[LIVE AS WE GO] Pritam Singh goes on trial for charges of lying to Parliament

mryang

I find Mr Jumabhoy questioning style suits US jury system more... he casts a lot of reasonable doubt into witnesses account... a lot of inconsistencies in witnesses evidence... the juries sure got a lot of doubts about the reliability of the witnesses...

But here is Judge base system... so ultimately still up to the judge to decide...
he is
UK Train a barrister

Mancunian2

Referee went to the monitor to look at VAR liao....
9b154f92-ab13-4069-a65c-69472b8aaa17.jpg

Capitalist

I find Mr Jumabhoy questioning style suits US jury system more... he casts a lot of reasonable doubt into witnesses account... a lot of inconsistencies in witnesses evidence... the juries sure got a lot of doubts about the reliability of the witnesses...

But here is Judge base system... so ultimately still up to the judge to decide...
I think the proper term is 'bench trial'.

Plenty of arguments over which is 'better' .... bench trial or jury trial.

Each to their own, I suppose.

xdivider

removed after marshall won using jury system......

NTB2DO

yperic

Pritam Singh and Yudhishthra Nathan arrive in court

543783.jpg
91a67e.jpg

Workers’ Party (WP) chief Pritam Singh (top, right) arrives in court for the seventh day of his trial. He is accompanied by one of his lawyers, Mr Aristotle Emmanuel Eng (top, left).

Former WP cadre Yudhishthra Nathan (above) also arrives. His cross-examination will continue today.

The hearing is slated to begin at 11.20am.

ST PHOTOS: KELVIN CHNG

wongkc

I think the proper term is 'bench trial'.

Plenty of arguments over which is 'better' .... bench trial or jury trial.

Each to their own, I suppose.

Both have its merits and disadvantage...

Actually why not have a hybrid system... for criminal and most civil cases can use Bench Trial...

But for more sensitive cases and cases that potentially can be influenced/biased by higher power/people or political in nature... use Jury System...

but then... PAP sure wun want Jury System... and to be fair... no political ruling power will want it...

Capitalist

As the good old saying goes, You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink.

and conveniently, you chose to ignore what transpired during this trial as well....
That chronological sequence is furnished by 'Mr Singh laid out the timeline of events'.

While PAP has her own flaws, .. hey! Nobody's perfect! ... it doesn't sit well, at least with me, that the LOTO allowed his member to persist with a lie, .. when he, along with couple of others, were aware she's outright lying since 6 weeks ago.

In Parliament no less. On such a platform.

Will PAP be allowed such allowances/tolerance, if LHL/LW had knowingly allowed one of their MPs to push on with a false narrative, in a Parliament .. and essentially to the public, including his/her constituents?

Fair is fair, no?

NTB2DO

So it sounds like he is the one who wanted to maintain the narrative in the first place.

sounds like he had beef with pritam because pritam didn't want to speak on behalf of RK about the lie and wanted her to come clean herself.
He blames the wrong person though, it's not PS but RK who started it all.. who got he, LPY and many many more into trouble.

Kiwi8

That chronological sequence is furnished by 'Mr Singh laid out the timeline of events'.

While PAP has her own flaws, .. hey! Nobody's perfect! ... it doesn't sit well, at least with me, that the LOTO allowed his member to persist with a lie, .. when he, along with couple of others, were aware she's outright lying since 6 weeks ago.

In Parliament no less. On such a platform.

Will PAP be allowed such allowances/tolerance, if LHL/LW had knowingly allowed one of their MPs to push on with a false narrative, in a Parliament .. and essentially to the public, including his/her constituents?

Fair is fair, no?
Lee Hsien Loong also did not say anything for about 2 years when he knew the affair between Tan Chuan Jin and Cheng Li Hui rite? Which one more serious? :s22:

U fair meh? :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.