[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

Status
Not open for further replies.

chercm

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
12,513
Reaction score
78
will this work for Synology ?

Router - Synology NAS and the iMac connected via wireless to the router
 

davidktw

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
12,117
Reaction score
511
HI guys,

got a 412+ w/ 4x 2tb red WD priorly.

Would like to have a UPS to safeguard.

What would be good? 650va APc, USB enable shutdown? Or more than that

Thanks in advance

Get the APC UPS. Just something small and you can afford will do. You don't need a high capacity one, all you need is the USB enable shutdown feature for a graceful shutdown of the NAS during a power outrage.
 

chercm

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
12,513
Reaction score
78
Get the APC UPS. Just something small and you can afford will do. You don't need a high capacity one, all you need is the USB enable shutdown feature for a graceful shutdown of the NAS during a power outrage.

is there some settings to input for this to take effect ?
 

davidktw

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
12,117
Reaction score
511
is there some settings to input for this to take effect ?

Synology is using NUT to communicate with the UPS. I own the APC UPS BACKUP CS-500 series. Just plug in the usb cable and enable in the control panel
zl2i5e.png
 

xJeris

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
17,126
Reaction score
4
Hey can anyone explain to me how to use DLNA. I googled it but still confused.

So once connected to tv using lan port, den use wad program to play video:s13:
 

arsene

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
363
Reaction score
2
Hey can anyone explain to me how to use DLNA. I googled it but still confused.

So once connected to tv using lan port, den use wad program to play video:s13:

Is your TV DLNA ready? If you have a smart TV like LG or Samsung, you should be able to see your NAS and access the contents in it.
 

xJeris

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
17,126
Reaction score
4
I have a samsung tv just bought one year plus ago. Ok going to check tonite.
 

chercm

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
12,513
Reaction score
78
i called Memory World as i am into getting a NAS with time machine support and was informed that QNAP is more suitable for MAC is that true ?
 

TheDisgruntedCitizen

Master Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
3,138
Reaction score
0
i called Memory World as i am into getting a NAS with time machine support and was informed that QNAP is more suitable for MAC is that true ?

In fact most OTS branded NAS support Time Machine out of the box... the only different is setting it up at the OS level. You should refer to the respective NAS website to find out more details.

BTW, normally Memory World and Storage Studio sells NAS at a much higher price... You should do your research with the various SLS shops before deciding on buying from them...
 

davidktw

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
12,117
Reaction score
511
i called Memory World as i am into getting a NAS with time machine support and was informed that QNAP is more suitable for MAC is that true ?

Not true. If they say so, ask them for reason, no guts feel.
 

mrkiasu

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
36
1) Allow me to help you decide faster and easier.

Qnap demo website

QNAP Systems, Inc. - Network Attached Storage (NAS) - Products - Live Demo

Synology demo website

DSM Live Demo - Synology Inc. Network Attached Storage - NEW NAS Experience

Which GUI are you more comfortable with?

2) Do you see anyone else in HWZ forum talking about QNAP?

3) Any reason why no one else is talking about QNAP? (open to discussion)

money is yours, buy what you think is your comfort level.

i called Memory World as i am into getting a NAS with time machine support and was informed that QNAP is more suitable for MAC is that true ?
 

justmelah

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2001
Messages
183
Reaction score
7
Synology is using NUT to communicate with the UPS. I own the APC UPS BACKUP CS-500 series. Just plug in the usb cable and enable in the control panel
zl2i5e.png

Hello David,

Thanks for your input.

500 kva would be enough. I tried to look for a chart for KVA to equipment, but to no avail. Was hoping to UPS the main AIO PC and the NAS for my work, be it separately or on a single UPS.

Jotting down to SLS to take a look tomolo.

Appreciated if you have any more good advices .

Thanks again
 

Chys

Master Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
3,324
Reaction score
1
Seeing all the tok on UPS, can kindly give me a best value of money model?
 

Chys

Master Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
3,324
Reaction score
1
Dropped by Funan, saw 2 apc models bk650 and bx650, anyone knows wats the diff? Apart that bk650 is the flat pin head while bx650 is the normal 3 pin plug
 

vernon_wmk

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
470
Reaction score
0
To prevent write holes, the UPS is a necessity. Have been using the BK650CS for 3yr+ and only required a change of battery.

Last check, it can be had for ard $150 @ SLS.
 

Vulpix

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
102,907
Reaction score
1,338
Learn from my mistake. Had 2 blackouts and it damaged 2 of my drives and the connector board on my 411j. :(
 

Gribber

Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
11,563
Reaction score
0
Learn from my mistake. Had 2 blackouts and it damaged 2 of my drives and the connector board on my 411j. :(

my house got a few blackouts but my DS1512+ is still standing strong.

probably is the surge protector doing its work :)
 

Vulpix

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
102,907
Reaction score
1,338
my house got a few blackouts but my DS1512+ is still standing strong.

probably is the surge protector doing its work :)

Sorry but that one is called lucky. Mine was plugged into a surge protector as well, and a surge protector does nothing to protect your devices during a blackout.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top