[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

Status
Not open for further replies.

yukita

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
7,645
Reaction score
0
here is my test:

20-03-20131-52-01PM_zps2f72863e.jpg


network saturated i think...

Setup:
DS1812+ with 8x3TB WD Red Raid 10 with Lan1 and Lan2 doing Link aggregation on HP 1810-8G Switch.

Client:
Thinkpad X201 with Intel SSD 320 on gigabit ethernet.

all setup done without jumbo frame enabled.
 

SpyderMan

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2000
Messages
2,342
Reaction score
0
Those users with read and write speeds of 100+MB/s, are all your hardware connected directly to the router?

My setup cannot reach those enviable speeds you all are getting. Here's my setup and speed screenshot. Btw, are my speeds acceptable for my current setup? Or can the read/write speeds be improved?

Would appreciate any input or suggestions from anyone. TIA! :)

343p4k9.jpg


2edzg54.jpg
 
Last edited:

umpimp

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
Messages
1,748
Reaction score
0
here is my test:

20-03-20131-52-01PM_zps2f72863e.jpg


network saturated i think...

Setup:
DS1812+ with 8x3TB WD Red Raid 10 with Lan1 and Lan2 doing Link aggregation on HP 1810-8G Switch.

Client:
Thinkpad X201 with Intel SSD 320 on gigabit ethernet.

all setup done without jumbo frame enabled.


sorry to say speed are slow on Link aggregation
.the speed are same as without Link aggregation
 
Last edited:

civicguy

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
29,818
Reaction score
1,802
Spyder.. My set up is 100% similar as yours.. My fibre connection is in the living room with the router there too.. My switch is sitting in the study room with the rest of the PC/Mac etc and NAS of course....

Except my switch is Cisco SR2016T and all cables are CAT6 (including between living room router and study room switch.. under the floor :) )...

My NAS is DS1511+ running RAID 5

5qDsdr1.jpg
 

chuan

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2000
Messages
94
Reaction score
0
Hi guys :D Noob here again. Want to confirm before I buy DS413J.

  • I want to connect a NAS to one of the LAN port on the wireless router (4 LAN ports and 1 USB). The wireless router can also act as a switch right? This is the router http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/?categoryid=238&model=TL-WR1043ND

  • 3 PCs connected to router LAN ports to access the NAS.

  • 1 Printer connected to the router USB so that the 3 PCs can send print-job to the printer.

Thank you!
 

quekky

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2000
Messages
18,440
Reaction score
0
sorry to say speed are slow on Link aggregation
.the speed are same as without Link aggregation
don't think his thinkpad can do link aggregation

yukita, possible to try running the test on 2 laptops at the same time? See if you can get 200MB/s
 

TopGun

High Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
34,821
Reaction score
823
sorry to say speed are slow on Link aggregation
.the speed are same as without Link aggregation

PC to the switch is through a single port. Laws of physics can't be exceeded. lol
 

TopGun

High Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
34,821
Reaction score
823
Those using UPS, mind sharing the model? Is there one that uses USB interface for interfacing and comes with the normal 3 pin plug receptacle?
 

echeong

Master Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2000
Messages
3,235
Reaction score
0
Those using UPS, mind sharing the model? Is there one that uses USB interface for interfacing and comes with the normal 3 pin plug receptacle?

Using a cheap APC BK500EI (~$129) with usb comm to the ds413j,
The UPS back connections look like this:

DEB9C746-5056-AE36-FE7333228C102B45_pr.jpg


Using these plugs and old monitor cables to connect:
Front
IEC_C14_Plug1.jpg

Back
IEC_C14_Plug2.jpg


Old monitor pass through cables
IEC_C14_Cable.jpg


Connection
BK500EI_Cables.jpg
 

Vulpix

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
101,143
Reaction score
229
51dQA0M9-CL._AA1500_.jpg

I think my solution a bit more elegant looking. :s13:
 

moozmoow

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
16,022
Reaction score
4
Hi guys :D Noob here again. Want to confirm before I buy DS413J.

  • I want to connect a NAS to one of the LAN port on the wireless router (4 LAN ports and 1 USB). The wireless router can also act as a switch right? This is the router TL-WR1043ND - Welcome to TP-LINK

  • 3 PCs connected to router LAN ports to access the NAS.

  • 1 Printer connected to the router USB so that the 3 PCs can send print-job to the printer.

Thank you!

Yes, consumer routers have built in switch.
Yes, 3 PCs connected to router can access the NAS, as long as your NAS is set up properly
Yes, printer can connect to router so that it can be used by the 3 PCs. Can also connect to your NAS if you want, but need additional settings also
 

hLsY

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2003
Messages
8,497
Reaction score
0
Have a question regarding UPS.. If the UPS have only 1 USB port, how do I make it shut down more than 1 device.. ?

I have a ds412+ and an iMac 21.5"

Planning to get a UPS, but not sure which one is suitable..

Thanks
 

chuan

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2000
Messages
94
Reaction score
0
Yes, consumer routers have built in switch.
Yes, 3 PCs connected to router can access the NAS, as long as your NAS is set up properly
Yes, printer can connect to router so that it can be used by the 3 PCs. Can also connect to your NAS if you want, but need additional settings also

Thank you! :)
 

Vulpix

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
101,143
Reaction score
229
Have a question regarding UPS.. If the UPS have only 1 USB port, how do I make it shut down more than 1 device.. ?

I have a ds412+ and an iMac 21.5"

Planning to get a UPS, but not sure which one is suitable..

Thanks

Make your NAS a UPS server so your PC can check from the NAS itself.
 

yukita

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
7,645
Reaction score
0
sorry to say speed are slow on Link aggregation
.the speed are same as without Link aggregation
that's why i said, limitation on the gigabit :p
my thinkpad only have one gigabit ethernet :D
 

yukita

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
7,645
Reaction score
0
don't think his thinkpad can do link aggregation

yukita, possible to try running the test on 2 laptops at the same time? See if you can get 200MB/s
yes i can test that... let me find one more laptop to run concurrent test :D
 

yukita

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
7,645
Reaction score
0
Manage to find Fujitsu laptop but with normal hardisk. but no screenshot :p

Thinkpad: Write-110MB/s Read-108MB/s
Fujitsu: Write-44MB/s Read-38MB/s

while Thinkpad finish the write and start to read, Fujitsu still writing lol :p there is no performance drop on thinkpad, and if you combine both write, it should hit write speed of 160MB/s but thats still limited by Fujitsu hardisk read speed not the NAS speed or Link Aggregation speed.


conclusion: link aggregation do improve the performance if you have more than 1 PCs/Laptops or your PC got link aggregation/teaming function.
 

yukita

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
7,645
Reaction score
0
btw i think you can get 8 port HP switch at $130 which can support Link Aggregation from blue forum (if im not wrong). the HP switch i use, cost $199 from media pro and comes with lifetime warranty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top