Looking back, how useful was tuition, anyway?

CCCustom

My kids had Chinese enrichment since they were in Kindergarten … go into Primary school, elder kid Chinese always 80something 90something but English & Math not fantastic … add Science later also same thing, borderline passes.

We got them English & Math tuition, and elder kid went from 60something to 80something 90ish, Science no tuition still getting borderline passes.

End of the day I am convinced it’s not that like tutor is teaching them what they don’t know, but the tutor’s presence is there just to make them study. It’s not that we cannot do it ourselves … e.g. when Daddy go through their work, Math no need to look at answer sheet 1 … but the kids don’t want Daddy to teach because Daddy fierce :s8: and are resistant to learning if Daddy is the 1 doing the teaching.

Gweedkur31

Somehow, primary school tuition or even lower levels is not so effective, more like cram school do more drills and memorization work. Most tutors and even teachers can't intervene or do not have the right skillset to intervene if the kid is not ready or has learning roadblocks/issues (dyslexia, dyscalculia, dysgraphia, and ADHD). Most of these issues somehow resolve themselves as the kid matures or learn to work around them, so secondary school tuition can see better results.

jiagong

Never useful for me. I think it can be useful for primary school students to bridge gaps in learning but in secondary school, students are old enough and should learn how to learn, do past year papers etc

But if the industry is still alive and thriving, surely it is working right? And parents who don't intend to send their kids to tuition will do it just because everyone else is doing so and their child cannot lose out.

AndroidComa

ask all ginna pi, simi give up social skills...
ask these ppl again when they become parents, i think they will be the 1st to send their kids to tuition again cos, 'it worked for me, it must work for you also what!'

i was also no in the tuition culture before my kids enter primary school
after talking to the teachers, with a class size of more than 40 sometimes, u no doubt believe that tuition ultimately is still required for the child to score.... sch teachers have to teach all the students, language subjects for compo, compre, oral, vocab, etc etc.. each student is weak in 1 area
how the teachers cope?? when u question the teacher they will say yes we teach them, but different student absorb differently, and they only teach techniques, not much practice one

what MOE sci marker come out and say, we don't mark against key words, that's all loads of BS... PSLE marker say 1 thing, sch teacher say another thing.... when u talk to teachers they will tell u, but KEYWORDS explain the CONCEPT, the video fail to mention this....

and how far along are we already that math is still relying on model drawing, which is >40 years old now...

hachi

In elite schools, the teaching is now minimal. The teachers load the students with projects and non-traditional assignments. The weak students have to rely on external help to catch up.
Actually yes... But the psle got the magical power to select them out..

hachi

ask all ginna pi, simi give up social skills...
ask these ppl again when they become parents, i think they will be the 1st to send their kids to tuition again cos, 'it worked for me, it must work for you also what!'

i was also no in the tuition culture before my kids enter primary school
after talking to the teachers, with a class size of more than 40 sometimes, u no doubt believe that tuition ultimately is still required for the child to score.... sch teachers have to teach all the students, language subjects for compo, compre, oral, vocab, etc etc.. each student is weak in 1 area
how the teachers cope?? when u question the teacher they will say yes we teach them, but different student absorb differently, and they only teach techniques, not much practice one

what MOE sci marker come out and say, we don't mark against key words, that's all loads of BS... PSLE marker say 1 thing, sch teacher say another thing.... when u talk to teachers they will tell u, but KEYWORDS explain the CONCEPT, the video fail to mention this....

and how far along are we already that math is still relying on model drawing, which is >40 years old now...
That's why some schools at P4 they split students into different learning profile. Some sore about it but no choice... My kids primary school, the first 2 classes got 80% go into IP route. Too bad my younger belongs to the 20%..

ramlee

Question is, how useful is sinkie education? Ace everything, so? Does it give you competitive edge against foreigner and allows you to earn high salary?
can join civil service then work iron rice bowl jod :(

but must remember to vote for pap :(

ramlee

That's why some schools at P4 they split students into different learning profile. Some sore about it but no choice... My kids primary school, the first 2 classes got 80% go into IP route. Too bad my younger belongs to the 20%..
you never send him to tuition? :(

AndroidComa

yeah then some schools damn knn one, the better learning profile ones then the teachers kinda dun really teach and hope the kids score cos they can rely on parents and/or external tuition to pull up the grades...

hachi

yeah then some schools damn knn one, the better learning profile ones then the teachers kinda dun really teach and hope the kids score cos they can rely on parents and/or external tuition to pull up the grades...
Actually no... I find that those students easier to teach... So that school each teacher will have a good class and not so good class.

Like my kids class.. I think at P5 you throw them to PSLE most till go G3.

Subjects like math and Sci. Section A, usually full mark or 1-2 questions wrong.
The teachers will teach them how to score. Especially parts that they should get full marks...

ramlee

You were not?
U goody goody classroom scholar type.

Pri school, my classmates circulated Playboy and Penthouse magazines.

That's why in my time, our TFR was good. Now, the young tiko-sterile. Even with jav also cannot stimulate into better TFR.

I really suggest they should have sxx tuition.
we not like you :(

we circulated Playgirl :(

wwenze

I remember my pri school quite extreme. The best students went class number ending with "9", follow by "8", and then 7 to 1 is whatever or maybe 1 & 2 still meant something.

But end up still neighborhood school. The school eventually shrunk in size lol.

The phrase 丑人多作怪 is true in my places

diequick

Nt rich enuff to get tuition. Personal experience, the teacher really matters. My JC 1, whole grp best score, C5/C6. Really F up. yr 2 kena HoD take over. Every wk photostat articles etc. Yr2, whole class passed.

In uni yr 3, a module 301 or maybe 306, the lecturer WKK, really F up. cannot lecture. Split into tutorial grp, the tutor LBS took over, taught the whole syllabus again. Again, no one need to repeat.

SG education system, can produce results(PISA), but i dun think we learnt how to learn, how to take notes, how to "encode" the learning The secondary sch years are most impt, imho, to teach those skills. Nt photostat notes/wksheet, copy problems, repeat TYS, spot qn. I took classes in my 30s, wah, really kena found out, then go and find out, so there is all these learning techniques. What a waste, if I had mastered these techniques years ago.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.