Loan Shark Harassment and how to stop it

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mindline.sg has helpful resources for you. More info

25chic

Normally those in office are in-charge of loan. For payment issue, they will ask you to call their collector. And collector is different from debts collector. For payment negotiation, you have to liaise with the collector. And if no payment or default, the collector will send debts collector to either your house or office and give you a demand letter.

In this case, there wasn't any collector. Straightaway refer to debt collector (DC). Even for payment negotiation they asked to deal with DC. Not sure if this is according to practice and if it isn't, will not hesitate to report. DC contacted me via whatsapp only and LML pushed me to deal with DC. I offered to go down to DC office but DC called LML mobile to speak.

25chic

U better go the debt collector they got licence to visit Ur hse ...I kena before

I nego with DC for instalment but he insisted I make a payment before can do instalment. Very AL right? I even offered to go down to DC office. Told me no payment no discussion. After that reduce the amount and say he nicer now.

Maybe HE WANT TO TRY is it? Strange.

Sharuu

I nego with DC for instalment but he insisted I make a payment before can do instalment. Very AL right? I even offered to go down to DC office. Told me no payment no discussion. After that reduce the amount and say he nicer now.

Lol!

How long have you been their customer? I'm not sure how LML works, but I'm guessing it's like when banks pass bad debts to their collectors and that means it's off their hands already.

Harri83

can you make some payment first then negotiate for the installment ?

Jjlin1205

Lol!

How long have you been their customer? I'm not sure how LML works, but I'm guessing it's like when banks pass bad debts to their collectors and that means it's off their hands already.
Lml is license Al when u signed on the contract terms n condition already stated

Jjlin1205

ANSWER MY QUESTION FIRST: HAVE YOU LIAISE WITH DEBT COLLECTOR BEFORE??

Yes must pay la..no money no talk.u sign on the contract when u obtain the loan..debt collection come in when yr repayment is not prompt and they job is to chase u for money..u better pay them.if not things really get ugly..debt collector show up at yr hse with letter of demand

25chic

Yes must pay la..no money no talk.u sign on the contract when u obtain the loan..debt collection come in when yr repayment is not prompt and they job is to chase u for money..u better pay them.if not things really get ugly..debt collector show up at yr hse with letter of demand

Actually I have paid a small amount but LML insisted to handover to DC.

Jjlin1205

Actually I have paid a small amount but LML insisted to handover to DC.

Yr weekly repayment is how much.u shld followed their weekly repayment scheme coz u sign on the contract ...not up to u to pay whatever u can afford

Harri83

Harri83: PLEASE ANSWER MY QUESTION FIRST. HAVE YOU LIAISE WITH DEBT COLLECTOR BEFORE??

No need so rude use all the capital letter.
You take people money and expect no need to pay back on time ?
You can makan AL money because you can say they are scammer.
LML is different.
You had signed everything black and white.
Police can't even help you. Believe me, debt collector will dare you call police come. The more you are no face in front of your house or office.
LML is not wrong for chasing you to pay back when the loan is due.
They are not wrong for ignoring you since you don't even want to pay back a single cent.
Normally LML will pass over to debt collector to collect the loan.
They have no obligation to give you lower installment payment.
That's why I keep asking you talk to them face to face and beg them for help for lower installment.
They already helping you for asking you to pay some money first before start talking about installment.
You are so guailan don't even want to pay anything and expect people accede to your demand for lower installments.
How to talk ? When you don't even want to pay back some money first ?
Meanwhile you are blaming LML act like ah long for not follow your demand ?
Well Done. :s13:

Harri83

Yr weekly repayment is how much.u shld followed their weekly repayment scheme coz u sign on the contract ...not up to u to pay whatever u can afford

She is thinking she is the correct one and can do anything.
I already said many times LML is different from Ah Long.

Harri83

Yes. Must pay back to LML if don't want someone show up at office or home.
They will give a letter of demand.

25chic

There's no weekly repayment. Was a payday loan. They asked for that amount which I paid but they still handover to debt collector.

Jjlin1205

LML is different.
Police can't even help you. Believe me, debt collector will dare you call police come. The more you are no face in front of your house or office.
They are not wrong for ignoring you since you don't even want to pay back a single cent.
That's why I keep asking you talk to them face to face and beg them for help for lower installment.
They already helping you for asking you to pay some money first before start talking about installment.
You are so guailan don't even want to pay anything and expect people accede to your demand for lower installments.

He too stress la..anyway he shld fear lml more than Al as he everything is in black and white. Yes debtor collect will challenged u to call police with their letter of demand on hand police also cannot do anything abt it.trust me lml is more guailan..from my personal experience I kena those heavily tattoo debt collector appearing at my hse with letter of demand.talk very loudly till my next door neighbor open door to see what the commotion abt

Harri83

There's no weekly repayment. Was a payday loan. They asked for that amount which I paid but they still handover to debt collector.

They will only do that if your payment is not prompt or the amount is very less than what's agreed. They will incurred some loss when hand over to debt collector.

Jjlin1205

They will only do that if your payment is not prompt or the amount is very less than what's agreed. They will incurred some loss when hand over to debt collector.
Payloan even worse.like the loan stated u shld clear loan during payday..not pay installment

25chic

LML is different.

I went face to face with LML but they dont want to give instalment. I paid what they asked for yet they handover to Debt Collector. I didn't ask for lower instalments, they just pushed everything to Debt Collector. I talked to Debt Collector, offered to go down to their office yet then amount reduced but still must make another payment before can do instalment.

I'm not running. And yes, LML is worst.

Jjlin1205

I went face to face with LML but they dont want to give instalment. I paid what they asked for yet they handover to Debt Collector. I didn't ask for lower instalments, they just pushed everything to Debt Collector. I talked to Debt Collector, offered to go down to their office yet then amount reduced but still must make another payment before can do instalment.

I'm not running. And yes, LML is worst.

I don't think u clear the loan.payday loan is to be repay during yr next payday..but u mention u pay but not clear

Stress

To be frank licensed money lender don't even dream of running away coz they have black n white... they have the right to stand infront of ur house ur workplace wherever they like they can do. they can appear infront of u. unlike ahlong... theirs is u owe them u pay them back on what u agree on... if really u can't... alot of loans to pay bank la LML la, go n apply for DRS. debt repayment scheme.. they will include all legal moneylender and bank loans into one lum sum amount n u have to start paying the instalment plan. if u keep on dragging, ur interest fees snow ball.. u more jialat... if u want to ask for lower payment fees, pay some amount n then do the talking with them..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.