for TT & vaccines, this means they intend us to live with the virus.

very puzzling if u ask me.

even if vaccine ineffective towards new strains, there wont be any or much change to their strategy. we are much too $ invested in india to 'abandon' them. if u ask me, we are pretty much held gunpoint by them at this time.

definitely they know these ppl are coming in through loopholes but did absolutely nothing to stop it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.