[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

Status
Not open for further replies.

mata_hippo

Greater Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2003
Messages
88,736
Reaction score
91
planning to get a ds218

monitoring the prices on shopee/lazada now but seems more expensive than fuwell pricelist

any good ideas at the moment? :o
 

mata_hippo

Greater Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2003
Messages
88,736
Reaction score
91
Are you sure you don't wanna go for DS220+ ?
oh didnt know there's a 220+, wads the new/added features over 218?

was jus looking at fuwell's price list and deciding between cheapest range since i'm jus looking at 2 bays
 

jtjt00

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,112
Reaction score
5
oh didnt know there's a 220+, wads the new/added features over 218?

was jus looking at fuwell's price list and deciding between cheapest range since i'm jus looking at 2 bays
.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/nascompares.com/2020/05/23/synology-ds220-vs-ds218-nas-drive-comparison/amp/
 

dreamer_toons

Master Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
3,377
Reaction score
10
Need some help on networking with the DS220J.

The 220 will be on a local network (no internet access) and with a Mac and few Windows machines connecting to it via a switch. No router will be used coz I read the 220 has a DHCP server.

During the configuration, I realised that the NAS has assigned itself with a IP starting 169. When I tried to enable the DHCP with the range of IP, the NAS prompted that the network interface is already using DHCP to get IP and not recommended to enable the DHCP server.

In this case, when I connect the rest of the machine to this NAS, will these machine be assigned with the IP? Otherwise, what is the right approach to setup the NAS on the local network with the above machine connected and share files?
 

hafiz116

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
1,154
Reaction score
0
Need some help on networking with the DS220J.

The 220 will be on a local network (no internet access) and with a Mac and few Windows machines connecting to it via a switch. No router will be used coz I read the 220 has a DHCP server.

During the configuration, I realised that the NAS has assigned itself with a IP starting 169. When I tried to enable the DHCP with the range of IP, the NAS prompted that the network interface is already using DHCP to get IP and not recommended to enable the DHCP server.

In this case, when I connect the rest of the machine to this NAS, will these machine be assigned with the IP? Otherwise, what is the right approach to setup the NAS on the local network with the above machine connected and share files?

The 169 IP address means that you did not get an IP address. The synology has the DHCP server disabled by default. You will need to connect it to a router to access it then enable the DHCP server function on it.
 

dreamer_toons

Master Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
3,377
Reaction score
10
The 169 IP address means that you did not get an IP address. The synology has the DHCP server disabled by default. You will need to connect it to a router to access it then enable the DHCP server function on it.

My understanding is that the NAS DHCP server function is to assign IP to all the connected machines without router in a local network.

In other word, the NAS DHCP server requires a router to assign IP to the connected machines?
 

hafiz116

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
1,154
Reaction score
0
My understanding is that the NAS DHCP server function is to assign IP to all the connected machines without router in a local network.

In other word, the NAS DHCP server requires a router to assign IP to the connected machines?

No,.. you need to be able to access the NAS to turn on the DHCP server. So from your router you will need to see what IP address your router assigned the NAS. Connect to the NAS over the IP and enable DHCP server from the GUI.

Once its enabled the router is no longer required and the NAS will provide DHCP IP addresses. So only the initial config would require a router. I am not sure if you do a master reset if you can even connect to it with a direct Ethernet cable from a laptop or PC,...
 

iceboi

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
Synology EW201

Hi,

Did anyone buy the extended warrenty at Singapore for DS1819+.. extended warrenty Synology EW201. Not alot places have sell. Anyone know where can able buy it..
 

nashii

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2013
Messages
117
Reaction score
0
Hi,

Did anyone buy the extended warrenty at Singapore for DS1819+.. extended warrenty Synology EW201. Not alot places have sell. Anyone know where can able buy it..
you can check on carousell, someone based in bukit panjang have listing for it
 

dreamer_toons

Master Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
3,377
Reaction score
10
1 of my HGST 3TB drives in the DS716+II is failing.

Any suggestion for a new 3TB replacement?
 

Vulpix

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
100,941
Reaction score
107
Anyone know of any NAS that you can slot in vertically? Not the normal horizontal style one?
 

jtjt00

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,112
Reaction score
5
Anyone know of any NAS that you can slot in vertically? Not the normal horizontal style one?

All 2-bay Synology NAS slot in vertically.
For 4-bay, only J series is horizontal drive slot in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top